August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 seconds for Cactusman

by megashroom - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Written in python, simply run main.py with a python interpreter to play.
Requires pygame to run.
http://www.pygame.org/download.shtml

Since I can't seem to get py2exe or cx_freeze working, does anyone with a windows machine want to compile this into a .exe for me?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#318Humor2.68
#677Fun2.78
#822Theme2.86
#856Audio1.82
#941Mood2.17
#1026Graphics2.08
#1057Overall2.44
#1099Innovation2.06

Comments

SilentBunny says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:57am

Can't play it.

error: Couldn't open data\null.bmp

megashroom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:29am

Whoops, what OS are you running it on?

megashroom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:36am

Fixed it.
I used zip instead of zip -r and it didn't include any of the art assets or levels.

SilentBunny says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:01am

Pretty neat. You have a weird horizontal acceleration that is retained between level swaps which is kind of hard to control and hard to judge when making jumps. Not sure if that is intentional.

Good stuff. More than I can do in 48 ( which is nothing :) )

megashroom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:05am

You'll get there,
Anyways, I probably should have fixed that, though it only happens when you hold the key down between levels.

sam1373 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09am

I couldn't find a game to run

isharacomix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:10am

That was hilarious. :)

The cactus man gets really hard to control after jumping, but that kind of adds to the fun. The size of the countdown timer getting bigger each second is a nice, subtle touch too. Too bad you didn't add any comical sound effects or anything.

megashroom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:58am

Yeah, I didn't really have much time left at the end, certainly not enough to get sound working.

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:14am

A winner is me! Cool stuff. I thought it was funny how one level had a bunch of small jumps over spikes, but the x acceleration was so high I could just hop over all of the mat once.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:22am

I liked it. It goes really fast on my computer, I don't know if this was intended or an alpha timing issue. Good job! 3/5

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:27am

Best death screen ever. I realy like it. I noticed the little touches, like the font of the time left getting bigger and bigger... Nice touch really.

But, one fatal flaw that your game has: when jumping the guy accelerates SO MUCH on the X axis... After "mastering" that mechanic, the game is actually kinda fun...

It would be more fun if you had more levels, and if you exploited this acceleration "feature" (not a bug ;)). For instance, a long pit with spikes.

Ran smoothly, on Arch Linux 64 bits. Good job, keep it up.

megashroom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:35am

I was thinking of doing many of those things, but as with all things LD48, I ran out of time before I could implement them.

otresnjak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:20am

Don't have python installed, can't run... surely there's a way to provide an executable version?

megashroom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:24am

I looked up some ways, like py2exe and pyinstaller and cxfreeze, but I didn't get any of them working.
Check in tomorrow around 6:00pm and I'll probably have a .exe uploaded.
That is, if you still want to play, :3

HeroesGrave says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:29am

You just trashed my downloads folder. >:(

Please put everything into a folder, into a .zip next time.

I don't have pygame, and don't want to download it myself as that would give your game unfair amounts of my attention. Can't you just package it with the game?

I may check back to see if these points are fixed.

(I don't want to sound mean here, but it really annoys me having to waste time downloading X and Y to benefit someone else. Remember that I could play any game. I'm going to pick the best one for ME)

Thanks. :)

itidus21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:54am

The graphics benefit from a distinct contrast between the cactusman and his surrounds. He is colorful saturated green and everything else is a shade. He is a cactus and everything else is bland.

The whole game takes no longer than 8 seconds. There is potentially some replay value in trying to determine how quickly the levels could be completed, like speedrunning it.

caranha says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:50am

Could not play the game on my Windows machine, even though I have python installed :-(. Maybe you should try a binary package?

Cheers!

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:38am

Haha I love this cactus man!
My advices:
- Restarting from the level where you die, not from scratch would be cool
- Also I often die because the level change is too fast so I keep pressing D and... die!

4xisblack says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:46am

The crazy air acceleration is actually pretty fun once you get used to it. Oh cactusman; why must you be so aerodynamic?

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:16am

Hmm, for mac there is just the source, not any executable file :P

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:01am

Pretty funny :)

megashroom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Run main.py with python or python-32 to play.

SkyTheCoder says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Downloaded it and it said it had an invalid import, pygame. I went to install that, and it said I needed Python 2.7 to install and I had 3.2.2. I downgraded my Python, installed pygame, and now I'm getting this error:

cd '/Users/SkyTheCoder/Downloads/cactusman/' && '/usr/local/bin/pythonw' '/Users/SkyTheCoder/Downloads/cactusman/main.py' && echo Exit status: $? && exit 1
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/Users/SkyTheCoder/Downloads/cactusman/main.py", line 3, in <module>
import pygame
File "/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/lib/python2.7/site-packages/pygame/__init__.py", line 95, in <module>
from pygame.base import *
ImportError: dlopen(/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/lib/python2.7/site-packages/pygame/base.so, 2): no suitable image found. Did find:
/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/lib/python2.7/site-packages/pygame/base.so: no matching architecture in universal wrapper

All I know about that is that an exit status of 1 is bad news. Help?

megashroom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Do you have a mac?
If so, pygame is only 32 bit, and thus won't work with the copy of python you have.
Try running 'python-32 main.py'
I think that that should work.

EmptyFlash says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:54am

Pretty good game all around. Couple of quirks, and I had a hard time getting it to launch, might want to include the pygame install with the game, but w/e.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Nice entry!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:28pm

A little fiddly in the beginning, but I got the hang of it. Nice one, megashroom!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:42am

Nice game :) Great work!

SkyTheCoder says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:49am

Just saw what @megashroom said. Yes I have a Mac, and that works. Thank you!

Okay game. Couldn't get past the third level with spikes. That jump seems impossible...

Moving in the air is WAY too fast. And, as others say, if you hold down the forward key between levels you keep your motion. It took me a few tries to figure out why I flew into spikes on some levels.

Crowbeak says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 8:41am

The controls were a little difficult when transitioning from room to room. I kept dying on the second room with spikes because the character sprite intersected with the stage goal when it didn't look like I'd gotten to it yet, and the acceleration continued through into the new stage.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]