August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Clone Firefight

by RedPanda - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The core mechanic of game is that when you die or when 10 second timer gets to 0 you get to re-spawn, but on your place enemy spawns, clone of you and you gotta fight him!

To download from Google Drive, click on link and then hit Ctrl+S or File -> Download. You can also download it from gamejolt.com page of my game!

What I used in process of creation of game:
Engine: Unity Free
3D modeling: Blender
Drawing: Paint.NET
Sounds FX: SFXR
IDE: Visual Stuido 2012

I used this free addons to Unity:
A* Pathfinding: http://arongranberg.com/astar/

This is my first entry to Ludum Dare and I need to tell this was fun, exhausting but fun! Also 26th is awesome date to end Ludum Dare, as it's my birthday, I'm 18 now!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#774Audio2.10
#836Graphics2.42
#864Overall2.73
#872Fun2.53
#906Humor1.59
#1001Mood2.00
#1073Theme2.41
#1089Innovation2.09

Comments

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:30am

The game doesn't seem to fit into the theme that well, but it's surprisingly fun!

RedPanda says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:33am

@flamecow I wanted to make more of a 10 second mechanic in game than 10 second game, but I see the point indeed. Thanks for feedback!

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:13am

I like how it feels like old Quake or UT shooters. The ten-second life limit actually adds an interesting element to it, though I didn't really notice the impact of the clone mechanic.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:19am

The controls are smooth and the shooting mechanics are satisfying. I found the field of view to be a bit too wide.

Derbdale says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:07am

The theme doesn't fit too well, but it's a pretty fun game!

RedPanda says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:38am

@BMacIntosh the point is the more you die the more there are guys, but I think I didn't managed to get it just right, thanks for feedback in any case!

@nicotuason I chose wide FOV to add the game feel of older shooters like Quake and UT.

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:01pm

You really nailed the old shooter vibe, and the consistent graphics make it look pretty good. A seriously fun game overall! I'd say the ten second rule is enough to make it qualify for the LD :P

alwaysinbeta says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:06pm

I like the graphics and controls. Cool having the grenades. Fun!

MattySVN says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Very fun! Reminds me of Quake!

xrm0 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Entertaining. I got shot through the walls!

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:16pm

I like the level design but I think that field of view on the camera is too big. Also it seems that enemies are extremely acurate. Good work though!

DaggerHog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:21pm

I personally found the aiming to be a little too sensitive. Not much feedback going on whenever you're taking damage, too.

Good stuff overall, though. I would have preferred the grenade toss to be the right mouse button.

Erkberg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Fun little shooter. I enjoyed it, but the framerate went really low, when lots of enemies were in the level.

Diventurer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:14pm

The game gets really laggy after a while. I like the concept though.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:15pm

You get points for making an fps

dismedia says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:16pm

It reminds me quake I :) fast moving, wide fov, yeah :)

Supercannon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Takes getting used to, but pretty fun once you get the hang of it. Good entry!

aschearer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Impressive that you built this in 48 hours. Not exactly to my tastes though.

Integershift says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Okay game, needs polishing

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]