August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Target Down

by nexust - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a genetically engineered super soldier. Your mission is to dispatch a former ally, turned rogue. You must defeat your foe in under 10 seconds or you'll spontaneously explode!
I'll release the source once I've finished the game.
WASD movement, mouse to aim and holld Q for slow-mo mode.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#446Graphics3.06
#741Audio2.20
#752Theme2.94
#795Fun2.65
#841Overall2.76
#867Innovation2.53
#1698Coolness24%

Comments

Red Mike says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:24am

Interesting idea. The game was pretty fun, with two minor points: I spawned right next to the enemy the first four times and got instantly shot to death, the credits are unskippable and there's no easy way to retry immediately like you would when you fail.

With both of those changed, maybe extended with a few other mechanics, it could be a fun coffeebreak game.

Elrobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:50am

Interesting game, could have some appeal as a tiny deathmatch game. The credits though, they take longer than the game itself.

small trouble says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:52am

It was a good concept. I liked that when you fired the timer went down so you couldn't fire and hope for the best. It could of had a extension of the idea, like different environments and the restart screen letting you restart instantly.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:57pm

This game looks nice. The gameplay is shooth... Wait, what? It's over already??? I played for barely 1 minute! :C

Anyway, I felt like you could make the game a bit longer. Maybe put several rounds into the battle? I don't know, but it was definitely too short.

Except for that, good graphics and gameplay. Really hard to get that with so little time though.

nexust says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Thanks for the comments everyone. I can't tell you how much I wish I could have fixed the issues you all pointed out to me but I had a serious hard drive malfunction that wiped out all my work since I started game development. I plan to evolve this into a full game once I've recovered.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:31am

Liked the graphics and the game was really cool. As mentioned, credits were rather lengthy ;)

Malactus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:26am

Simple, sorta fun gameplay, It just gets annoying as the 10 second timer ticks down and then you explode. but for a minigame, yes.

One minor gripe When the Agent down screen comes, it does not react if i press any key until a few seconds later.

In anycase, could have been longer. :) May changing the terrain, or making it more difficult?

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:24am

Well, I liked the shadows and the menu screen. I found the gameplay annoying as the enemy can see further than the screen and there's practically no cover any description.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:42am

Usually died within 1.5 seconds of game starting, at least 20 games in a row.
Press any key to restart, doesn't work right away.

interesting

Snail_Man says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Nice game. I really liked how you used the seconds as ammo as well :)
I liked the physics as well.

nexust says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Due to a recent hardware failure, I cannot fix the issues in this game. Although I'd love to improve it, I can't so I'll just explain the bugs/issues and apologize for them.
-The game doesn't respond to keystrokes after a death because it isn't ready to. A set time must pass before the ability is available. I absolutely agree that this is very annoying but it was a quick fix for a sound bug I encountered.
-The enemy has infinite sight. Believe me, the original AI had far more limited vision and it made the game nearly impossible to play. If the enemy didn't actively seek the player as soon as it was able to shot at them, the play would have 10 seconds to find and kill the enemy.
-Spawning next to the enemy was an issue that shouldn't really occur unless the game has no other choice but to spawn you there. Since the positions are randomized, I have little control over this although there is code to prevent it. Clearly that code didn't work so well.
-Dying too quickly or too often is actually part of the design. Coupled with the respawn delay, I admit, it gets a little annoying but the alternative is completing the game first time with little or no effort then having to sit through the dull credit screen... sound any better? I designed the game to be hard so that you would have more reason to play.
-The credit screen is unforgivable. It's unneeded, unskippable and it's painful to sit through. I couldn't think what to do after you won so I threw a credit screen in. Although there isn't a direct way to skip the screen and return to gameplay, I'm not arrogant enough to show you my name every time you beat the game so I made a way around it. Press escape and you'll go back to the menu.
-No cover? Again, that's down to the random nature of the game. The game randomly generates the levels and it has no minimum number of walls to generate. I should have spent a little extra time polishing the random generation really.

I apologize for the issues in this game... they are unforgivable. I will be making a full game based on this entry and you can follow my progress through my Twitter (@n3xust) or at akkail.com

Thanks for enduring my mess of an entry, I promise I'll redeem myself next time.

jwolf says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:19am

The game has a number of issues that both you and some of the other commenters have already mentioned, so I won't rehash them. However, a lot of them are things that you can tweak and fix, if you do pursue further development.

I liked the mood and the graphics, particularly the shadow effects.

Eelfroth says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 10:28pm

I like the unusual atmosphere. Really nice surreal game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]