August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Comet Run

by Genecyll - Jam Entry

Pick up loot and bring them to other stars within 10 seconds!

Comet Run is my first entry to Ludum Dare. I t was very funny to make this game and I'm very happy with the result. Why don't you try it yourself?

With your mouse you control a comet that has to pick up loot from stars and bring it to other stars. But... you only have 10 seconds to do this, unless you move over the stars, which act as checkpoints to refill your timer. Each loot item has a value that decreases if you are longer carrying it. Try to make as much money in the least time.

Download at http://genecyll.com/comet-run

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#63Audio(Jam)3.64
#93Innovation(Jam)3.50
#112Fun(Jam)3.39
#133Theme(Jam)3.45
#170Overall(Jam)3.39
#223Mood(Jam)3.11
#429Graphics(Jam)2.78
#1422Coolness39%

Comments

evilentity says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:53pm

403 on link.

Genecyll says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Is now fixed! Use http://genecyll.com/comet-run.zip

markengley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Nice work. Would have liked to be able to intentionally drop one of my loot (think it was possible but tricky). Found it ran quite laggy on my machine.

realtutsgml says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Good Job, Looks great and the sound is good. I did however get bored after playing it as it did not progress. All in all you did a good job.

Genecyll says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Thanks! I was planning to add more levels, but because of time lack I couldn't implement them. I'm planning to add them at a later stage.

jwolf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Not too shabby! It's interesting to try to optimize routes, and the music fits it well.

I've noticed the game stuttering a bit on my end, although it's nothing too serious.

Tym0r says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:56pm

moving the mouse causes quite a lot of stutter for me too. otherwise it's nice :)

mikegbrown says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:21pm

I really like this. Took me a second to figure out the courier mechanic but had a fun tense time flying across space. Great game!

madk says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:11pm

I'm in love with that music you used. It looks and handles great.

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Overall very fun, could use some work on the graphics. I was confused at first but then I got it and it didn't feel like any game I had ever played, so kudos for that!

Good fit for the theme, and nice controls, music was nice and went well with the game. Gratz!

antonijn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Shame it's windows only! Four stars in most categories, very fun game!

kibertoad says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:00am

great visuals and music, fun gameplay.
for some reason frame rate drops quite low for me. otherwise congrats on creating a really slick game.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:41am

Great music!
Enjoyed it!

dagothig says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Really enjoyed the music!

PapaWhiskey says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Nice concept. Stuff like this is very addicting!

Morusque says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 10:11pm

very good. I find the idea of picking stuff and making money as a comet quite funny.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]