August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds of Love and Anger

by kcpunk666 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls: arrow keys and 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,0.

You play as a man trying to get his wife to his in-laws house. Your wife has 10 seconds of love. When you get hit, your anger meter rises. When your meter is full your wife loses 1/10 of her love every second (10 seconds of love). Get to your in-laws still in love and you beat the game.

If getting a 404, try refreshing! It all works fine for me.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#268Humor2.80
#548Audio2.57
#556Innovation2.96
#641Mood2.62
#664Graphics2.71
#758Overall2.86
#822Theme2.86
#925Fun2.45

Comments

Dotanukii says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:31am

I like the look of the city and the characters, The game is pretty interesting with the love and anger meters and its overall pretty interesting. good job.

mactinite says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:33am

The song sounds so familiar! hahaha

MrBlade says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:35am

Great! The graphics are awesome. Audio is nice. Can't wait to see what you have to make later.

Morgawr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Weird game, you must have been on acid when you made this, haha.

The theme felt a bit forced but nonetheless an interesting game.

Reicher says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Loved the background and background music!

olafurw says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Web link is 404'd

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Counting to ten as a mechanic is a great idea. I like your music!

Paul Sinnett says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Also, getting 404...

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Quite an interesting game. :)

immanuela says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:56am

I did chuckle at the end with "Congratulations, you still have a wife!"

I tried to use the count to 10 controls but I'm not sure that they made a difference.

I do like how you've made the wife able to follow the main character as you progress through the level.

kcpunk666 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:16am

@immanuela Thanks, The count to 10 controls work, but only if your hate meter is at max. If I didn't do that I felt you could stop every 2 seconds and and never be in any real danger of losing.

Jayjay says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:57am

Hah fun use of count to 10

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:05pm

its nice.

DaVince says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:08pm

"The zero key is 10."
This made me think I had to press 0 after mentally counting to ten, so I died on the first try. :P

Music and presentation on this are very good. I like the unique application of the 10 seconds theme. Gameplay was okay, fairly standard platformer fare I think! The wife getting hit should have done something too to make it a bit more interesting, perhaps.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Was pretty cool, I'm thankful there is a way to 'count to 10' ;) Awesome job!

kcpunk666 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:20pm

@DaVince I agree. Thanks!

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:01am

I enjoyed playing through this. The art style was pretty cool, and I liked swiping my fingers across the number keys... nice subtle use of the theme. I just hope there was a bit more to the game.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:32am

Visuals are pretty well done. Concept is a little silly. I had expected the couple to be making each other angry, not giant spinning-scythed-wheels-of-death, though..

kcpunk666 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:48am

@theholychicken I agree. I froze up on where to take it and get had to kick into do something mode. The original idea was to prevent the guy from hitting his wife because she would nag him every time he took "damage" from something. Then wondered If anyone thought domestic violence is funny anymore. lol. Thanks for the comment.

canvapps says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:55pm

hahahaha! it's cool!! it makes me remind of old school games when reaching perfections was not so easy!!
I just played until I finished the game with a perfect!

Thermite says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:35am

Very cool, and a great visual style! The pavement / sidewalk could have done with some markings, as a I found I had no frame of reference to judge the movement of the little gremlins. Or maybe that was the point!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:13am

I like the character designs! The concept was unique and did a good job of fitting the theme. The title screen and UI could use some work, and I wasn't a fan of the music.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:48am

Loved the art style, and the mechanic is pretty interesting. Also, very good reuse of only 2 types of obstacles to create varied challenges. I also felt the length of the game was right for the amount of content you had. Very well made.

mollymus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:24pm

The sound sounded somewhat broken to me? Like a strong buzzing killing my ears while the music was playing.. had to turn it down:7 Plus points for humor anyway!:D

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Scrolling and animation was super smooth, I like that. Also like the graphical style. Nice idea with the counting!

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Aha got quite into this but didn't really work out what the counting did for a while

ratalaika says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:00am

good job

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:11pm

don't do drugs just play this game ..... meaning u did great ;)

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:18pm

YAY! I still have a wife! :P
I love the whole rage-endurance bar, and the counting from 1 to 10 is very witty and brilliant.
I'd love it if you could develop these novel relations into something so much more than jumping over monsters and obstacles. Take this game further, it'll be great fun!

Tater_hater says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:03am

A fellow Construct-er, nice game!

Sep 11, 2013 @ 1:50am

This game was pretty interesting, and the use of theme is really awesome. I featured this game in my LD27 compilation video, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/jm5J5gdV81o

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]