August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


Back to Browse Entries

Rocket Rampage

by Reicher - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Get as high altitude as possible by collecting fuel. You start with 10 seconds worth of fuel!
AWD to move and QE to rotate.

My first ludum dare game and almost my first game ever.
I had grand plans for this game! Like a background to orient yourself with...or the ability to crash. Or bug-fixing in general.

Now have a windows port as well!

Now people on better computers can play the game too! Finding fuel should be for everyone:)

Downloads and Links




Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Doesn't work for me.. (Ubuntu 13.04)

Reicher says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:57pm

I run ubuntu 13.04 too, dammit=/

ibilon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Didn't work for me either: "Segmentation fault"

Reicher says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:02pm

I have just updated my dropbox with a new one. Hopefully now?

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:10pm

You need to port this game to other OS, I can't play it!

Reicher says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Porting to windows will be done today or tomorrow.
But does is anyone with linux able to play it yet? :/

stephan_h says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Tried to run the game in my VirtualBox LinuxMint. Failed with following message:
./LudumDare27: error while loading shared libraries: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
I do not know Linux very well. Can I install the sfml libraries with a simple console command like apt-get something?

Reicher says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Is anyone with linux able to play it?

HeyChinaski says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:14pm

error while loading shared libraries: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

ibilon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Still didn't work for me, tried to compile it but apparently you use SFML 1 ? In fedora I have the 2.0. Could come from that.

HeyChinaski says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:14pm

(Ubuntu 13.04)

Reicher says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Stephan_h: You shouldnt need to do anything other then executing the Ludumdare27.o file...
Will look into this! Im not very good at linux either Im afraid

ibilon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:18pm

"loading shared libraries:" => you need SFML installed, in fedora it's yum install SFML, I guess in debian/ubuntu apt-get install SFML should work.

Reicher says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Sadly not, i use sfml 2.1 wich I compiled myself since apt-get only gets 1.6.
Dont really know what to do!:((

Latcarf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Works out of the box here (ArchLinux).
But it seems like my computer is too slow to run this game, I have something like 2 fps, so as soon as I press W everything changes and I don't understand what's going on anymore.

ibilon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:25pm

I managed to compile it, its runs ok.

Reicher says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:28pm

YAY! Someone "played" my game:D
Will try to make it work without the need to compile sfml 2.1!

ibilon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:32pm

It compile/works with the 2.0 in the fedora repos.

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:38pm

will there be a windows port?

Reicher says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:42pm

kunzbe: Yes! As soon as my girlfriend comes home and gives me her laptop's password:)

ChrisGaudino says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Runs ok on windows. How do you collect fuel? I ran out every time before I saw any way to collect more.

JALgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Can you please provide a .zip file. I can't open the .rar.

Reicher says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:21pm

ChrisGaudino: It is a bit random, the fuel is in not evenly distributed but i have always managed to find some fuel in 10 seconds.

stephan_h says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Used the Windows version now and that worked for me.
Liked the style and the music very much, but was not able to collect a single fuel item. But, interestingly enough, I got not frustrated. Perhaps because of the nice music and sympathic atmosphere?
In think this is a very good 'almost' first game ever.

Reicher says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:29am

Later today there will be a fix so people are able to "finish" the game. People have been complaining that the fuel cannot be reached. It's possible on some computers though....

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:31am

I totally envy the cleanliness of your code! Very good job! :)

otresnjak says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Cool idea, but I can't seem to reach any fuel. Would be nice if some would always spawn within visible distance of the starting point--to give the player some visual indication of what they're supposed to do.

TheCze says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:37pm

A background texture would have really helped alot with navigation.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:37pm

really awesome game. cant find anything i want to change

Reicher says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:41pm

TheCze: I agree, but it gives that space disoriented feeling right?:)
supersammy7000: Haha, I can think of a couple of improvments!

Have anyone managed to reach any fuel yet?

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Interesting physics but it ran a bit too slow for me :/

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:56pm

This was fun enough to keep me interested in it even though the rocket did not display. That said, you could have had more variety in terms of obstacles and such.

Khopa says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Works fine on Windows 8 64bit.
157 705 parsec. I just kept going and gathered barrels by luck. I like the idea.
A scrolling background would really improve the game, to make the player feel the speed.
Speaking of speed, when travelling very fast, the ship may go outside of the screen.

It's a good game, and once again a good idea, good work :)

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Quite a neat game, had a bit of fun with it,
Although something in the background would be nice, gives a sense of speed

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Really cool! The fuel cans give the sense of speed, and when there is no more it feels like you've left the world behind.

Latcarf says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:57pm

My best score so far (by pressing W until I run out of fuel) is 148 parsec. Either my computer is not powerful enough, or you're doing something suboptimal in your code.

Reicher says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:16am

Latcarf: yeah, don't really know why that is:/

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:35am

120,000 score!

no gravity? I felt like I was going faster and faster and faster!! until the fuel was going by too fast I couldnt pick it up!

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Interesting, but confusing.

awppy says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:05pm

The decision to make it impossible to go backwards was a good one imo, otherwise it would have been too easy to pick up fuel at high speeds

wally2069 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Having the an animation showing ship die when it runs out of fuel even though it still has momentum was kind of annoying. Lost two games if the ship would have been allowed to finish coasting into a really close canister.

shard123 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Fun but it seemed kind of laggy on my computer for some reason.

Sep 14, 2013 @ 3:18pm

muzic mmmmmmmmm. :) i like the negative score possiblihlties

You must sign in to comment.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]