August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 seconds barrier

by Lo-X - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're an athlete who wants to get under the 10 seconds barrier in a 100m race. Can you ?

To accelerate, press your keyboard keys while your character is running over the corresponding letter on the stadium track. But don't miss if you don't want to slow down !

The difficulty and the speed increase after every race you win !

You can play with friend in network (prefer local) or solo ! Instructions in "readme.txt" file.

---------------

This was my first LD48, I'm happy I've a result =)

---------------

Game made in C++ with SFML 2.0
Gimp for graphcs
sfxr for sounds
autotracker and audacity for music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#318Audio2.96
#339Humor2.65
#480Graphics3.00
#708Fun2.74
#726Mood2.50
#771Overall2.85
#940Innovation2.41
#1092Theme2.33
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

stepvhen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:19am

I happened to be watching Futurama when I finished and saw the names of the other people. Also, I did the C++/SMFL route as well (though not with as good results). Good job.

Lo-X says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Thanks for the feedback =) Yeah, when I needed some names Futurama was the first thing I could think about so... :D I haven't teste your game yet, I'm gonna do that this evening !
Side note for anyone : local networking works fine, global (internet) one still has some bugs, sometimes.

jordans says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Really great art style.

tombsar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:12pm

A very fun, if slightly repetitive game. The difficulty increased quickly from easy to challenging, and it is a good test of reaction times and typing ability. Very well done!

5outh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:03am

This is pretty awesome! I like how the difficulty scales. One thing I would change if I could is the visibility of the letters you need to type, it's a little hard to see when the screen gets faster with the stars popping out.

Great game though!

Lo-X says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:59am

South, stars were intended to hide letters a little, but indeed when the game gets faster it's much more harder to see them. Well, it adds a layer of difficulty does't it :p ?

I thank all of you for your feedback, it's very appreciated !

Endurion says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:46am

Nifty!

The 10 second barrier doesn't seem to matter, I've run below.

Solifuge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:47am

Cute racing game. Wasn't able to try out LAN mode, but I had fun. Back in elementary school, I would have preferred competing against my classmates with this, instead of doing that "Mavis Beacon Teaches Typing" stuff.

gritfish says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Couldn't connect to the server, but the solo race was fun.

senseidav says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Good exposition of game, I love mashing buttons games and you have risked in make a LAN and Online mode... althougt its difficult to see more than 2 people here playing in the same moment at one moment, you have scored high.


I think the most important thing in a "track & field" game its to preserve score and names, so that you can beat yourself or a pal´s mark in future. If you add that possibility to your game, game could improve enough.

10 second theme also its not too much implicated here, but good entry.

Lo-X says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:28pm

@gritfish : there is no permanent server, you need a friend. The LAN works fine, but there's still glitches with internet mode. Thanks anyway =)
@senseidav : Yeah the score thing is missing. I could have added an online top scores ! I think 10 seconds is implicated becausethe whole game is ispired from 10 sec barrier, I didn't wanted to do levels that you have to do in less than 10 seconds because I knew everyone would do that.

Thanks everyone for the feedback !

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Quite fun, I would maybe decrease the distance between letters, letters could be unreadable on bad notebook displays like this. Couldn't finish hard :D

Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Simply a fun little game. Loved it. I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DZbxb_2pbIE

Lo-X says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:06pm

thanks a lot to you =)

jwolf says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 12:48am

The gameplay may be fairly simple, but it's very well put-together. I didn't get a chance to play this over a LAN, but I could see it being a pretty good short party-type game (esp. if you add more players).

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]