August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Run with the Revolution

by local minimum - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Wow I actually made it!

You run like crazy in a world that rotates. You have ten seconds per level before the world turns 90 degrees and throws you off. There are Power Ups that give you temporary speed boosts. Your score is calculated from the number of decaseconds you have left at the end of each level.

And there's an online highscore thing in it too! And I have the top position! (Maybe not that strange...).

Hope you enjoy it, I sure liked making it. My very first 3D-game, my very first game made in Unity, in C#... so be nice.

I haven't tried all version (only windows and web), but I pressed export and as far as I get it, they should work.

Cheers.

(A known bug is that you sometimes get power ups even though you are no way near colliding with them, but hey, freebees are nice.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#265Innovation3.39
#508Fun2.98
#579Audio2.50
#660Overall2.96
#726Mood2.50
#726Theme2.98
#833Humor1.78
#857Graphics2.38

Comments

ananasblau says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:51am

yay, that's fun! Not so great controls (fell of a platform instead of jumping) that's just my opinion.

local minimum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:56am

Thanks, I know the controls are an issue but I didn't have time to figure out the built in character controller. If I would fix one thing, it would be controls. And more deliberately designed levels

joekinglake says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Reminds me of Super Monkey Ball. Nice, original idea and well implemented. I think some kind of confirmation that i'm jumping would improve it a lot; A sound or higher jump for example - at the minute it's very difficult to tell. The game also has a very nice feel to it.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:06pm

I feel soooo dizzy! But it's cool, actually, thanks for the feeling I've never experienced playing FPS-games before :)

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:09pm

That is a great game, the controls were a little floaty, but it worked pretty well overall. The concept is fantastic and works well, pretty addicting and it fits the theme well too. Great job!

ThirteenWB says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Interesting game, love the gravity shifting. Straight forward enough, I liked it! :)

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Ithink the graphics can be improved a lot, but the game mechanism is original. Good job!

lazyeels says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:19pm

I died so many times! But, once you get in to it, it was fun, reminded me of Monkey Ball on the Wii (if you don't mind me saying). Good effort for a first 3D game, I'm still stuck doing 2D (and not that well).

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Good concept!

local minimum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:29pm

I never had a console in my life, but I guess I gotta check out that Monkey Ball thing then now that several of you have mentioned it!

autlos says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:00pm

It's fun and I like the idea. But I felt the controls a little weird.

Nice graphics/music ^^

local minimum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Btw, if you didn't make it on to the in game high score, it's still a good chance you made the top 100... http://unknownincubator.com/local_minimum/RunWithTheRevolution/

f345an says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Interesting concept, I like it :)

Vavassor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:08am

Had good fun with this game. It did remind me of super monkey ball and that's definitely not a bad thing! Physics were a little weird; it felt like your move speed changed a lot depending on the slope of the ground and the jumping is a little mushy. Didn't really cause me too much trouble, though, got to the end just fine.

kazukishida says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:44am

sweet mechanic, man, but the controls were a bit wonky for me -- I couldn't quite get the hang of how fast or slow you went, and I had difficulty judging when I'd fall or not. Still, though, the mechanics were nice, and the integration of a scoreboard was a welcome addition, as it made me strive to get the highest score (but couldn't :P) nice game! :D

KeithE. says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Cool Idea. I had trouble getting past sections that required precise platforming, I'm not skilled enough for your game. :) Still really well implemented. Great Job!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Haven't seen such rotation as this yet! The game over screen is a little disorienting but the game's still there. Good work!

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Power-Uppp! Great idea, like walking the branches of Yggdrasil :)

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Same as the others :) I think better controls would really make the game a smoother experience. Otherwise, I like the concept. Well done!

mboaj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:37pm

I don't like unity controls for 3d they are very reactive. You should check the lighting in the menu since it seems that the frontal or environment light is missing. In addition, I would avoid such long scrolling and use more scenes.

RoyBatty says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Fun; I made the leaderboards! GO ME! \:-D/

-thatwhichis, team RoyBatty

Chinchilla says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Pretty good fun! I thought the platforming might be easier with a narrower FOV, its currently quite hard to work out your exact position. You could even give some lee-way by allowing jumps for a short period after the player has technically moved off of a platform. It sounds like cheating, but will feel fairer.

From a level design perspective it would be really cool to allow high-risk shortcut dives between the different levels. And having hard-to-reach powerups is more fun when they don't interrupt the flow of each level - (so less backtracking to get them and more tricky platforming).

Great work!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Nice idea and really fun to play!

xrm0 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:53am

Nice concept

tigerj says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:17am

Like super monkey ball on steroids. Really really fun entry. had me playing longer than most.

Good work!

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Nice game - I felt like if you hit the 10 seconds, and the world rotated, you should have a chance to "fall" into the next level and continue - that'd be awesome!

local minimum says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:50pm

@mrspeaker my first reaction to your comment was that it won't be possible given the way the world rotates around its centre. But then you got me thinking and I realized I could just as well rotate around some other point (e.g. where the pad that activated the rotation is located). So we'll see, maybe I'll include it in the next version.

@Chinchilla thanks for the tips. Many of them already in the next version. I'll see what I'll do about alternative paths as it puts more requirements on level design planning and difficulty balancing (since everything centers on gaining points, simply skipping a level wouldn't benefit the player). It's still a nice idea. Maybe even more so if I add some parts of the world that stays put and don't rotate.

And every one else. Thanks for your comments.

Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:23am

Interesting concept, I was quite surprised by the gravity shifting/rotation thing. :)

Almax27 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:53am

Cool idea, I felt the jump was too unresponsive to get into the rhythm of the game, got quite frustrated. That said it's a niggle and it's your first 3D game and pretty impressive.

Nice one :)

Sep 13, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Very nice! I'm not quite sure what it is I'm running around on, but I like it...! :)

cardboard says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:35pm

The concept is cool. It was tough to play on a laptop, but I still enjoyed it. The game is pleasant and the music is nice.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]