August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bubble or Nothing

by Yoni - Jam Entry

You play the role of Brandon Buble, a bubble boy who encounters a serious medical emergency.
You cannot survive outside the bubble for more than 10 seconds without some first aid!
Will you make it to the doctor in time? Will you be able to calm down your mother?

Credits:
Hagay Giller - Graphics
Lihi Karni - Character design and animation and also did the dishes this one time
Saba Nahman - Music and sound
Yoni Rozenshein - Programming
Asaf Sagi - Voice acting, dishes and sushi
Aviad Shamir - Concept and level design
Uri Shomroni - Programming and additional graphics
Tanya Hoffman & Alon Gur-Arye - Voice acting

NOTE: The game doesn't work too well in Internet Explorer, please use a different browser if you can. Chrome, Firefox and Safari seem to handle it just fine.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#6Audio(Jam)4.22
#8Humor(Jam)4.23
#62Overall(Jam)3.73
#88Mood(Jam)3.53
#109Fun(Jam)3.40
#128Graphics(Jam)3.88
#190Theme(Jam)3.33
#383Innovation(Jam)2.75

Comments

IHateATMFees says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:06am

Nice job...love the cut scenes!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:57am

heh.. enjoyed it especially the 2d/3d aspect of it.. pretty silly..!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:43am

hahahah so crazy the game, i like it, good job with the cutscenes

maxking1234 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:44am

Well done! really fun

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:45am

The cutscene was great, but the actual gameplay was a bit dull. It was still enjoyable, but not for that long

MrRoboman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:52am

Really nice work on the graphics and sound. The cutscenes were great. The gameplay could use a boost of fun, like an ability instead of just dodging.

TomboFry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:33am

Everything was brilliant, except I didn't hear any audio (I didn't rate audio for that reason)

TomboFry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:33am

Also, using IE10 x64 if that helps

FireZenk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:36am

Original idea hahaha

Dooleus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:44am

Super charming, very funny, and challenging gameplay to boot. I felt like the collisions could be a little unfair - I hit a lot of obstacles that it looked like I would miss, and I missed a lot of medkits that I thought I would hit, but seeing the death descriptions for the different obstacles made it less frustrating and more entertaining. The music is inspired, for sure, but unfortunately doesn't loop completely seamlessly - but that's a minor issue. I would have liked some sound effects for hitting the various obstacles and the medkits. The theme is used to great effect. The phone calls from Mom and the cutscenes between levels are great rewards for finishing levels, and the ending is perfect (what a twist!)

Overall, super solid experience. Great work.

galman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:51am

Awesome game! So funny and I loved the music\sfx\voice acting :D Sometimes the collisions were a bit unfair, but the cutscenes and jokes were rewarding!

shard123 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:58am

The cutscenes were great and the whole game was nicely polished, I liked the gameplay too but I agree with Jimanzium.

Yoni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Thanks for the feedback, everyone!

TomboFry (and everyone else playing in IE) - we are aware that there are bugs when playing in IE, and we hope to find some time to try fixing them, but meanwhile (and in general) we strongly recommend to play in a different browser. The game seems to work well in Chrome, Firefox and Safari.

darkshadow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Really crisp clear cutscenes, well polished with good audio and graphics. good sense of humour, the weakest point was the gameplay.

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:31pm

The game looks and sounds great, but the collision detection got a bit sketchy at times, especially once the speed increased. Love it for the opening cutscene more than anything, though!

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Can't stop laughing about him humming along with the theme song whaha

dook says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Good game! The different environments were great and I especially loved the sing-along music. And the ending!

lazyeels says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:36am

Hilarious! Nice work with the humour and overall polish!

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:37am

Haha, poor guy :)
I loved the music and the pace of the game. Also, the running animation made me laugh :) Thanks!

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:37am

Nice job on the direction and the cutscenes :) i really feel like the guy should be able to jump though

spitfire87 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:41am

The voiceacting and the audio is superb, also the cutscenes. Funny game !

MatrixBai says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:41am

This game has cut scenes, wow!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:03pm

HA-hA! It is soooo fun! This guy is really cool one)

Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Best music. I especially like how the pause track works.

vikingpotato says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:39am

Awesometacular!
You sir have a good sense of humour! i loved the 3d visual touch to 2d gameplay! and the music, awesome again!!

xrm0 says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 11:19am

The cutscenes are amazing!
The game is a bit boring though

Sep 13, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Ah yeah, it's a game in a way...

Sestren says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:35am

While the gameplay was fairly basic, the mood, humor, and sound were all amazingly well-done. It's hard to make a game that genuinely makes you laugh and smile, but this one had a lot of those moments. Kudos!

Sestren says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 10:22am

I love the Daniel Clowes look of the cutscenes, as well. Extremely well done.

Urfoex says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 10:49am

Funny one :D
Especially the music and voice :D

Jedi says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 12:12am

I agree with Dooleus, especially regarding the hitboxes. Otherwise, 5* for humor!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]