August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10Secs

by g_o - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I JUST WANNA SAY: TRYING TO MAKE A LEVEL-BASED GAME IN 48 HOURS WITH 5 TYPES OF TASKS IS A BAD IDEA. XD LEARNED IT THE HARD WAY.

***********IF YOU'RE STUCK AT THE FIRST LEVEL**************
IF YOU GO TO THE HOUSE AND IT'S STILL COUNTING
JUST KEEP ON MOVING FARTHER UNTIL THE PLOT CONTINUES.
I AM SO SORRY ABOUT THAT.
***********************************************************

About the game
--------------------------
This game is basicly kind of mystery ploty game with a simple and short gameplay, as mentioned because of the lack of time.
Hope you'll still like it for its' environment and general mood and stuff.

Tools
------------------------------------------------------------
Built it with C++ and DirectX 9 so XP users can play it too.
Music and art by me.
Tools:
Visual C++ Express 2010, DirectX 9/10 SDK,
Audacity, a bit photoshop, the web pixlr, GIMP, MS Paint,Icon Pro (MS),Resource Hacker Portable.

Please don't copy materials and stuff from the game without giving credit. TNX.

Apology
-----------------------------------------------------------
My first time in LD.
I did put a lot of effort on making the mood and by so made the game shorter becuase a lack of time.
Till the mood is fully surrounding you- the game ends T_T.

Next time I'll try not to be so confidently slow.


Screenshots explained XD
---------------------------------------------------------
I Uploaded some screenshots.
The first is a screenshot from the game.
The seconds is a substation you might miss and I want you to see it so you won't say the whole city was just 3 types of houses, cause it's 3 types and a substation :D
The third is a heart that I thought should represent the 3 tries you get before the game restarts but I had no time so I just uploaded it.
The fourth is the game logo.
The fith is how I tried to think of ideas,it just looks fantasticly horrible XD!

IT WAS A LOT OF FUN!
TNX FOR PLAYING AND FOLLOWING!
*******************HAPPY LUDUM DARE! :)*****************

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#674Audio2.32
#800Mood2.43
#892Humor1.64
#900Graphics2.30
#937Theme2.69
#1004Innovation2.27
#1106Fun2.03
#1106Overall2.33

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:19am

I like what you've decided to do with the ten seconds. Good mood in this game too. :)

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:22am

Screen went black and started hearing jittered noisy music. Then it crashed. :/ I'm guessing that's not supposed to happen.

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:32am

Zuige: That's wierd : / I should have done more tests
I did try to make the right mood and forgot to fix bugs and add more levels. I am sorry, I wish I could fix it now.
Did you try the zip version or the Installation?
Thanks for playing
rustybroomhandle - Thanks :)

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:41am

Oh it seems I can actually upload a fixed version.
Well, I am going to do that.

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:11pm

OK FIXED THE GAME CRASH :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Great mood. The soundtrack is amasing!

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Thank you very much ^_^
Just me my cheap keyboard and audacity :D

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Pretty nice audio!

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:37pm

doonay21: Thank you so much !!

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Lol, you are so good making music! Love it!

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:11pm

gikdew: Thank you!!!

Thepattybeast says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Doesnt work:
-game goes to not responding at the press any key to begin screen pressing keys does not work
-nothing printed to console(when running game from command prompt)
--------------------------
-windows 8
-ZIP version of the game
-ran install.bat

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:35pm

@Thepattybeast:
try the installation, do NOT run from the cmd.
try compatibility mode.
if all fails I'll give you a windowed version.

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:41pm

OH and please first extract the game to some folder and don't try play it from the zip, so I could minimize the possible options for the problem.

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:32pm

nice entry

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Still had a game couldnt start error

TobiasW says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:03pm

See - I told you that you can do it! Good job with the music. The gameplay is a little lacking, but then again, plot and mood is more important with these kind of games. Oh, and: Congratulations on finishing your first LD entry! Happy Ludum Dare, mate!

TobiasW says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Oh, I forgot to mention: The game closed silently after Checkpoint 7. I read the rest of the story in the text files, but that's obviously not the same :/

Kragnir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Graphics keep glitching for me, right half of the screen seems to not update correctly when I play.

g_o says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:15pm

@Sh1rogane: Thank you so much
Jupiter_Hadley: I AM GOING TO MAKE A WINDOWED VERSION WITH NO EXTRA CODES OF COURSE JUST TRANSFORMING EVERYTHING TO A WINDOW!
@TobiasW: THANK YOU SO MUCH MAN!
I think the game closed silently because you failed 3 times
I'm sorry that there is no message about that! I just wrote it on the game over screen.
@Kargnir - Graphic bugs are about to get fixed thanks to the Windowed version I will release today.

g_o says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:14am

WINDOWED VERSION UPLOADED! I HOPE IT WOULD FIX THE BUGS!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:33am

Amusing. A bit different. I liked the art

I wasn't a big fan on the movement though.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Tried the new version, sadly it did not fix the graphic glitches.

g_o says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:09pm

namrog84: Thank you. totally agree about the movement, I had no time fixing bugs like : the enemies don't animate for some reason and the animation of the player sometimes has glitches...
Kragnir:
:( Sorry I'll try.

gre says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:47am

The installation fails...

g_o says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:50am

@gre try the zip version

Endurion says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Hard to judge it fairly, since it has some glitches. The right half of the background is missing for me (and since I've got Debug DirectX runtimes active flickers horribly between green and magenta).

After the phone call it said to get to the third house from the right. I went there and nothing happened?

The idea is a really good one though!

rejome says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Intersting idea, too bad it has so much bugs.

g_o says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Endurion: I AM HORRIBLY SORRY T_T
About the first level:
***********IF YOU'RE STUCK AT THE FIRST LEVEL**************
IF YOU GO TO THE HOUSE AND IT'S STILL COUNTING
JUST KEEP ON MOVING FARTHER UNTIL THE PLOT CONTINUES.
I AM SO SORRY ABOUT THAT.
***********************************************************

rejome: I know it's so sad T_T

MrBlade says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Sad in a way. Nice work. Fit the theme well. Good animations. Nice sounds. A little bit buggy but very good for a first entry! Keep it up!

g_o says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:23pm

@MrBlade:
Thank you soooo much :) !

g_o says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 6:39am

God I got good comments on the mood and music but ppl didn't rate it accordingly T_T

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]