August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Just Another Game With A 10 Second Mechanic

by jugglerrob - 48 Hour Compo Entry

If the web player runs choppy try a standalone version.

This is a platformer that exists in 2 worlds. The first world being the most visible world, the second being the one you see behind your cursor and player. Holding down the left mouse button allows you to interact with the 2nd world instead of the first world. The 2nd world is similar to the first but differences will allow you to walk across gaps or go through walls you wouldn't normally be able to. The catch is that you can only be in this 2nd world for a total of 10 seconds per level, so use your time carefully.

pro tip : If you get stuck, hit r. All levels can be won.

Controls
---
a and d or left and right arrow keys for horizontal movement
spacebar for jump
left mouse button to interact with 2nd world
r to restart
s to clear on screen messages
n to skip to the next level
b to go to the previous level

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#14Audio3.96
#41Innovation3.96
#63Mood3.68
#85Graphics3.93
#120Overall3.61
#309Fun3.25
#548Theme3.19
#1156Coolness48%

Comments

kevinAlbs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:21am

Awesome! I couldn't get past the third level but I still thought it was a great and original idea executed very well.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:21am

Cool idea. Using the arrow keys instead of a/d make it impossible it the space bar as well.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:42am

The music was the best part of this. I would have done the tutorial messages nearer the player and larger.

Filth says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:43am

Very cool game. The wall slide thing took a little time to get used to but otherwise awesome.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:43am

Looks brilliant except I can't really get far: it runs choppy, and I couldn't make heads or tails of how to get out of the first little area.

plancien says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:48am

Innovative graphically speaking. Wonderful audio !

NorthernCrux says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:49am

Very innovative use of the theme. Was a bit tough to play with the control scheme, but the composition here is great.

scriptorum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:51am

Hey, I won! Woo. I don't like that the spacebar doesn't register while pressing A/D, but other than that, fun game. Some parts were very challenging. The art style reminds me of Chuck Close.

Verrazano says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:54am

It's very cool stylized game. I love the music and sound effect for switch worlds. I kept getting stuck in walls though. :< I also had a really hard time telling what was a wall and what wasn't. Other than that is cool.

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:57am

So much of this game is just amazingly beautiful. The resource limit on interacting with the second world just felt kind of frustrating though. The exciting part of the game was figuring things out; trying to then execute that plan wasn't as fun, especially when it required multiple attempts. It seems like the experience would only be improved if there was no resource element, but then it wouldn't really fit the 10 second theme.

I also love that you can jump straight up walls :)

elementz123 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Very nice mood set with the graphics/audio.

dcolgan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:08am

This is one of the most unique games I've played! Very trippy graphics and excellent audio and a neat use of the theme. Polish it some more and it could do well on Kongregate. Took a while to understand, so maybe you could beef up the tutorial.

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Interesting concept, and music goes really well. Would have liked 'up' for jump.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]