August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Direct Interval

by Kerinova Studios - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Direct Interval is a XNA based Platformer, that includes a fully open level editor, with documentation, as well as the source that you are free to use, to make your own XNA platformer.
It has Xbox 360 controller and Virtual Thumbstick support.
It works with Windows, Windows Phone, Xbox 360, and in a few hours, with Web, MacOSX, and Linux.

Objective:
Explore the level looking for the exit.
You have to beat the game in 10 seconds, unless you get timers, that reset your 10 seconds. You have to balance getting the timers, with getting points.

Controls PC:
R- Reset level
WASD or Arrow Keys- Move
Right Mouse- Melee

Controls 360:
B- Reset Level
Left Trigger (LT)- Melee
Right Button (RB)- Sprint


Windows Installer Version-
https://www.dropbox.com/s/3orqecjzzqeg6cf/Direct%20Interval%20Installer.zip

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#718Audio2.23
#864Humor1.71
#992Theme2.59
#1043Mood1.83
#1099Innovation2.06
#1116Graphics1.85
#1134Overall2.21
#1141Fun1.88

Comments

manabreak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:50am

I honestly didn't know what to do here. How do you beat up the game?

Also, the instruction text is FAST. I had to hold down R to get to read it.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:54am

You go to the exits. You have to explore the levels to find them. They are purple circles.

I am sorry about the instruction text. That is the sort of mistakes that get made without playtesters :/ I will put the instructions onto this post, for future players.

otresnjak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:54am

Neat game! I like the implementation of the 10 seconds theme. Hard to tell what kills you and what doesn't, though--would really help if the "lose" screen told you why you died.

Infernal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:55am

fun, but menus/text didn't stay around long enough. had to hunt for the backslap manouver to finally get out of the first part.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:09am

Good job, not bad at all. I'd agree that the lose screen could be a little more descriptive though.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:11am

@otresnjak Thank you so much! :) That is a good idea, it wouldn't be too hard for me to implement. If only I thought of it sooner.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:12am

@Infernal I am currently uploading a build that fixes that. Thank you for the feedback.

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:16am

couldn't get past the first part. That red thing didn't let me! Am I stupid?

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:18am

@Feysoura you have to use right click to melee the red enemy.

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:20am

The character moves more fluidly on an Xbox controller, but I couldn't figure out which button is used for melee.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:21am

@Jishenaz Melee is Right Button on a 360 controller. I am sorry, I forgot to add the tutorial text for the 360 controller.

HeroesGrave says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:37am

Linux ready?

Looking forward to playing.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:46am

@HeroesGrave I am working on it. The Web port will be done first however, which should allow you to play it on a web browser.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:49am

I personally prefer more agility for the player. Increasing horizontal speed and implementing acceleration & deceleration would make movement less stiff.
Overall I think the game could benefit from a greater sense of freedom by making the game environment less restrictive(not have so much menacing downward pointing spikes).

lalanl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:49am

The controls don't seem to work on a PC. I keep getting stuck on the You Lose screen without any way to get rid of it.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:07am

It's really cool that you managed to put in all of those "extra" features, and that it works for Windows phone. Including a level editor is pretty impressive for the amount of time.

That said, there are a lot of really big problems with the game:

1 - I'm sure you're not an artist (neither am I), but the tiles don't just look pretty bad, but it's extremely unclear what each thing is. I seemed to die from hitting some stuff (not just the spikes/running out of time) and I had no clue why. The colors that you chose are extremely hard to look at. Honestly, a purely black and white game would have looked better.

2 - the platforming controls themselves are very flat. Only 1 speed (seems like there might be a small amount of acceleration, but it was negligible), jumping seemed to be slightly different if I tapped/held down, but not really enough to make me feel in control of it. Punching seemed like it had an extremely short range.

3 - The text in general is nearly impossible to read (one line goes over the level itself, and it's just too small in general). You'd have been better off putting the instructions in the readme.

I do really like the character you created, and the enemy hats are cute too.

I think you should focus a bit more on core gameplay, and less on the extra features.

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:09am

For starters, you should mention the Shift key, which lets you run faster.

The level is a bit too huge at the beginning.

The idea is not too special (I basically have the same :) ), the level design makes this somewhat naff.

Still, quite an achievement in only 13 hours being new at it!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:49pm

@lalan You press R to get passed the lose screen.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:38pm

@TheSambassador
1. Thanks for the feedback. I am absolutely terrible at art, yes.
2. I will do that, for my main release.
3. I do have the instructions on this entry post.
Thank you.

DissidentDan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Solid concept. I didn't like the feel of the character movement. (Also, why was the character way slower when using keyboard than when using a controller?). In the first level, I didn't know where the exit was until after many play-throughs. I went all the way to the right side. On the second level, it seems like it's impossible to progress once you get on the third story/platform.

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:22pm

I can see potential in this type of game,
although there were a few things that was confusing, the timer in the top left is dark blue which makes it hard to see how much time you have left,

It's also a bit weird to use the mouse button for melee when most other controls are keyboard based and mouse isn't used for aiming etc.

Also player movement was a bit slow which didn't really make it feel fast-paced, which I think this sorta game would've benefited from.

Sep 14, 2013 @ 3:29pm

nailed the theme. reset timer gogogogogogo!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]