August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Amaze 10+

by necmelt2006 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Mazes! Mazes every where!!! Amaze 10+ is "a maze" (oh! ;) ) game where you have move the blue rectangle to the red one. The mazes are generated randomly. You begin with 10 secodes in the count down, every maze solved gives you +10 secondes for the next level. Each level has number of lines/columns. have fun! :)
control:
click on the blue rectangle and move to drag it.

no music at this moment :(, I didn't have much time :/

Credit:
Thanks to Laurent Gomila creator of SFML.
Thanks to MazeWorks for the algorithm to generate mazes http://www.mazeworks.com/mazegen/mazetut/index.htm

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#319Fun3.23
#471Overall3.14
#566Theme3.17
#610Humor2.15
#630Mood2.63
#807Audio2.00
#895Innovation2.49
#1110Graphics1.86

Comments

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:11pm

"OpenAL32.dll missing from your computer" What do you need installed to run this?

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Random generation is really awesome!

stenol says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Great little game ! I love it !

Skully says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:23pm

I'm assuming you also used Gosu?
You need to include "OpenAL32.dll" or else it won't run.
The generation part is really cool though

necmelt2006 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:29pm

@Jimanzium here you go http://www.mediafire.com/download/f6nvn3wn7t652vb/OpenAL32.zip put that next to the .exe, i always forget one or two .dll for my games sorry ^^', will update the link (if i can)
@gikdew yeah! thanks to MazeWorks http://www.mazeworks.com/mazegen/mazetut/index.htm for the algorithm. And now i realize that i forget to give credit.

BerdiNerdi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Overall a really nice little game :) Could get quite intense trying to reach the goals and seeing the time slowly run out as you're trying to make out the path :D Also, cool touch with the random generated levels, very nice job :)

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Great generation, the sfx are funny!

otresnjak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Fun to play and looks nice--really would benefit from some music though. If it was synched to the background color changing it would be mesmerizing.

zanzindorf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Sweet! I love this. The only thing that would have made it better was sound. I thought it had high replayability.

Nights57 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Love the color changing background, and a pretty fun little game. A few times it bugged up on me while the window was full screened(couldn't move the square anymore), but it ran fine minimized.

tigers says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:36pm

I laughed a good deal at the amazing countdown voice, especially the first two times when I was still trying to figure out the controls (it's more fun that way! ^_^) It's pretty dang hectic when you traverse down the wrong path!

Meep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:40pm

A very simple idea, but the random generation really made it awesome. :) Great job!

imef says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:45pm

The random generation works well! I also likes the 3, 2, 1 voices. ;)

redo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:37am

Very good game! It's really fun. I like how the mazes are generated,I can't pass level 9!
I hope you continue developing it, I would be great to play it with music and sfx.

kannas says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:42am

though it would benefit from some music, i enjoyed this game. the procedural generation of the maze was well done, and the idea of the game is nice. i would love to see a complete version of this game for tablets. really nice work :D

necmelt2006 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Thanks for all those comments, really encouraging. I will make an update with more voices :), music, and try to make a config file to change resolution (i think that changing window size is bug from sfml). Right now, i try to learn cocos2d-x, so i hope i can make it for smatphones and tablets one day, but not now since i'm learning :p

KristinnEs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:25am

Gotta love maze games :)

Joror says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:30pm

A nice simple maze-finder. Was surprised/amused by the voice audio. ;)

BipoleMoment says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:45pm

I thought this game was really brilliant. :)

I drew you fanart.
http://oi41.tinypic.com/15h1nh0.jpg

BenWhi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:43am

Not bad at all! I like how the levels were randomized. Kept my interest for a while. Good job!

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:55am

I like it, as I love mazes,
For me the random generation made the mazes sometimes realy hard or realy easy...
But nice controls anyway!

hbocao says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Great job on random generated mazes. Very fun and simple game. Mazes with timers are a mean combination hehe

plop says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 10:28am

Great, very innovative game mechanic! You're actually not limited by the speed of your character but by the speed of your brain! You could maybe revise the graphics, especially to make the walls easier to spot; making it easier to make decisions about where to go at a glance. Procedural generation is great, just sometimes it's quite impossible (but other than that it works well).

Sinuath says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 2:41am

I really enjoyed it, using the mouse to drag the character was very interesting. Took me awhile to realize though.

All in all i really enjoyed it, good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]