August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

You had one job

by stewthepoo - Jam Entry

a medical simulation/timing mini game. decked out with a score ranking system, large array of dialogue responses and irritating sound effects.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#69Theme(Jam)3.64
#79Humor(Jam)3.41
#100Graphics(Jam)4.00
#236Mood(Jam)3.07
#255Fun(Jam)3.00
#261Overall(Jam)3.18
#322Innovation(Jam)2.91
#353Audio(Jam)2.61
#1129Coolness49%

Comments

Roffe says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:20am

Cool stuff :)

AIalumni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:47am

This was a very funny game. The artwork was great. I liked how the 10 seconds were used if you missed a shock. Overall it was great...good job!

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Funny idea. Got repetitive really fast though ;(

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Nice idea, great artwork, funny game ;)

nikkesen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Quite funny. Good interpretation of the theme. You game was well done.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Ha! Fun game - I liked the messages between levels. Could maybe use some variation if you decide to keep going with this.

Yoni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:24pm

Nice and simple, I really like the animation.

JimMakesGames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:25pm

A most amusing idea for a game. It seemed like the timing were a bit off. I'm sure I got some of them right that were caught as fails, but I didn't mind much because it was funnier to give the poor guy electric shocks XD Very nice cartoony graphics too.

Vaalen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Very good concept but a bit repetitive.
Music could bring a lot of tension in this game.
It was a pleasant game. :)

Pavel Dlouhy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:29pm

I like the idea and it has been fun to play! Thank you for mentioning us in credits! :D

brodavi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Hehehe funny! Is there a way to beat the game? I didn't see a level count.

Bowiecube says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:33pm

No Bravado unfortunately there is not end to the game it just continues until you inevitably lose.

PhiL Blunt says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Love it, great use of the 10 second theme. I got A+

Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:12am

Haha I beat the beat doctor :P Funny game :)

AidanAK47 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:41am

I liked the art and the concept is quite nice.
Though on repeat plays the messages tend to get in the way. It would be better if the messages only showed up once or if the messages were randomized to show different messages every time you play. Also it can be quite easy to get the timing if the red is always in the same place. While I feel this may make the game too hard, it would be nice if the place were the life line went red would change in-between clicks. This could be a more effective way to up the difficulty that making the red place smaller and smaller.
That said it got me to repeat playing it until I got to the point were getting the clear became outright impossible. Considering that I don't waste time on things I don't enjoy I say that's is an achievement.

stewthepoo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:47pm

thanks for the well thought out review, i tottally agree with everything you said :) all the messages are randomized to a degree, i think theres something like 10 variants for every outcome.

Andrew says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:05pm

The graphics were awesome. I wish there were more things to do than hit the red button.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Good use of theme, the character art is awesome. :) Good job!

drkrunk says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:11am

Nicely done, especially with the art.

crueltear says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:43pm

At first, most difficult thing was moving cursor from "next level" button to "revive" button. First few levels were also too easy. Then, randomness began and things got harder. I got bored of listening to "clear, clear" really fast~
Also, i like flash games - they combine pixelated sprites with perfect vectors d;

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Just when I though it was too easy, it starts to become harder. Work on animations is excellent, and I really appreciate the bonus part.

Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:31am

Loved this game! It gets hard, its funny and fun. I loved it!! I featured it in my video compilation series of LD27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tyApng3Bq-c

Blue Glaucus says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:30am

It's a quick fun game and starts getting harder right when you think it's too easy. I like the art style.

Sep 12, 2013 @ 12:57am

LOL'ed at some texts! That was amazing experience XD

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 10:34am

Nice game. A little repetitive though.

RawBits says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:39pm

I have nothing to say. Everything feels ok in this short little entry. Nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]