August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Sec Away From the Earth

by dancingflame - Jam Entry

An UFO has fallen on the earth. So bad, their life maintaining devices has broken that can only support their life for only 10 seconds, then it needs recharge.
Can you guide them to escape from the earth? Try it!

The characters in this game have different powers
The 1st and 2nd level are teaching levels, you should pay some attention to the hints on the screen.
And also, the aliens are forced to take turns acting every 10 seconds.
It's our first Ludum Dare, hope you enjoy this game!!

Control:
WASD/arrow key to move
Green alien:
Left click to open warp gate
Right click to pull out objects in pocket
(Beware the worm hole pocket has only 1 slot, new object will cover old ones!!)
Goal: All 3 aliens must reach the exit(Not including objects in pocket)


Here's a short film to demonstrate this game. Watch it first!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YtDu05fCLko

Credits:
Art/Level design/Game concept: @dancingflame
Programming/Game concept: @CatOnMars,@WASD
Resources(art, music): from open game art bundle

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#106Audio(Jam)3.44
#196Mood(Jam)3.17
#213Graphics(Jam)3.58
#228Fun(Jam)3.07
#236Overall(Jam)3.23
#239Innovation(Jam)3.09
#253Humor(Jam)2.54
#385Theme(Jam)2.89

Comments

cschwartz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Game does not load (too high bandwidth usage).

Plu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Downloading the game and running it seems to still work.

dancingflame says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:37pm

cschwartz:
I think the link of Web is fixed now.
Thank you for your reminder.

tombsar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:52pm

A solid puzzle-based platformer. The graphics are very nicely presented, with a few glitches (probably my system). I can't help but feel that the 10s restriction is more of an after-thought to an already strong game concept, and it got in the way many times. Very nice though!

Richard Matey says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:14am

I really like the graphic style and really creative use of 10 seconds.

Badger says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:59am

Cool game

qrunchmonkey says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:23am

I got stuck after the first level. It just keeps cycling through the characters (who have all gone through the portal)

Sweet graphics and music though.

timtipgames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:25am

I really like the concept and how clever usage of characters strengths is needed to proceed. The 10 second switching seems kind of not needed because you can switch between characters whenever you want. It doesn't anything to the game other than me pressing shift a few more times. The characters graphically do not fit with the tileset in my opinion. Overall a really nice experience :)

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:52am

qrunchmonkey :

Did you pressed the "Next Level" Button?
When stuck, please "Retry".

And if some character within pocket carried to the exit, it is not counted success.

Thank for your playing~

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:01am

timtipgames:

Thanks for your comment :)

We admit that ten seconds limitation is sort of useless and confusing. At first we planed to implement a multi-player mode, each character have the same ability, so that in their turn they can teleport objects to block others away, and each player compete to reach goal as fast as they can... but we have no more time to do it. Maybe implement it in post-jam version. Thank you :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:14am

Lol, you can kill your friends? hahaha i love the graphics and the idea. But i feel so strange with the camera. I think its so high, but anyway awesome game, good job :)

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:15am

Super-cute game with a nice degree of polish, looks and plays great. The three-character setup reminds me a little of The Lost Vikings, but that's never a bad thing :). Excellent little puzzle platformer.

Darien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:25am

Really fun overall, in a Lost Vikings kind of way. It might be nice if the aliens didn't despawn when reaching the exit, though, since sometimes getting one guy (usually blue) to the exit requires using one of the others as a stepping stone, and if they've already left you have no choice but to restart.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Fun gameplay and really well done! Love the characters

BitDemon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Great concept and graphics.

SneManden says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Nice game. Very cute graphics.

The gameplay had some minor hiccups, especially when switching between characters. Great entry, though!

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:30pm

@Pixelfan Games: yes!! you could leave your friends somewhere through the wormhole~
@jay griffin: I have never played The Lost Vikings,I'll try it, thanks your comment.
@Darien: Good recommendation, we'll take it into consideration :)
@MinionStudios
@BitDemon: Thank you ~
@SneManden: Thank you for point it out, we knew there are some minor bugs in switching but have run out of time to fix it. Thank you anyway :)

larb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Fun game. I do feel the 10 seconds mechanic is a detriment. Sometimes, I want to stay on my current character, and not cycle through the other two.

Beside that, great jam entry. Nice cute graphics, cool music, cool mechanic. Really enjoyed it.

kbm0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Really cool and fun little game. I love the fact that you did not use pixel art like 99% of the other games ;) Great style and concept, 5/5, good job!

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Liked this but felt it was a bit too easy from what I saw (maybe I just didn't see enough but it's pretty late here :P)... I think it could have been better if you made it so that when the 10 seconds run out for a character, it needs to go back to the beginning... right now time has no real factor in it (get somewhere, change character, return to all character, and you got 10 more seconds).

Loved the graphics and the soothing mood and sound :P

Good job and good luck!

ravine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Great game! I did somehow get the green guy sucked up in his own wormhole pocket...

Blizzil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Nice idea and a adorable presentation, loved the music.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Nice work! Good graphics and music too :)

asc3nsion says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:12am

I think its cool how the family needs to work together. I felt kinda sad when I one of guys fell in the hole... ;D

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:39am

Cool - it has a Thomas is Alone kind of vibe, but less "rectangular" ;) Great job!

truiton says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:57am

Cute graphics :)

kbm0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:35am

This is such a cool idea! + I love your characters! The leveldesign is great, too. But your bigger texts (success announcement and countdown) are way too blurry.

Unfortunately I cant get to level 2, because it loops the countdown over and over at the end of level 1.

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:41am

Opening the web version is crashing my browser

dancingflame says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:57am

@kbm0: I updated a bug-fix, hope you can complete all 4 level now :)
@Reaperguy: Sorry, you just probably play it while I am uploading this bug-fix version. Thanks for your comment, give it a try plz.

dancingflame says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:08pm

@larb : Thank you for playing and commenting. We should polish the switching mechanism more.
@esayitch : Have you played through level 4? Most feedback we have recieved tell us many players think it's so hard if they are not using warp gate.
@ravine : It's an interesting bug, we fixed it :)

@Blizzil:
@ratalaika:
@asc3nsion:
@rogueNoodle:
@truiton:
@kbm0:
Thanks for your appreciation, we are like to get some feedback so that to make a post-jam version, hope you could complete all 4 levels and give more feedback, thank you :)

UnixXNova says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Not bad Game good job

fgielow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Like the concept and the game play of each character.
Well made for 72 hours =)

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Will post video review when ready.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Cool game! Nice one :)

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:11am

Video review here: http://www.twitch.tv/n0_named_guy/c/2840401

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:15am

Awesome puzzle platformer, very fun!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:48am

Pretty sweet use of theme, nice idea, though there is a bit of bugs here and there, like if one of the characters lands ontop of another, it glitches out... I featured it in my Ludum Dare compilation series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O6xfnRK2Anw

dancingflame says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Thanks for you all for these comments, we will fix bugs and enhance gameplay in the post-compo version :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]