August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

DogRocket

by Moof - Jam Entry

I created this in probably 10-12 hours, using Haxe, OpenFl, HaxeFlixel, and HaxeBox2D. It is a chaotic construction game in which you must build a rocket to launch a dog before the 10 second timer reaches zero.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#25Innovation(Jam)3.83
#52Humor(Jam)3.62
#102Fun(Jam)3.43
#109Overall(Jam)3.52
#125Theme(Jam)3.47
#164Graphics(Jam)3.73
#257Mood(Jam)3.00

Comments

awppy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Nice and chaotic, especially with all the parts flopping around, but the fact that the parts are kind of hard to click on and don't always snap to the object can get a little frustrating. I found it pretty hard to get more than two rockets attached, but the game certainly made me want to try several times!

-GV

Moof says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Thanks for the feedback - I agree that it gets pretty frustrating. I'm going to keep tweaking the time values a little today until it seems a bit more reasonable but still challenging. Thanks again!

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Really cool, but I want to download the source to remove the time constraint :)

zn01wr says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:54am

Nice drawings and physics. The game doesn't actually last 10 secs, but it would be too hard if it did :) Good work!

Norgg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:17am

Just awesome. The pressure of having to try and place things both accurately and quickly is tuned so well, loved the art style and been playing it loads, my favourite I've seen so far.

ZYXer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:49am

Awesome game. Love the idea. Clean, simple humor. And easy to play but really hard to beat. :D
My record: 225 m

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:52am

This one just SCREAMS of potential, but the rushing around to get things done in 10 seconds, combined with the falling items shifting everything around just made it more frustrating than challenging. I really liked the style of graphics, and the interesting mechanics of each part. I'm hoping for a post compo version because I really would like to play it. Like I said... screams of potential.

iiechapman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:53am

Super chaos, the idea is really neat, I wish that flash didn't take over the mouse, I felt it slowed down my ability to move parts!

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:53am

Fun! :) It turns out 10+5 seconds is just about right for this, as it was stressful every time, even when I got okay at it. Initially I just didn't understand that what was connecting weren't jetpacks (they are fuel tanks), so I was pretty confused why it wouldn't fly. My high score was 1430.17m for my first reasonable balanced rocket...

fgielow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:05am

Very caotic, but for 12 hours, nice implemented =)

tigerj says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:38am

Man that is really hard for me, but it's a nice game and impressive for how much time you had. I wouldn't have been able to even draw half that stuff in 12 hours.

Good game nice work. I'm glad you said below your going to keep tweaking it. I will check it out some more later.

whiteravens says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:44am

I just got it to fly after 8 minutes of pondering. Record of 182m.

My comment would be to make them snap. I have issues with the bone-shaped ones, and I always cannot connect them together. Also, I have some troubles differentiating vertical from horizontal bones from the pile.

I like the simple and chaotic mood though.

siat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:50am

I like that you specified that the dog is not hurt, and in fact likes it.

sgehlich says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:37am

I love the way you used the physics, but the gameplay is very hard since the cursor lags :(

SmudgedCat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:01am

Utterly brilliant, can't stop playing this!

SmudgedCat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:12am

Awwww yeah.... http://www.smudgedcat.com/dogrocket.png

This rocket it made it to 3908.67m!

atgaubatz says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:54am

Haha, neat!

Zionviller says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Dog Rocket Wins!... in my book. I'd vote for it if I could...

blackotus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:17pm

I love this!

Seeing the rocket flying around out of control while the dog is completely nonchalant about it all is just so funny xD

I also like the pressure of building the ship!

Great job!

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:36pm

PHYSICS GAMES FUCK YEAH
DOG GAMES FUCK YEAH
ROCKET SCIENCE FUCK YEAH

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:28pm

I wish you had more time to put sounds.
I saw another game based on the concept of assembling a rocket, but yet both are different: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=26534

I'm happy to know that Laika wears a helmet.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:27pm

This game has huge potential I would love to see it developed further! good jam moof!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]