August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A Living Shell

by kraj0t - Jam Entry

[Headphones HIGHLY recommended, volume all the way up]
[CONTROLS: WASD for movement (post-compo: left mouse button to use flashlight]
[GOAL: stay alive by finding light, or else you'll be swallowed by your torments in 10 seconds (post-compo: you will hear heartbeats at every second, and your heartrate increases if you are reached by your fears]

UPDATE: I kept working at some fixes and improvements for the two days after the compo ended. If you're not voting for the compo, I TOTALLY ADVICE you to try the post-compo version that I've uploaded.

About the development during this LD27:
What can I say... Not a very jolly weekend, you know. Since months ago, I had planned to dedicate myself entirely to this compo, which is my first ever, by the way. But things got a bit messed up in my personal life the very pre-LD friday. So here is the result of that. An overly-emotional game, made in a few hours while dealing with actual real-life pain. Certainly, that pain permeated into the game's mood. I hope you can, at least, find something good about my entry.

Sorry about my accent. I tried my best not to sound too awkward... and failed ;-)

QUESTION: I've used Unity. I've uploaded the scripts only as the required sources. Is that ok?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#14Mood(Jam)4.09
#25Audio(Jam)3.87
#215Overall(Jam)3.28
#279Graphics(Jam)3.30
#306Innovation(Jam)2.95
#360Humor(Jam)2.15
#405Fun(Jam)2.63
#554Theme(Jam)2.27

Comments

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:09pm

I can think only of one thing : Your neighbors must had a lot of fun when u were recording that sound effects :D .
Good work!

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:45pm

That was really creepy. 5 stars for the mood.

Gameplay wise it was pretty simple, although i liked the camera work and the fact the head followed the mouse. Felt smooth.

Not sure you hit the "10 seconds" theme perfectly with this, but it was something entirely different and i quite enjoyed it.

kraj0t says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Thank you two!

@Ghostik My flat's walls are like cardboard, so yes, my neighbours must have flipped out :-) Still, I did not shout as loud as I would've wanted to ;-)

@Lars Faust I didn't have time to add more gameplay. Definitely, I was more focused on the story-telling than the actual game... my bad. However, I have plans on adding some mechanics after the jam.

Yozz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:08am

Good mood, but is this a game?

endlosnull says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:13am

Interesting game and I like the audio and the creepy mood but I wish there was a little more.

And I didn't really get the 10 second theme, sadly.

FireZenk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Weird concept of game, no "10 seconds"... but great sound and "mood"

kraj0t says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Just to explain things out: you die after 10 seconds of not grabbing the light. At least, that was the original idea... but sadly, I didn't have time to code that for the compo. If you wish to see what the game should've actually been about, please play the Jam build :-) (but play the compo build for judging, sure).

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:33pm

good speaker... damn good sound... graphics are not bad for such a nice setting... but I fail over and over again by entering the room left after entering the house ...

killmonday says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Personal game and a personal touch, we like! +5 for sound and mood! Great that you made the voice over, that was what kept me playing! :) Hope things work out good with the real-life thing!

fgielow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:21am

as it as been mentioned, good work with the camera and mood! I really liked the way the camera followed the player in a kind of smart way, sometimes camera behaviours piss me off lol urs was really solid

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:28am

Terrifying. Ending was pretty out there too. Definitely one of the more unusual entries. Good work!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Really really like what you did here. Great atmosphere, great story telling, and I actually found the accented english completely acceptable and strangely fitting, quite frankly you speak it better than a lot of english people I know :). Very high scores from me good work!

Ailin says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Your game is fucking disturbing.... loved it ! :D
Maybe too much pan and not enough range on some voices (fade too quickly). Nice work.

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Very interesting game. The ending freaked me out quite a bit, though I'm still not sure it had properly finished before I had to close it out of paranoia that it would completely terrify me. I read your notes on this page before I played the game, and whilst I was playing I felt as though you were communicating your own story to me, and it felt very 'connected'. I think that's a good sign of an artist. Sorry to hear about whatever happened in your life, and I wish you the best.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Wow, the voice acting puts quite some emotions into this, that's rather powerful. Sounds a bit like a manic depression or something like that... Not a bad game, strong mood, even a bit creepy.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:56pm

It's a shame that you didn't get a chance to do more in the compo, the post-compo version shows a lot of potential. Good audio and atmosphere!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Excellent work, very impressive mood! The camera implementation was really great, and your voice acting really added a lot of weight to the game. Sure, there was not much "game" in there, but it was impossible to not go until the end. A job very well done!

Diptoman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Oh man, awesome presentation! Even though the gameplay lacked things, you got me hooked to it with the voice dialogues and all. Didn't know what to do after entering the red room, though. I suppose that was the end, yeah? Kept hearing the voices even when the screen turned black after that.

blackotus says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Very nice mood!
Very nice work on the creepy sound design!

Nice entry!

dook says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:37pm

That was weird. But in a really good way. Very moody and creepy! :) The controls and mechanics were weird, but I feel like it could turn into an interesting game.

4xisblack says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Yay personal games that are actually about things! Ludum Dare could use more of these IMO.

I am not sure whether you intended the ending to be an infinite black screen with breathing noises in the background, but I certainly hope you did because it was intimate and bizarre and cool.

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Looks real good. Ergo: good job!

Larzan says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:36pm

A very dense atmosphere, nice.

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 12:48pm

great atmosphere; the visuals and sound really sets the mood.

yagiz says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Reminded me of Alan Wake.. I would appreciate fade in/outs in the voice-over. Also was not if the background noise was intentional or not. Nice mood overall!

DavidErosa says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Wow, that was really nice. Although graphics are simply, the atmosphere made them perfectly fit. Thanks!

Almax27 says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Simple but very effective :)

Sep 13, 2013 @ 1:08am

Excellent mood, the voice work really adds to the overall creepiness.

cwkx says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:48am

This is really dark. Perfect rating, but dark.

MinionStudios says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Atmospheric and macabre.

kraj0t says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 8:41am

Thank everyone for voting. I'm overjoyed ^_^

But hey, why does it appear as a Jam entry? It's a compo entry, I did it under compo rules :-S

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]