August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Sustain

by jammy12789 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Enjoy the Game it is a little buggy... PLEASE READ THE FILES GIVEN... Source is in GMX(Game Maker Studio Format).

PLEASE READ POST AS THAT IS EXTREMELY DETAILED THAN THIS...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#302Humor2.73
#700Theme3.00
#814Mood2.40
#834Audio1.90
#891Overall2.70
#962Fun2.38
#992Graphics2.13
#996Innovation2.29
#1422Coolness39%

Comments

jammy12789 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Please No hasty Comments...

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:13am

Waaaay better than what I was doing at 13. Good job!

I'm glad to see that you're getting started into game making so (relatively) young. Keep trying and get better!

One thing that would help a lot: The instructions aren't very clear. It took me a while to figure out which way to go and what I was supposed to be doing.

Twistedsnail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:28am

I enjoyed the game, reminded me of my games when I was your age.

One word of advice, lose the install to play feature, it's nicer just to play from the folder.

jammy12789 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:57am

@Twistedsnail, Yes I tried to get rid of the installer but Game Maker Studio likes to do things you don't want it to do :P

jammy12789 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:58am

Btw Guys thanks for the Nice and Honest Critic. You help me improve! :P THX!

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Not bad, especially for only being 13 years old! :) Keep it up, you'll get better!

jammy12789 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Thank you! :P

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:20pm

I certainly didn't make games when I was your age so I'm quite impressed (and even if I did I don't think I would have had the guts to enter an LD). Keep on making this kind of stuff and you will be a Game Maker guru in no time!

As a long time GM user (oh gosh I just realized I started using it around the time you were born xD), I would advise you to progressively steer away from the drag and drop functions when you feel confident enough to *replace* them (first you replace, then you create your own solutions).

Game Maker Studio is now incredible and I'm pretty sure you will become better in no time! Keep it up!

By the way, how can GMS stop you from creating a standalone executable? o_O

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:32am

13?! Well done, that's very cool! Trust me, keep on making games like this and you'll be very successful in the future!

jammy12789 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:17am

Thanks Guys for the Positive Commments! :D

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Good job. Keep going, you'll improve in no time!

BenWhi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:11am

Hey, great job! This is a simple and fun little game! Keep it up and at this pace you'll be making AMAZING games in a couple years! Stick with it! 5 stars all around for encouragement :)

jammy12789 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Thanks Guys I hope you enjoyed Ludum Dare also!

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Quick GM tip: when you save the Windows executable, export as a .ZIP file instead of an .EXE - thus you get rid of the installer that everyone hates ;)

jammy12789 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Oh I was wondering how to get rid of that thanks for clearing that up my next game should be a .ZIP! Thanks! :D

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:31am

I enjoyed it!
I wasn't a big fan of the 'install to play' feature either. Would prefer to just unzip and play if possible.

Keep up the good work!

jammy12789 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Glad you enjoyed! :3

AlvaroH says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Well done!

X-0r says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Would be nice to have a marker or something to know which way to go, the sprites are basic, but neat ^_^

Too bad the game doesn't differentiate between "killed by terrorists" and "killed by mine", I actually walked on a mine on purpose to verify that :D

The "princess disappeared" reminds me a bit of the good old Super Mario series :D

Congrats on your submission!

jammy12789 says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Thanks guys. @X-0r I kinda ran out of time so I had to leave that I was about to fix it but time got to me. So I had to hurry up! Btw Glad you enjoyed!

Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:49am

Interesting game! :D also very cool! you are 13 and doing games? you are going to be the best bro! :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]