August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

0.1 Hertz

by ibilon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Turn out less good than I had hoped,
but at least I managed to finish it in 48h :)

Controls:
Arrow keys to move
Space to jump
Ctrl to activate
Esc to pause

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#383Humor2.58
#389Audio2.83
#467Theme3.27
#472Fun3.02
#511Overall3.10
#545Innovation2.98
#708Mood2.53
#888Graphics2.33

Comments

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:23am

Loved the way you did the tutorials.

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:29am

Very nice concept! It definitely needs more levels - it finished when I just started to feel the taste :) Do you plan to make a post-compo version?

ibilon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:44am

@diogo Thanks!

@dekart Thanks, yeah there's definitely not enough levels, I left the game design for the end and I run out of time, and making levels was way harder than I thought.
I'll probably will keep working on it yes.

nikkesen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Good difficulty. Good tutorials. Excellent mechanics. You did a great job.

Lizzip says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Interesting concept and well made in general

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Nice! :)
Lovely gameplay, I'd play more levels :)

sgehlich says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:55pm

I really like the idea and the game elements! Way to short though :(

Cosmologicon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Pretty good. I have to agree that the mechanics don't really get used to their full potential.

loxo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Nice game, I like the idea. More levels and faster movement would be nice.

Dioiminik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Good Game, interesting Concept :)

Kevlanche says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Very nice game. Although, like many others said, it could be longer (and more difficult). This felt like a tutorial for a good platformer.. but only the tutorial.

maxking1234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Great work, I really like the idea

Kevlanche says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Very nice game. Although, like many others said, it could be longer (and more difficult). This felt like a tutorial for a good platformer.. but only the tutorial.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:35pm

The gravity mechanic only felt relevant for the last couple levels. It's also basically VVVVV sans player control of the shifts. That adds a nice element of tension when you need to do things quickly, but also means a lot of standing there waiting for things to change.

the levels themselves weren't bad. I assume that you had more plans for those mechanics and ran out of time, which is unfortunate. I also quite liked the text in a silly kind of way.

grayhaze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:41pm

A nice simple platformer. Reminds me of a cross between VVVVVV and Manic Miner. The gravity inversion mechanic worked well, but 10 seconds seemed a little too long to wait sometimes.

Spiridios says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Pretty decent gravity platformer. Some puzzles that took the timing of the switch into account would be neat. As it is, I could mostly just get through a level before the timer ran out, and on the few that needed a gravity switch, I just ran to the point I needed to be and waited out the timer. Some tweaking of the run speed/jumping physics might be nice to make it feel smoother. I'd definitely play it as-is with more levels though, so you're not very far off.

Tegu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:38am

Quite nice platformer, but yea would need more levels. It felt like you had just introduced all the cool features but it ended instead. And most levels were doable without the using the gravity inversion, but yeah, level design is hard. :)
Found a funny bug: on maps with moving platforms, jump onto one and walk off it and you will move around like you were still on it but falling (poor explanation, try it yourself). Also the music starts playing again on top of the existing musci when the game is restarted after completion.

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:30am

loved the way you introduced the mechanics. very smoothly done! wish there was more to play.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:03am

Pretty awesome game, nice job! I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 compilation series if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=biBzDWmV3kc

Gabriel says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:21am

Congrats, it was fun! And OH YEAH, I WON!

I'd definitely go for a post compo version! I think the 10 seconds rule would match well with putting the player in a situation where his situation (platforms and spikes-wise) isn't so easy to understand. In that sense, the 10 seconds become like a countdown for him to figure out and try to run to a place where he'll be at an advantage (or at least not dead) when the gravity flips. Congratulations, this is a neat concept, I'd definitely come back for more if you did a 2.0 version! :D

Congrats on your game!

lucidlarva says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Pretty good. I didn't need to use any of the portals on the last level. Don't know if that was intentional.

Sep 7, 2013 @ 1:19am

Good start but feels like the controls need some work. He's a little too floaty/slow I think.

Twistedsnail says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 12:19am

That was really cool!

fferro234 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:57am

I really liked the music. The last level could have been tougher though. I didn't need to use any of the teleporters.

JonathanG says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:30am

Like others say, it's a nice idea but would be better if there were more puzzles that made use of the mechanic.

SamC says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Decent concept, nicely designed levels

Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Really nice game mechanic, and not too difficult. (In fact, I found it rather easy, but not enough so to be a waste of time.) The writing is pretty fun, too.

Not the most groundbreaking thing I've ever played, but very entertaining.

ibilon says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 7:59am

Results are out,
thanks everyone for voting!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]