August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

"10 seconds left, Mr. Pink Rabbit!"

by Lightmare Studio - Jam Entry

In "10 seconds left, Mr. Pink Rabbit!" you must help Mr. Pink Rabbit shop his groceries. Problem is, the store closes in 10 seconds!

-HOW TO PLAY-
-------------------------------------------------------
The goal of the game is to draw a path for Mr. Pink Rabbit so that he grabs stuff written on his grocery list (which you can check in the lower left corner), then checks out at any of the cash registers on the right side of the store.

The game has two steps: first you must place waypoints for Mr. Pink Rabbit to follow. You can either left-click the buttons in the top-left corner or scroll the mouse wheel.
You can move any placed waypoint with the crossed-arrow- button. You can delete the last waypoint by clicking the mouse's right button.
By clicking the Play button in the lower right corner of the screen, you send Mr. Pink Rabbit into the store...will he make it in time?

Experiment with different run speeds and make the most of Mr Pink Rabbit's shopping cart's momentum! Have fun shopping with Mr. Pink Rabbit!

Note: The keyboard is not needed during gameplay but you can switch to fullscreen by pressing Alt+Enter and end the game by hitting the Esc. key.

-------------------------------------------------------
KNOWN ISSUE
-------------------------------------------------------

The main issue you may encounter is that Mr. Pink Rabbit may get stuck into a collision (any crate or wall). This is most likely because you placed a waypoint too close to the collision (what matters is its center, pointed at by the tip of the label).
To fix it, drag the waypoint away from the collision with the Move button and refrain from putting waypoints too close to collisions. I know we should have fixed it, but it was slightly too risky with the time we had left. Maybe I'll fix it post LD, though. If time allows.


-------------------------------------------------------
A word about us!
-------------------------------------------------------

It was our first entry in a LudumDare/GameJam/whatsoever (as a team or as individuals).

Coming up with the game concept was pretty quick but it was hard to tell whether it would eventually be fun until the last morning.
Anyway, we're really happy because we had loads of fun creating this from scratch, especially while recording the music and sound effects! We definitely had a great time!

You can also check out the website we made for the lulz during the jam (click the Website button).

- Lightmare Studio (the four of us)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#10Overall(Jam)4.08
#12Fun(Jam)3.92
#12Theme(Jam)4.02
#18Innovation(Jam)3.92
#26Humor(Jam)3.90
#31Audio(Jam)3.82
#40Graphics(Jam)4.36
#56Mood(Jam)3.68

Comments

Oxydam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:55pm

A very funny game which sounds and looks very nice.

sebasRez says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Wow, yall did such a great job with this!

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Outstanding levels of polish, pretty unique concept, and great execution. Good job!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Thank you for your kind comments! ^^
Now we need some rest! We can't wait to play all the games out there, but...we will have to wait because I'm basically nodding off while typing this comment ^^;

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:30pm

I am speechless. How can you do sth. that awesome in just three days. Oh, wait, i guess you know what you are doing :)
One word, perfect.
Apart from the fact that i have a soft spot for rabbits, i love the design and spottless execution.
Great gameplay idea too,
wow.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:31am

Hahah, the sounds in this are amazing and such a polished fun game. Well executed and unique idea.. highly rated! :)

Clurect says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:38am

HAhhahaha when he crashed, too funny. Good job.

Lustdante says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:38am

1. Turn this into mobile game
2. ???
3. Profit!

Make it happen!

blopit says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:43am

Amazing level of presentation! Good Job!

Meep says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:52am

Very cute, brilliant, polished little game! :) Amazing you were able to get that much done so quickly.

asc3nsion says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:46am

great-but weird game. Weird in a great way.. and really nice graphics feeling. The sound is what really makes it cool and different.

Phobos001 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:47am

Fantastic! Very well made. No issues on my end. Not a game I would be interested in, but it's still very fun to play. I wasn't expecting the hilarious death after running into something really fast. (Oops!) Great job to everyone involved! :)

01101101 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:53pm

:D Easily the funniest of the LD games I have played so far!
I had no doubt you would make something cool, but you really did a great job! Sounds and music are perfect, the art style is fun, everything goes well together...
Bien joué ! :)

kbm0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Wow, this is awesome! I especially like the style of the graphics!

Erhune says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Very very well done, sirs! This is very polished, hugely fun, very funny... in fact, I cannot see *anything* to complain about.

Special props for the voiced music, it is beyond fantastic!

michail says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Extremely polished and original game! Really fun to play.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Whooaaa thank you everbody! Reading your comments is like opening presents on Christmas morning!

We're all super excited to see people having fun this ^^ Hey maybe we should start a choral! :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Skipping words and letters...hmm maybe I should get a little bit more rest :p

vladimirdlc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:33pm

This was funny, fun and bloody not much more can be asked :) GG

sirdorius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Fantastic! One of the best I have played until now. My only gripe with it is that you can only remove the last waypoint. Other than that I love it! The death animation is great and unexpected.

davidwparker says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:44pm

This would be a great mobile game. Awesome music/sounds. Enjoyed the gameplay.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Thanks to both of you :D
sirdorius > Oh yeah actually we pondered whether we should enable this feature or not, but we finally decided that since it doesn't take that much time to destroy the whole path and re-create it, we could leave it like this (changing it was pretty risky when we considered the possibility). However I do agree with you; at some point we even pondered the possibility of inserting waypoints between two existing ones, but it was too much work and was definitely a huge risk.

Anyway, thank you for your comment! ^^

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Thanks davidwparker! You posted while I was writing the comment above :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:07pm

Very neat game, great humour and original mecanics. Congrats guys !

deepnight says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:16pm

That's 5 stars game *_*
Really loved the game and the interpretation of the theme! I want a supermarket like that where you can buy cats and candies.
The only critical problem with this game is the music. My wife & me can't stop singing the f*** "tututut tulut tutuuuluuuu".

Good job guys :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Thanks Emilien! It was pretty fun to do so I'm glad you like it!

Ha ha thanks, deepnight! Believe me, the theme has been stuck in our own heads since Monday. I seriously contemplate scooping my brain out with a spoon. But maybe I should keep it for the next LD xD

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:04am

Don't work for me D: it doesn't open.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:06am

Argh, what system are you trying to play on? W8 ? It's a Game Maker executable, so I don't really know how to fix this D:

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:55am

game was brilliant -- nice job

suchichi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:35pm

GG!
Fun and polished, the endless replayability IS true.
I wonder if there is any end to it (no time to play more than 30 min straight, yet), and if the levels are random or if they loop...
I really liked the hommage to Monsters, Inc. but I have to say that I was a bit disappointed that the top checkout desk didn't get its own illustration. I think M. Pandabear could be rightly jealous about that.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Actually Mr. Pandabear (who is actually Pandakoala) didn't wish to appear on the checkout screen. Actually he even refused several times.
Completely desperate for someone to appear on the screen, we resigned to accepting Josiane, though she was not quite as photogenic (or sympathetic for that matter).

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Very very polished, the graphics are so cute. Kudos, you guys!!!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Also, very good use of the theme!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Thanks Christina! Your entry is awesome too! ^^

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Awesome game!

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Wow this looks really good! Wish my game looked as good as this :D

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Dat game! For 72 hours! Im shocked, realy. Very good

GFM says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:19pm

This is amazing! So fun and the many possibles way to complete a level only add to the replay value! :D

An ending (something like a "Play again/exit" screen after each stage ) would be nice... or I simply didn't play enough of it. xD

Also, I can definitely see this as a mobile game! The high replay value also help here.

The music was great and, have it almost only (I think I hear a metronome or something... XD) made by voices added to it's awesomeness!

The graphics are also great, and leaving a trail through runs was a nice idea!

Last, but not least, that screen when you lose... It's funny that the bunny's can't feed it's family because you failed to bring grannies and kittens back... xD

Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Haha thank you everybody!

Almax27 > Thanks!

Venterulli > I'll take a look! I'm sure it's great! :D Thanks for your comment!

Alexander Ponomariov > Thanks! We will post the postmortem soon. We worked around 45-50 hours each!

GFM > Hehe thank you, glad you loved the humor :)

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Very high quality game. Enjoyed it. I gave you a lot of stars.
BTW, Did your team use graphic tablets for the graphics? cause they are really nice.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:34pm

What a weird and fun and nice looking game! Like the basic concept.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Thanks to both of you! :)

PixlWalkr > Yep, an A5 Intuos 4 by Wacom! We have only one artist but the guy's like a one-man army. A one-man artist army, that is :p

Vaalen says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:03pm

It's a really good game. Very funny and with good graphics.

ddionisio says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:19am

Really good job! The presentation is excellent and the interface is intuitive. The art and audio is great! I can see this being replayable as well, trying to get as much score and as fast as possible.


You guys get an extra humor point for building that website! It even has a presskit!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:28pm

good job

Volute says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Very cool and impressive level of polish. Bravo !

Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:03am

Solid game, love the music, great job! I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 compilation series if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=biBzDWmV3kc

Diogo Muller says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:47am

VERY nice game. Love the graphics, the sound, everything! This could work very well as a touch based game.

Kad says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Nice and fun concept, althought I'm not sure if I wish to hug or slap the person who did the music o-o

M.O.U says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Great execution!I love the design! Very funny! Congrats!!

klianc09 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Really cool concept, and the rabbit crashing against a wall looks funny. Having to delete everything when you want to change something at the beginning of the path was a bit frustrating. Also the music (although kind of interesting) got really repetitive really quick.

Dohan says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Wow, great game, funny, replayable and very cute. Congrats!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Vaalen > Thanks mate!

ddioniso > Thank you! Creating the website was fun!

ratalaika > Thanks! :)

Volute > Thank you! :D

Jupiter_Hadley > Oh wow thank you very much! I checked the video: you did a very good job!

Diogo Muller > Hehe we thought of a tablet version too because it's basically all simple point and click gestures. Not sure we will make it happen one day, though.

Kad > I chose "slap". Although all four of us sang for the game, the unnerving "too to-too" tune is Gwen's masterpiece. I can't shake it every since we made the game, so now I hate him.

M.O.U > Thank you very much!

klianc09 > Yeah, the fact that you have to delete the whole path is not a decision we enjoyed taking. We just didn't want to take the risk of breaking the waypoint editor before the deadline, so we left it this way. But maybe I'll work on an "extended" version and improve the editor, allowing to change the speed type of an already placed waypoint, and delete any one of them you like. It's not a lot of work but it was too risky during the jam. Also, the music loop indeed is short, but its grating aspect was kinda made on purpose :)

Dohan > Thank you very much :D

crueltear says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Nice game. How about adding sandbox-like mode, without time limit? Seems that my great paths were not so great after all :F Sprites are good, given short time available.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Thanks crueltear! It would indeed be a great addition!

Brejlounek says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Aaah, fellow GameMakerist again. Really great sounds (music too) and visuals! Enjoyed it. Gamepolay is a little tricky/non-friendly, maybe add some path visualizations. Great! :)

Tipyx says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Ah ah ah ah, just amazing :D. The graphics and the gameplay are very great, and I'm particulary in love of the Tululut music, I hope you will out an OST :D

rodrigomotta says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Wow! Amazing game. Beautiful and very polished.

crazyrems says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 8:48am

It's a very good game, incredibly funny. We can feel that it's all home made, that sounds authentic !

Oana says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 9:55am

This is probably the best use of the theme I have seen so far. The game is so cute and funny. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]