August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hot Dawg Dash

by brgarnet17 - Jam Entry

Have you ever wondered how it would be to be in a hot dog eating contest? Well, wonder no more!!

The goal of the game is to set the record for hot dogs eaten in ten seconds. In order to do this, you must adequately consume your hot dogs and water in a strategic and fast-paced struggle to get to the top.

Submit your high score in the comments. My best was 15 so far. Good luck!

Controls:
Space: start game, eat hot dogs
x: drink water

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#109Humor(Jam)3.18
#396Theme(Jam)2.88
#439Mood(Jam)2.47
#449Innovation(Jam)2.56
#452Fun(Jam)2.50
#456Audio(Jam)2.10
#547Overall(Jam)2.50
#561Graphics(Jam)2.12
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:08am

Hmmm, is it supposed to tell you when time's up? I can't tell when the 10 seconds are up (or when they begin) and it seems like I can just keep eating hot dogs forever. If there's something I'm missing let me know and I'll try it again!

brgarnet17 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:44am

The whole point is to try to break the record for hot dogs eaten in ten seconds. I hope to make the game pause at the end of the ten seconds in the future. Overall, the record box will show the best amount of hot dogs that you ate in a ten second period.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:28am

Not bad, was interesting, and I love hot dogs so win win! :D

aschearer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Cute game. I finally experienced what it was like to be a competitive eater!

deepnight says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:31pm

I couldn't get above 12 :)
The timer lacks feedback: it would be much better with a small break on timeout & a screen that tells something like "next round in 3..2..1".

Ariake81 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:26pm

nice idea which fits with the theme

needs a pause screen or animation to show when 10 secs is up - this would make it more satisfying

good start though

Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:59am

It definitely needs a pause after the timer expires but it's a fun game. Probably the one with the most replay value I've played so far.
My record was 18, btw!

TeamFlare says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Now I'm hungry. :) Nice one

MrBlade says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Nice work. I really enjoyed this, after a bit of playing, the gameplay started to dull, but what do you expect from a hot-dog eating simulator? I am glad you added sound.
My record: 22!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 5:09am

That was fun, but I felt like the water wasn't necessary if you got lucking with mashing space. My high score was 14 (no water).

gmaker says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:56am

ahaha) really fun game! my record 20)) good job!

01rafael says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:11am

I ate 13 hot dogs! though, I win )

cwkx says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:14am

Pretty funny use of the theme :)

mobyvb says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 1:14am

I got sixteen, but I'm afraid I'll break my spacebar if I try to do more :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]