August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Draggin ten

by Croze - 48 Hour Compo Entry

COMPATIBILITY NOTICE: The window size of the game is locked at 1600x1000 if your screen is smaller than that, you can not play. I'm sorry for those who won't be able to play but I started expecting java to allow easy picture scaling, but it doesn't.

AUDIO NOTICE: I couldn't get audio to export properly so I included the music files in the zip, I'm sorry for that too :(

This game is a game that's a hybrid of hedgehog launch and/or burrito bison + topspeed dragster; you have 10 seconds of acceleration(Or gas I guess) and after every run you get money to upgrade your car.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#666Fun2.79
#811Humor1.81
#859Audio1.81
#861Theme2.81
#864Overall2.73
#908Graphics2.29
#917Mood2.22
#959Innovation2.38

Comments

lustdante says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:46am

Whoa, look at the size of that thing!

disdanes says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:47am

This is an excellent game! It took me half a second to figure out the controls, but I really loved getting to upgrade the car after every run!

Croze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:50am

@Lustdante yeah haha I would have scaled it to fit all monitors but java is a pain when it comes to control over how your images look in-game

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:22am

at first i was confused but this game is not bad, always curious to see how the next upgrade will be.. maxed out most of the stats!

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:23am

I liked the music! I wish it played in-game.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:30am

I enjoyed it, but I don't know if I'd call it fun. It really isn't that hard, and you'll always get enough money for an upgrade. There is also a lot of time when I'm really not doing anything. I liked the little dials, and the radar upgrade. There was also a good sense of speed after about 7 upgrades across the board.

Is that car modeled after a Honda NSX?

caranha says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:17am

The game was pretty fun. I found my self playing it over and over :-) In the beginning, it is a bit hard to understand that you need to press "up" (W) to go "right", but after I got that, the game plays very smoothly.

I would suggest that you add some sort of "in-game" gauge of how far the player has gone. It really motivates in this launcher games to have some measure of progress, like a "last record" flag.

Also, sound effects, please! :-)

Thanks for the game, and congrats on a nice 1st LD.

davisan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:16pm

It's fun, but repetitive. Perhaps would be better if had a larger variety of obstacles.

RobotParking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Ha! Made me think of SpyHunter

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:51am

Whoa, look at the size of that window

Supercannon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:08am

Solid game, held my interest until the end. Perhaps a bit to hard, but overall great game for 48 hours.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:18am

Wow that was addictive. Maxed out all stats and bought radar. Really cool game! Nice use of theme.

Croze says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Thanks everyone :D

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Dat window! Good game though!

elementz123 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:20pm

This is pretty addictive with nice graphics! I think there should be some challenge though like racing other cars or something. Nice entry!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:23pm

It make me kind of sad that 90% or so of the memoryusage in this game is 3 music files that are not used. With the radarupgrade you get a bit of gameplay also.

However when I had the radar I only looked at the bottom right part of the screen wasting much of the graphic and feel. I believe it should be changed to simply zoom out instead to get the most out of the resources in the game.

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:04am

The graphics were OK, but the idea is quite good.

Croze says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:05am

Thanks for the advice krag; I also noticed that while playing, but by the time I could even worry about it, it was already submission time :( I probably should have included only 1 music file, or had a separate download for it.

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:55am

Pretty cool, liked the upgrading, although you could still continue to drive after the ten seconds were up. Still good to play nice one.

Croze says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Jelly, you were supposed to be able to, you have 10 seconds of accelerating and then after that you wold slow down based on your resistance level.

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:39am

The upgrade screen was atrocious, sorry... But the rest of the game was quite good looking! That kind of game is always addictive and you managed to make it fun. I love the speed near the max upgrades, wow, that's fast haha!

Croze says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:11am

Thanks haha, yeah I really wanted to make the upgrade screen nicer but still make it keyboard only, but I couldn't come up with anything that would look much better that would still be keyboard only.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:21am

ok that was pretty fun -- nice job

ghRibacki says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:31am

Looks like a very interesting and funny game! Too bad for the screen size... I couldn't play it. =(

Malactus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:58am

Quite fun,
Good Variation in obstacles and stuff you have to keep an eye out to be able to get all the way to the end distance.
Played until end as well :)

My only gripe is the upgrade screen. My eyes. They bleed eternally. Tone down the neo :D

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Fun and well-made! The end game is tough, no more upgrades and miles to go...

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:10pm

good job

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 6:38am

The file size! It's so big! Also, the window is too big! =/
I like the font for the menus, though.

Croze says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Yeah I shouldn't have included all 3 music tracks in it, and the window size was an issue I thought I could solve easily but Java doesn't have image manipulation integrated already.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]