August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Sixth of a Minute

by Tork - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game is a fast Bullet hell where you have to evade/destroy the enemies while taking stars in less than 10 seconds.

Hope you enjoy it and thanks for your feedback.

Made with Unity 4.0

***** Linux and Mac Builds have NOT BEEN TESTED *****

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#302Audio2.98
#505Graphics2.96
#508Fun2.98
#647Overall2.97
#650Mood2.60
#744Theme2.95
#892Humor1.64
#1099Innovation2.06

Comments

Tork says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 9:15am

Don't know when to start rating other games, still I prefer feedback than rating (I don't expect to win), so please give all the feedback you can :D

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 9:29am

Highscore!

I quite like it. Smooth graphics and gameplay, easy to learn and not unfairly hard. Good job.

Tork says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 9:31am

TY Lars!

Fanvadar says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 10:18am

Great game, got me addicted very quickly!
couldn't beat your score Lars :c

MvdLaar says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 11:01am

Pretty good! Smooth gameplay and clear interaction design.

It's kind of a shame you didn't put a little more time in the little things, such as a font, the buttons, turning the arrow around... still, good effort!

Kimidori says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 12:44pm

great game, still trying scorce above my 59k HS.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Nice, my only comment is that the destroyed asteroid sound effect was a little ear-bleedy. Might want to try a high-pass filter to about 15Khz

Anheurystics says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Hurray for top down shooter 10 seconds games :))
I like the concept, and the game, although the controls seemed odd to me at first. Still, nice.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Sorry, ment to say low-pass

Tork says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Thanks guys and I will see if I get some time to upgrade the little things ^^

Fanvadar says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 8:31am

Ok, here are my recommendations -
- if there is a time of invincibility when entering a new level it should be visible in some way, if there isn't, you should add one.
- there should be more textures for the explosion, it gets pretty boring.
- i think the star that takes you to the next level should be a different color from the explosion and your character/bullets, because sometimes it just looks like a heap of explosions so you pass through it, which more often than not will kill you.
However, I'm not trying to criticize the game, i think its fantastic!
Good job, this game has a ton of potential.

Tork says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 3:12pm

TY Fanvadar, from what you said I never thought of time of invincibility, since it is a 10 seconds game I won't be adding it but if I remake the idea in some way it will be the first thing I do.

tinfoilboy says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Really nice. I like the graphics and the game is responsive. Good Work.

Metal Axe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:27am

A simple addicting game. I like it! Digging the music too. My only suggestion would be to make enemies spawn a little bit further away from you.

ravine says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:33am

It would be nice to have some kind of notice (a sound or something) when you collide with an object.

LionelJitro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:34am

Simple and fun.

It looks really clean as well, nice job!

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:43am

thanks guys!

oxysoft says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:46am

Very nice ambiance, not that fun though

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:55am

The gameplay is simple, fun, and easy to understand. I really like the color scheme and the way the number fits into the level. Also, the music is really amazing for a weekend game jam! I only wish the plunking didn't cover it up quite so much. Maybe it could come in at 3 or something?

CuberToy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:55am

A classic revisited, and nicelly executed. Immediate catch.

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:14am

Not sure what plunking means
@CuberToy thanks :D

PaidGEEK says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:17am

I like this one. The timer in the background is good addition.

atomic_swerve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:19am

I love bullet hell games, this is good! Only thing I might suggest is better feedback when taking damage, and less "spawning into a cluster of enemies."

douglasv says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:05am

Nice graphics

Boodog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:12am

Really good game! I loved it!

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:14am

Simple but playable !

JAH2488 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:24am

Fun little shooter. The 10 seconds did help keep things tense.

noom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:36am

This was good fun, as others have said, very smooth. The timer in the background of the whole level was a good idea. I've been playing too many other games with different controls though so this one was tough for me to adjust to. Instantly taking all my health at once was a bit harsh, I think there should be a small "invincibility" window after you take damage.

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:41am

Thanks guys, up to now, everyone that has commented has been voted :) (not all have comments but all have votes :D)

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:06am

Not bad in any way, but nothing about it stood out. What you have here is put together well, it's just not very fun.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:12am

Well done - the enemy movement feels nice, and I like the huge time display in the middle :) I had a few issues with clicking outside the window and losing focus (the WSAD seemed to stop working - not sure if that was just me being dumb though.) Great job Tork.

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:14am

the clicking out is a unity problem, that is exactly why I posted a Windows exe, fullscreen looks better and you dont have that problem.

fferro234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:25am

Nice, simple, fast gameplay. What Fanvadar said hits the problems right on the head. Right when I go into a portal I usually lose at least one life because something hits me right away. The game just needs some little variety to be great, either different types of enemies or something. Great job though!

Andrewves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:35am

Good game but i cant help feeling that the effort you spent on getting the visuals to a certain level should be reflected in the unity GUI buttons, by using your own textures as the default ones do not match the style.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:39am

Great shooter! Upgrades would be a nice touch, because it gets too hard very soon!

daOyster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:39am

Nice game, liked it and quickly makes you addicted.

Infernal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:43am

Nice job! visually clean and performs great.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:52am

Very nice, very playable game.

Gus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:54am

simplistic but nice
Liked the idea of health system, and how you seamlessly go from one level to another, gives a pretty chaotic feeling.
Missed a menu and/or a exit button, It would be a good idea for the windows release.

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:12am

Liked the art style here and thought it had a nice level progression for the levels I've played... I think you could have embedded the theme a bit more though (dunno how).

Good luck in the challenge ^^

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:09am

Addictive as hell, pity I'm so terrible at it XD

LittleThor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:10am

Classic but fun game. An online leaderboard is a very good idea.

Impmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:04am

It was a little hard to tell if I had hit something, as there wasn't enough feedback. I felt like I went through stuff quite often. It was also annoying when switching levels, as suddenly tons of enemies would spawn next to me. Apart from these small things, the general shmup feeling was quite good, and I quite liked the mood, by which I mean the visuals and the music.

rasmusrn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:09am

Nice game!! Lovely colors and shading :) Pew pew pew!

Tifu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:53am

Pretty good! Love the way the countdown is presented as part of the background. The explosions might have been better with some particle effects, more satisfying to blow things up when they really explode :D

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Nice take on a classic genre. I really liked the graphics and the smoothness of it all. Maybe the explosions could have been better. Solid game :)

gritfish says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Might be my monitor, but those bullets are hard-as to see. Still, the gameplay is pretty rock solid. There's some serious geometry wars players here, judging by those scores!

Muznak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Fun game. Really need feedback when you get hit, and it would be good if the player collision mesh was visually obvious.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:14pm

good job

blay09 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:22pm

I liked the background graphic and the countdown being integrated into it. It got repetitive quickly though and in the end the screen was just full of red balls, could have used some kind of powerups or something to bring variation into it.

bisk8s says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Good job, nice game!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:31am

It's a very addicting game.

Only recomendation I have is give the player some feedback when he hits an enemy.

flamecow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:46am

Neat little shooting game you've made here. The enemies are a little hard to see compared to some of the brighter things (like what happens when they die). Nice job!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:07am

looks good. My brain is totally fucked after this weekend so I have some problems with the controlls (ships_direction != flight_direction) ... but I like the way it moves ^^

hbocao says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:10am

The graphics looks nice, but specially the background. That was sick! I enjoyed the sense of urgency with the "ticker" sound too! Too bad that I suck at this kind of games. :(

Sestren says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:06am

This was a lot of fun to play. The sound effects and music were nice, as well. The controls felt a bit loose to me, but overall, nice entry.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:03am

Simple, but actually fun. Smooth gameplay, very good sound.

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:57am

Smooth and sleek, a nicely polished entry.

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:45am

Very fun little game ;) Reminds me of oldschool asteroids.

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:59am

Good job, it works. Just a bit more work on the overall skin would be a huge addition though.

infernet89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:06am

Probably not the mos original idea, but for sure the most well-polished entry with this mechanic that i've seen so far! Well done!

bombjack says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:17am

Simple design but fun and effective game play!

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:46am

I like this game. Fun and replayable. Great job!

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:19pm

can you upload a linux build please?

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Thank you, the linux version works!

Tork says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Perfect :D

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Fun shooters are always fun! I like the minimal and effective graphics, and the creative title of this game :D The cartesian movement is kinda vexing as one expects to move in the direction you are pointing your vessel, a relative movement system would improve the experience a lot. Good work!

Travis Irby says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:58am

Well put together, I had fun! nice job :)

N427 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Pretty fun!

Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:54pm

The only thing I could say is that it's sometimes a little imprecise when I try to catch up the star. But overall it's a nice game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]