August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Seconds Assasin

by redo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Eliminate as many enemies in 10 seconds!
I challenge you to reach level 20!
Because I cant.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#339Humor2.65
#462Fun3.04
#556Graphics2.88
#593Mood2.68
#613Audio2.44
#700Theme3.00
#738Overall2.88
#1021Innovation2.24
#1337Coolness44%

Comments

Tegu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:32am

Nice animations! At first the 10 second round felt a bit funny and easy, but yeah, it gets pretty hard already on level 10 so level 20 sounds crazy. :D Got K.O. multiple times on level 10 but managed to get to 11 once. ^^ My master plan to stay crouched and hold the punch key didn't end up being as good as I would have thought because it doesn't turn quickly enough then. But yea it smashes every guy coming from one direction while dodging all the bullets. I think it's actually a good thing that you can't just sit there hitting everybody and you have to be active instead. Then again I tried to be a Ten Second Pacifist and avoided hitting anybody. :P Got to level 9 with that method, so not so far away from 11 achieved with Assassin style.
So yea, I enjoyed this one. :) Some fitting background music would be cool if you continued developing this. The other sounds are OK as is.

immanuela says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:12pm

How do I play? I've downloaded and extracted the rar file but the game wants to open with my image viewer D:

redo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:13pm

It's a flash file, you need the flash player or open it with your browser.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Cool! I thought this was pretty awesome with the sound effects in there. There's always something fun about beating up on some bad dudes in an enemy dojo. I'm not quite sure why I was playing as a crash test dummy though.

redo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Thanks! About the crash dummy... I didn't have too much time in the weekend in order to draw, and that was the best free art that I could find.

necmelt2006 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Kung fu Master flash version :D, reminds me the NES :')
Anyway, great game :)

redo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:26am

Thanks! I made it to look like Kun fu Master (except for the characters) as a little hommage.

ZYXer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:37am

Clean and simple game. I like that. Good sound, too! :D

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:25am

Like the animations, the sound effects and the graphics. I would like to see someone get to level 20.

awesomesauce says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:21am

Nice entry. I know it's a small thing, but I really like the sound of the gong between levels :)

jprogman says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:22am

Great fighting game! I'm amazed on the animation of the assassins.

Just a suggestion about your download: try renaming it from "Windows" to "Flash SWF" so you could get more players to download it. This is so everyone will know that it will work on any PCs different than Windows.

redo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Thanks for the feedback!, I really appreciate it.
jprogman: smart advice, I took it.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Very good neo-Nes game !

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:02am

Nice beatemup!
Next time, you could color the crash dummy entirely black, then draw an eye slit and it become a ninja ;D

Starspell says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Made it to level 9, laughing at how silly it got. It's pretty good fun and the way you used the enemies to attack was good fun. I didn't see much point to punching though and never used it.

The sound effects are great. It's good to hear spoken sound effects instead of blip and bloops sometimes. The overall presentation was good too.

Next time I would say to host the game on a website or give more instructions on how to play a swf file though. Not everyone will know to open it in a browser.

jay griffin says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:59am

Man, I love Kung-Fu Master. Thanks for the great little homage :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]