August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

<<Rewind!

by LemmingSurvivor - Jam Entry

<<Rewind! is a small game where the goal is to escape in under 10 seconds. With a twist!

Master the intricacies of time as you explore a prison compound in search of a way out. <<Rewind! is a game of trial and error, where you control the flow of time to erase your mistakes, escape danger and progress towards the exit.

Will you reclaim your freedom?

----------------

Built from scratch in 36 hours by a team of two, the game is still rough around the edges and could be considered a proof of concept.

To start the game, run the appropriate file for your operating system:
- Windows : start-windows.bat
- OS-X : start-osx.sh
- Linux : start-linux.sh

Please note that only the Windows version has been tested. If issues arise, please report them in the comments section.

If nothing happens, update your Java environment. (www.java.com)
If you get no sound, make sure you have OGG codecs installed. (http://xiph.org/dshow/)
If you receive an error along the lines of "Failed to initialize the LWLGL display", try running the start-windows_compat.bat file instead.

Enjoy!

----------------

UPDATE 09/09/2013 v1.2 : Compatibility update - no change to game source
- Fixed typo in Linux and OS-X startup scripts. Should now work properly.

UPDATE 31/08/2013 v1.1-j4 : Downgrade compatibility "[compat] rewind J4.zip"
Added a Java 1.4-compatible version to the folder. This build is aimed specifically at those who either don't want to or cannot update their Java environment. ***WINDOWS ONLY. I CANNOT GUARANTEE 100% FUNCTIONALITY.***

UPDATE 28/08/2013 v1.1 : Compatibility update - no change to game source
- Added a compatibility mode for people lacking hardware support for OpenGL.
- Added rudimentary support for Linux and Mac OS/X. (Untested - can someone give feedback on this?)
- Fixed a small typo in one of the PNG files (If you're curious, just look at the main screenshot carefully. Specifically the keyboard controls.)

----------------

Screenshots :

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#18Theme(Jam)3.90
#48Innovation(Jam)3.71
#132Overall(Jam)3.47
#138Fun(Jam)3.31
#169Mood(Jam)3.24
#207Audio(Jam)3.07
#246Humor(Jam)2.57
#443Graphics(Jam)2.71

Comments

endlosnull says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:39am

It took a bit but I beat the game and I enjoyed it. Cool use of the 10 second theme to do a stealth adventure game. It's not always apparent to know what to do but it's still interesting.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Thanks! And 100% agreed, adding more direction through NPCs and other hints ranks second on the list of "stuff we wanted to do should we have had one more day (TM)". (First being the entire southern half of the map that got cut. Most of the stealthy action was going to be there. Such a waste.)

GarethIW says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:48pm

I didn't manage to complete it, but I found the usage of time to be really nice.

As the other fellow said making the "objectives" slightly easier to figure out would have been nice, but hey it's LD, there's never enough time :). Ironically!

eckcz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Cool game mechanics.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:42pm

I've made a quick & dirty visual guide from one of my design maps. It's in the shared folder next to the game.

Hopefully it will help more people get to the end.

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:14pm

ESCAPISM

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Cool idea, I like the time mechanic and the building of skills. This could be a really neat idea if expanded properly :)

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Cool! But I needed the guide, didn't know about hammertime. Other than that, I think it's pretty logical. And I am constantly afraid my time will run out if I do something for longer than 10 seconds.

meszka says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Cool mechanic, and fun game overall, would be nice if you continued making it post-compo :) I found the time-shifting controls to be a little unintuitive, at least at the beginning. I think it would be better to have a stop/resume time button instead of the autoplay, because sometimes I hit the rewind button just to pause and think. Maybe R would be more intuitive for time reset, because a lot of games use R for retry/reset. And something like enter for the pause/play.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:07am

I enjoyed it! quite a bit. Some interesting things going on

ghostmaple says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:18am

Gamepad controls using right/left shoulder buttons for forward/rewind would be awesome. (Bonus: Would stop me from accidentally twinsticking every I change directions.)

zlowrance says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:31am

Was a good experience and i enjoyed playing it! Cool take on the theme

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:29am

Enjoyed it completely! Great work.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:06am

Beautiful. :) I like the mechanics, and I'm glad you kept the game so short. Needed ~15 minutes to finish it (and needed the walkthrough one time since I forgot about the crowbar) and it was quite enjoyable. Great entry!

Starspell says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Doesn't look like I can play this one:

org.newdawn.slick.Slick.Exception: Failed to initialize the LWLGL display

Probably because my computer is a brick. Never mind!

kibertoad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:34pm

could use larger tiles and better movement control, but otherwise surprisingly fun take on exploration. much better then I expected from the description.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:18pm

A small compatibility update has been released. OS/X and Linux are now supported (though remain untested). Release notes are in the main description.

@Starspell - Looks like your graphics card doesn't support OpenGL. I've added a compatibility mode, will be harder on the CPU but should work (in theory).

@meszka, ghostmaple, kibertoad - Noted. I plan on rewriting the engine and using it as the base of a larger-scale game (as in, spanning multiple chapters and characters). I'll make sure to address those issues at the same time.

@ShellfishGames - And here I thought it was too short to even be called a game! I have to admit, it's hard to judge length in this type of game, where once you know the how-to, you finish it in less than a minute.

@kibertoad - Hehe, I'm no marketer, that's for sure. And to be honest, we weren't quite satisfied with the end result - it just feels bland compared to our unrealistic ideals. I'll try to rework the description a bit to make it more... appealing.

@Everyone else - Thanks for the feedback! We're glad you guys enjoyed it.

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:41pm

I couldn't figure out how to get to the crowbar and the vent in one go! excellent mechanic, though, and a really fun and thoughtful experience. Nice music too.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:40pm

Nice game, still didn't get what was waking up the guard or not but well. :D

Solifuge says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:05am

I like this implementation of time control; you have to get a perfect escape plan in order, and then execute it flawlessly. Very cool!

Zammy says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Really cool time-control idea! The movement controls can be tweaked a little. The soap-related script really made me laugh! :D Good one!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:13am

@panurge - Gotta go fast!™

@Almax27 - They basically trigger on proximity (through a crappy event system). But I assume you're talking about the second guard, the warden. He also has a trigger on the key if you haven't done everything else, and another one on the south exit - The real ending was to be that way, but was cut, so there's nothing over there.

@Solifuge - You got it!

@Zammy - Agreed. On everything.

As always, thanks for the feedback!

X-0r says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:18am

Great innovative gameplay, backgroundmusic sounds good aswell.
I believe that it was hard for me to make a few connections, such as passing the first guard WITHOUT waking him up, or using the crowbar to open the hidey-hole in the (skipping that to avoid spoilering) Wouldn't have made it without peeking in the walkthrough. Would play the next chapter immediately (if it's ever created)

Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:45am

Hmm, wouldnt start for me :/ Too bad, I wanted to record it for my LD27 compilation series... :/

Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:59am

@Jupiter_Hadley - Outdated Java. (You probably have 1.6.) I'm uploading a 1.4-and-up compatible version which should solve the issue (and may create more issues), but I really recommend updating your Java environment to 1.7. Details in the notes above.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Very nice concept :) I enjoyed knowing more and more about the jail and the character run after run. The sound is great too! Nice!

Pitzik4 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:25am

This game is fantastic! I found it to be very genuinely fun, and the concept is very innovative, which can often be a hard combination to make. I've said on several games I would play an extended version... For this one, though, I would pay for an extended version!

Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:01am

Brilliant!
I think the interaction box could be larger for convenience. Right now I can't pick up items that I am standing on top of, only those in front.
Other than that I'm loving this game!

Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Quite challenging, very nice

Pavel Dlouhy says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Hi LemmingSurvivor! You rated our game almost 14 days ago and now is finally my turn. Can you please help me to execute your game on Mac OS X? I used terminal to call ./start-osx.sh. It ended with ": No such file or directory ." and with ": No such file or directory ./bin". Then I tried to modify this file to replace "./rewind.jar" with ./bin/rewind.jar. Now jarfile is found but there is following error: "Exception in thread 'main' java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: ld27/ls/rewind/Rewind : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0"

jprogman says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 1:20am

Very nice game with the time control!
Ideally, if I get caught, the timer shouldn't automatically set to zero as I want to rewind a bit.
I'm not sure if there is any purpose for the time forward command other than add some milliseconds to the timer.

Sep 10, 2013 @ 1:53am

@Emilien - Not sure how much there is to discover really, but thanks!

@Pitzik4 - Thanks! Definitely thinking about extending this. We do have a few ongoing projects already though, so it might take a little while to get there.

@theholychicken - Agreed. Position-based event handling isn't as easy as I thought at the time~

@Pavel - Good catch on the typo in the bash files. Wrote 'em blindly, next LD I should have a Mac mini to test stuff on! As for the exception... I'll venture a guess that you have Java 1.6 installed. The game needs 1.7 to run, so an update should fix it. An alternative would be to get the 1.4 compatibility version, and copy the bin/natives/os-x folder and bash file into it. That should also work.

As a sidenote, I just checked your game page again, and noticed the last part of my comment got cut (probably while copy-pasting from notepad) - what remains makes me sound like a total bastard. Oops. Just gonna put it here: What I didn't mention, I liked.

@jprogman - Blame me for the getting caught part - it worked as you describe before I went and messed with it! As for the fastforward, it might have been more useful in the stealth segments that were cut. Goal was to give more precise control, more or less, and that was mostly needed in those parts.

Sep 10, 2013 @ 1:56am

And by "1.4 compatibility version" I meant the "[compat] rewind J4.zip" file. Technically it's Windows only, but it's only missing the native files really.

Pavel Dlouhy says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Hi LemmingSurvivor! At the end I tried [compat] rewind J4.zip on Windows. I am able to execute it but there is some crash when I press SPACE to start.
ERROR:java.lang.System.lineSeparator()Ljava/lang/String;
Use "Email Me" on http://about.me/paveldlouhy to contact me and I will provide you more info (call stack). I would like to be able to play and rate your game! Start screen is very nice and polished!

Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:17am

Well crap. I've had this error while testing the build and already fixed it. Except I put the fixed file in the root folder. Facepalm.

I fixed the files, and added the native files to it for good measure. "[compat] rewind J4 v2.zip" should work. Hopefully.

Sorry for the mess.

Pavel Dlouhy says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 6:33am

Brilliant idea, LemmingSurvivor! I am glad we managed to make it work at the end! ;-)

Sep 17, 2013 @ 5:08am

LemmingSurvivor, congratulations to #18 in Theme category! I rated only about 22 games and from all of these your game is Number One for me! Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]