August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Emergency Stop

by agrdev - Jam Entry

Emergency Stop is an epic story about people surviving after the terrible global cataclysm...
Just kidding! :P
This game is pretty simple! Rotate the Earth during 10 seconds as fast as you can and you'll see an awesomeness :)

Controls:
Mouse wheel - rotate the Earth (scroll it as fast as you can!)

The main goal is to reach maximum score. Leaderboard is under construction by now. Put your score in the comments if you wish.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#18Humor(Jam)4.00
#79Fun(Jam)3.52
#158Theme(Jam)3.40
#165Innovation(Jam)3.28
#201Mood(Jam)3.16
#220Overall(Jam)3.27
#279Audio(Jam)2.88
#353Graphics(Jam)3.02

Comments

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:15pm

SPECTACULAR. SUBLIME. LOVED IT. CAPS LOCK MEANS I'M SHOUTING, SHOUTING MEANS I REALLY LIKED IT.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Simple but great style! :D Though you should probably keep in mind not all people have working mousewheels ;) I haven't really seen the mousewheel used as the only control in a game before haha. Also the particles could use some more effects... But otherwise cool idea

Jhelle says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Simple fun and elegant. Good job :)

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:33pm

I had way more fun with this than I think I should have. NICE!

stenol says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Lol. Very funny game !!

nilo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Hahaha, for the first time, I played with my mouse upside down like with a spring powered car! =)

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Lol, fast easy and fun :)

daOyster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:00pm

At first I was like, this is a simple game. Then 10 seconds was up and I died of laughter. The music was perfect and the game play was simple. It made my day hearing the people fling away at the end.

agrdev says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Thanks for feedback! Glad you enjoyed it! :)

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Short, sweet and hilarious. Think it's the first LD27 game I played that had humor in it. Good job!

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Hah. OK. That was cute. Well produced.

I wonder if this is an area where those gaming mice come in handy? I got about 4.5 mil

Paul Sinnett says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Great fun. Nice use of the mouse wheel!

Mr.Greenhat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:25pm

I love that it is such a simpel game. Good job!
I used the trackpoint to scroll at first, because I wasn't in reach of a mouse. If I do that, I don't have to do that much. It feels a bit like cheating I guess :P On the technical side, I can't seem to be able to see the whole screen when I run it on Ubuntu.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:34am

Good stuff! What you haven't accounted for is that I have a scroll wheel that can spin really fast for 5 minutes without any help from me :P

FireZenk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:38am

Wow! 2001 space oddisey for the bso, winner!

Spaceoff says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:43am

Haha... pretty amusing entry. Awesome work :D

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Looks very nice, sexy if I can say. :P

darkshadow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Simple concept, great execution.

Broxxar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:04pm

My highscore: 887,599,040

Great little game, lots of fun for something so simple and silly.

killmonday says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Nice idea =]

Broxxar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Had to give a few more tries: 1,677,561,472!

Get those leaderboards up ;)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:02pm

very simple yet so fun.

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:03pm

simple and yet so much fun.967,845,183

wombatica says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Most satisfying game ever. LOVE IT!!!

Sephiroth87 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:08pm

I don't seem to be able to finish this game, the timer reach 0, i see particles (people?) being launched from earth, but it just keeps spinning, and nothing else happens :(

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:27am

Each time the world stopped spinning I felt slightly weightless :)

agrdev says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:25am

Sephiroth87, just fixed this bug in the web version.

1fir3 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:56am

This is crazy :) i think you have to release iOS and Android version.....

UnixXNova says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:00am

Very fun minimalist game :)

Lashiz121 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Pretty damn good!!!

local minimum says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Woooo superb, fantastic and I just want to play it over again and again... does that make be a bad person?

Cryunreal says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:02pm

342,736,400 people away!)))

Cryunreal says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Vy iz tomska? daite svoi skaip)))

agrdev says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Cryunreal, kirill.mikhel

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:45pm

good job

blackotus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Very, very funny xD

Simple and effective.
Great work!

mortus says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Neat concept! And it would be not all that great if not the title of the game! :D

Btw, after I figured out what's the best strategy it was easy to achieve insane score of 41,168,740,000. Didn't know there's so many. :D

Zap says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Ha ha, I love this!
So simple, yet so good. Awesome use of mouse wheel. Perfect selection of assets (although a little bit of a shame that it appears none are of your own creation).
Brilliant!

Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:21pm

500k people thrown away. lol nice game argdev

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]