August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Lanterna Cyclum

by Brian Stegmann - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a creature on a planet that has a 10 second rotation.

Collect plants during the day to increase your speed until the next day.
Collect wisps at night, until you have 30.
Each night costs 1 wisp to light your lantern. Get injured and you lose 5 wisps.

WASD or arrow keys = move
P = pause

Not tested in IE, use at your own risk. Works best in Chrome.

=== Update

My friend and I whipped up a song using the music from this game, if you like electronic music check it out:

https://soundcloud.com/hyperbox/darklights-sinerider-hyperbox

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#173Mood3.34
#184Audio3.23
#310Theme3.42
#449Overall3.16
#508Innovation3.03
#538Fun2.94
#712Graphics2.63
#896Humor1.63

Comments

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Game sucked me in, dunno why. It is simple but pretty effective as well... picking up wisps also gave me a boost of speed, or so I felt :P I hovered around 16 wisps for a little bit befroe getting frustrated and leaving but that no fault of the game but mine.
Audio was okay, but got repetitive after a while, still helped the killer mood.

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Nice design, fun to play, but a bit monotoneus.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:56pm

The speed increase is a nice surprise, and like how the tune synchronizes with the day-night rotation. It's strangely captivating. Won it :)

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Dat dark synth!! Made my stomach drop from uneasiness. Loved the tempo this one had, as well as it was slowly progressing. The music made a superb job of telling what is going on and setting the mood. Kudos! I really like this one =)

SneManden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Kept playing. Quite fun. Has potential.

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Game was AWESOME. I won it, and I wanted to keep playing.
Really really solid entry. I don't really know why.

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:38am

Really enjoyed it, everything worked great and it was fun. great job

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:40am

NIce. I liked it. Good music that synced to the gameplay, and adding elements as it goes on.

deammer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:54am

Simplicity = greatness. Love the mood and how the musics syncs with the 10secs. I also really like the flow adjustment.

skywing says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:10pm

The monochrome aesthetic looks really nice.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:38pm

I like the concept a lot, and it is quite addictive too.

rxi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Nice one. I really liked how the 10-second theme coincided with the day/night cycle. I also absolutely loved how the audio coincided with what was occurring in the game, it added a whole level of immersion and though every part of the game felt somewhat minimal it worked together seamlessly.

megashroom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:53am

Wonderful game.
I liked the subtle but necessary boost of speed given by the plants, I also thought that the graphics were simply delightful!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:29am

Mood was definitely strong with this one. I was totally into the game. A bit creepy though but I enjoyed it although it took me a while to figure out what was all about.
Good Job!

canvapps says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:09pm

great idea! on of those that really challenges you with no need to impress through graphics
fun to play!

Vaalen says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:47pm

I really love this game. It's a bit easy but good job on mood, graphics and music.

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:13pm

The game is pretty addicting! The music is really cool and how it is similar but darker at night. Also the enemies are scary!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Really loved this game. It was simple but the music is amazing and very... relaxing... I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 video compilation series, if you'd like to check it out, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MGdyZZ8iT10

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:31am

Thank you for the comments so far, you guys are giving me motivation to continue working on it after the competition :). Also Jupiter_Hadley, thanks for the video feature!

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:24am

good job

Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:56pm

I like the atmosphere but gameplay is a bit too simple.

garygreen says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:08pm

That was very hypnotic. I liked the way you used the theme. Maybe there could have been more variation earlier on though.

foumart says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Nice atmospheric entry. The emptiness is not bothering at all, moreover it contributes for the special feeling while touching the unknown :) What is that creature ? and the planet? Excellent!

jwolf says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:35am

Pretty neat! Your entry has a really strong feel to it, which the graphics and use of audio greatly contribute. The only thing I didn't like about it was the placement of those red things. You might want to add a min/max spawn range, to make it fairer (spawned practically on top, once)...and conversely, more difficult.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:36am

Quite beautiful.. great atmosphere change when the ghosts first appear.

gravyhands says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:37am

Audio was pretty cool. Nicely synchronized as a timer and even though it repeated so many times, it was still a nice tune to hear.

savethejets1 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:17am

Cool stuff. Simple but really effective. I really like that the the music is tied into the timer!

kraj0t says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Yeah, simple game, but entertaining in a truly instinctive way. Nice work!

There's one thing that I see in sooo many other games: you can run faster by walking diagonally. Vertical and horizontal velocities should not be added, but normalized regardless of their directions.

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:21am

Really liked the mood this set. Nicely done!

Sep 6, 2013 @ 1:00am

@kraj0t

I KNOOOOOOW when my friend pointed that out it drove me absolutely nuts! I'll have to fix that in the post-compo version.

manuq says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Super cute! What a tiring life this guy has. I loved the tempo introduced by the simple notes.

Once, the bad guy catched me because I was standing in the same place he appeared, when the day turned night.

Also once, I saw a wisp placed over the numbers at the top right corner, occluding them.

One of my favs!

motty says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 3:14am

I don't know why I enjoyed this so much but I did. Really sweet little game. Total more-than-the-sum-of-its-parts stuff. Nice one.

Urfoex says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:16am

Nice tune.

Hypnohustla says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:27pm

It's great when such a simple game mechanic with some fitting moody music can be so enjoyable. :) Really glad I played it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]