August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Fast delivery

by stenol - Jam Entry

The goal of the game is to reach the end line before the coountdown reach 0. You start with 10 seconds but you can pick up power up that add 10 seconds to the timer. Be aware that the red power up remove 10 seconds to your timer. If you crash your car, you'r game over.

Controls
W = Accelerate
S = Brake (Cannot go below 100)
A = Move left
D = Move rigt

Have fun :)

-----------

If the game doesn't run try the openAL install. That should fix issues.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#300Fun(Jam)2.92
#406Humor(Jam)1.94
#408Theme(Jam)2.86
#429Overall(Jam)2.78
#463Audio(Jam)2.01
#470Mood(Jam)2.38
#535Graphics(Jam)2.32
#550Innovation(Jam)2.24

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Takes me back to my many hours of playing spyhunter. Great level design.

Kwrky says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:09pm

I can't seem to pick up the (I guess) time boosts, so I always finish after only 10s.

Friday says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Picking up time didn't work.

stenol says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:06pm

@Kwrky and @Friday. I just updated the game and now the power up pickup is more accurate. Tank you for your feedback :)

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:41pm

The explosion effect is pretty

Holofire says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Heh, that was pretty fun to play. Gets quite difficult further down. Great job!

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Didn't work, just didn't start(It doesn't even look like the process started running, or windows doesn't show that process...)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:08pm

The time pickups work for me. Overall a nice game, I like the layout of the track.
Would have been a nice touch to rotate the car according to the movement. And I missed music, or at least a sound effect for the car's engine. But still, well done. :)

otresnjak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Crashed immediately on startup. :/

irl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Crashed on startup for me too. Possibly missing some libraries. There wasn't really an error message given.

tamat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Peter Gunn in my head all the time...

sjk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Crashes for me too..

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Pretty cool. As stated before, cool level design, they do not get boring (although it's a bit frustrating to start a new after you've died).

What language did you use?

stenol says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:19pm

@comrad_gremlin I used C# with monogame library

stenol says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:20pm

If your game crash, you can try to install OpenAl. Sorry about that :-)

SmudgedCat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:36pm

I thought that was really good. My main complaint is that the course could have been longer because I was really getting into it.

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:19pm

As a game of racing games, i can only love it!

tombsar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:57pm

I'm afraid I couldn't get it to work on my computer: OpenTK crashes with an 'Array out of bounds' error, which is probably caused by wine. I'll give it another go later on.

coreym1988 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Pretty cool game, but it feels pretty slow for a car supposedly driving so fast. If it were, say, a bicycle messenger, the game speed would fit perfectly, also, it would fit the delivery theme the name implies.

MrBlade says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Amazing game. I like this a lot. I probably sank five or ten minutes trying to beat it. I am glad you added sound, controls were nice, all around good job. Keep it up, man.

Thepattybeast says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Fun game would have been nice if there where more levels or random levels and you could go faster than 200 though

stenol says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:42pm

@Thepattybeast I will continue to work on this game after the competition to add more levels, more power up and more obstacles.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Pretty cool and challenging!

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:15pm

For a vintage game its great, for a todays game I would have liked to have a little more steering and a little more feedback from the game.

jwolf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Pretty cool! Decent use of time / extension mechanics.

Thank you for the OpenAL install, by the way. I think I had a similar crash the other day when I tried to run a different entry.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Reminds me of River Raid :)

elementz123 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:14pm

This game is well executed. I like how the power ups give an additional 10 seconds, instead of resetting the time to 10 seconds. Good job!

flamecow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Fun little game!

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Cool idea! I wasn't sure what to do at first. The graphics are nice and the idea is good.

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Level design, great work done there!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:52pm

good job

Falcon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Very fun! It didn't work for me at first, but I ran the installer you linked to and then it worked perfectly. Some music would have been nice, but still very well made.

Linusson says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Made me think of Spy Hunter, always a good thing. :D

stenol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Thanks everyone for your comments :-)

murilo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:57am

It hangs when trying to start. :( Windows 7, 32 bit

stenol says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:10pm

@murilo You can try to install OpenAl. :) http://www.mediafire.com/download/nwt3ilty2mo/oalinst.exe

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Reminds me of Road Fighter! Ah them feels!
Good job on the game. Good art as well, but it could use more work in the innovation department.
Nonetheless, congrats on your game!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Ah! such a good throw back to one of my favorite type of games!

Mekuri says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:49pm

haha, this game really reminds me of my childhood playing those top down car games on my C64. A simple yet fun game. Thanks for the nostalgia trip :-)

BenWhi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Like a River Raid/Spy Hunter game! Fun!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:42pm

that would work so well with a old school acceleration fx sound :D

Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Neat game, with a compelling level design. Run after run, we finally get to learn the curves, the traps... Good job!

Niavlys says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:09am

It has little replay value but it's a nicely designed map. It took me a few tries to realize that the red "10" were actually -10 seconds... Missed some sound, and a more responsive movement, but otherwise it was nicely done. :)

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Nice racing game - I won on my third try :)

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:21pm

really simple, but solid.

Taiters says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Cool game, a lot of fun when the level gets more challenging!

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Reminds me of "crazy taxi"!

stenol says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Tanks everyone for comments :)

mollymus says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:50pm

I would've wanted some more depth to the game, possibly random level generation or more levels! Anyway, took me quite a few tries to beat the game - so you did a good job balancing the level!:)

Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:14am

Nice simple little game, needs some more graphics, but its pretty solid. I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WX5erHA1DPE

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]