August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

exposure

by zillix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

SOL's light beats down harshly on the desert.
few things can survive its glare for more than a few seconds, outside the comfort of the shade.

NYX raiders are coming more frequently.
a stranger is collecting the orbs they leave, and ascending the desert ruins.

and through it all, the metagolem slumbers, its ancient powers dormant.

--OBJECTIVE--

explore. discover what to do with the orbs.
if you get confused or impatient, check out the hints!

there are three possible endings


--CONTROLS--

LEFT / RIGHT / UP / DOWN - move and climb
SPACE - jump
Z - drop item

carried items will be altered after 10s exposure to sunlight.


--INSPIRATION--

proteus, shadow of the colossus, journey.
the first picture in this post:
http://www.zivpesso.com/2013/08/bubble-mania-backgrounds-storm8-work.html


--UPDATE--

uploaded a post-compo version!

-most climbing bounds are more forgiving
-screen fades from black when restarting
-various text changes
-npcs that referred to orbs will say something different when their orb has been placed
-pretty html
-added depth layers to trees and short pillars

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#9Mood4.13
#11Graphics4.45
#15Overall4.06
#26Innovation4.06
#58Audio3.62
#178Fun3.44
#436Humor2.45
#730Theme2.97

Comments

Ice says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Really really good grafics =D
you should put the objective more clear and the game can be a lot fun!

Great job man!

rylgh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:14am

Wonderful presentation!

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:15am

Walking into the expanding pixelated desert intrigued me! If you continue to develop this, have you considered what's coming in the next level?

Loren says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:03am

cool idea, nice audio, looks good!

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:03am

This is totally freaking brilliant, except...just what am I supposed to be doing? I'm intrigued but confused.

Kortuga says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:05am

Really neat execution, very unique

megashroom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:08am

Fun, beautiful, and mysterious.
The graphics were brilliant, and the story was intriguing.
All of the endings were great too.
4/5!

Simulacrum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:16am

The game looks great, very unique presentation.

Orava says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:05am

Easily my favourite so far. Great job.

Mase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:10am

Very beautiful technique.

Ysty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:03am

Love the look, and good use of the theme!

Jayjay says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Very cool, great job with the graphic style too =D

Latency says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Absolutely love the art style, nice game, was fun and very different.

rasmusrn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:39pm

It's like Outrun (old driving game) meets Journey (thatgamecompany). What's not to like? :D

Great work! You can be proud to have made something that truly stand out.

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Nicely done!

skarab says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Cool one, lot of things to discover.

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Fantastically well made. I adore the graphics in this and spent quite a while playing this :)

recursor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:18pm

I didn't see the theme in this one much except perhaps in the suns ability to charge/burn things. I love the pixelized graphical style you have going here. The 2D/3D world is quite nice! I enjoyed exploring it.

aherbez says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:15pm

beautifully done. the pseudo-3d is really great, and the overall mood is intriguing and fun. great game

Volute says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:47pm

You really made something very unique !

sebb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:35pm

This is really good use of flash and stage3d, i love the graphics!

jwolf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:08am

Very interesting and stylish. Well done!

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:36am

It's lovely. I like it.

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Very nice! Cool idea and great art style.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:09am

Ive never seen a game like this before. I really like it, made me think.

Vavassor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:34am

Really fantastic art and concept! I especially liked the perspective and the little details like the footprints in the sand and such. The theme wasn't incorporated super well but other than that I can't think of much to complain about. Great work!

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:35am

Really cool thing, I love the use of 2 sprites to give the 2d a 3d feel!

borden says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:17am

This deserves to get into the top tep.

ericdpitts says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:22am

Best entry I've played so far, I can see this easily being one of the best of the compo. Awesome art, awesome music (especially the music changing when in shadow), good story even! Great job, I love it.

GFM says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:58am

This can be done in flixel without completely killing the CPU? I'm amazed... :O

Nice and interesting game. It felt a little too slow for me, but I can see it as part of the game, part of the feeling of a long journey. :)

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:35am

Excellent game! It goes on the list of favorites. I will replay this game several times. Please rate my game!
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=5288

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:44am

Amazing game. There's so much to discover, and it's all very mysterious. The music and graphics fit perfectly. My favorite entry so far!

FunByJohn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:49am

Coolest game of the entire jam. I mean I'm not actually sure yet, I haven't played them all, but this is really flippin amazing.
The way the entire level stretches into the horizon like that is something I've never seen done before, and it felt epic to be walking towards the metagolem like that - it gave it a really good build up.
I managed to get all 3 endings, finding all the black orbs (and keeping them black) was challenging, and really gave strength to the "10 seconds in the sun" mechanic - the first time I played the game I thought the sun mechanic was tacked-on and unnecessary, but the NYX ending really validated it :D
This game is completely innovative, unlike anything I've played :D

BerdiNerdi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Absolutley fantastic game! The visual presentation is amazing, that style of graphic is very awesome, well, you executed it brilliantly! I won't spoil too much for others, but the way you incorporated the 10 second play into one of the endings was absolutely brilliant. I also got drawn very much into the world, and the story became intriguing and had mystery to it :) Nice job!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:48pm

What a unique game with interesting camera. I loved the mood. Nice job.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Amazing camera perspective :D

rezoner says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:01am

Astonishing perspective! Reminds me of Total Eclipse for C64. Great visuals and idea.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:32am

Nice game. Loved the pseudo-3D. The objective of the game seemed a bit confusing at first. I think the player should be able to understand whats going on without reading the hints. But overall a solid game. Great job for 48 hours :)

truiton says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:00am

A unique gameplay, 3D movement in a 2D environement, i like it! :)
Did you intend to develop it more?

Aurel300 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:15am

(spoilers) Very nice! It would be fun if you could get all dark orbs to awaken the golem and make him attack the Solians.

Enjoyed the pseudo-3d too.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:55am

Very impressive visuals

Ithildin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Wonderful game. Fun, really polished and immersive. Congratulations, it's one of the best entries I've seen so far.

zatyka says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Hey Zillix. I always make sure to play your ludum dare entries. As usual, I found your game to be very interesting, and made sure to replay it to get each possible ending. You did a really nice job of creating your own little world in the game, and when the golem finally comes alive, it's quite exciting. The movement and jumping mechanics worked out well, and the graphics were nice too.

As others have said, the objective isn't too clear in the beginning of the game. I'm not saying that isn't a bad thing for the player to have to figure it out, but I can see why others may have wanted a more clear path laid out.

The only thing I would suggest (and this is getting a little nitpicky) is to possibly change the music when the golem comes alive. I found it to be a little "gameshow-y", and some more epic music would add to the excitement of it coming alive. Overall, I loved it!

Keep up the good work. I'll be looking forward to your LD28 entry.

Unept says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Wow, so beautiful. Love the art, the story, the game mechanic, the game title and intro to controls, everything. Only feedback would be that maybe players would be confused about what to do, but I wouldn't want to take away from the intrigue of exploring and trying to figure out what to do on your own. Well done.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Truly awesome. Congratulations !

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:54pm

good job

leafo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:40pm

I love these graphics. Really great atmospheric game too. Awesome job

M.O.U says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:59pm

nice pixel art! I like the perspective! Good innovation!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Best thing about this was easily the way the perspective worked. The gameplay was too much work, and too little fun, at least after the first round.
Unlocked 2/3 endings, and was pretty disappointed with the second one I unlocked.
Also, the theme was not very present.
I did like the exploration part and the graphics a lot though!

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:10pm

This is really cool, rated this one very highly. Love the pixel art.

ddionisio says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Wow, this game is really atmospheric. I love the perspective, it really adds to the immersion. The art is good! Great use of the theme as well, it fits perfectly. Also nice touch on the music when you hide behind shadows.

The screenshots doesn't do justice!

I actually started to understand the objective as I talk to the desert people. I just instinctively collect those glowy orbs :P Plus the fact that the golem stands out in the distance really pushed me forward to check it out.

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Gotta love the 2D/3D effect! Game is more complex than it first appears and that's really nice. Didn't do the 3 endings but it's a really nice touch, and a surprise your made it in 48h, wow.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:55am

Wow! That was one amazing game! I absolutely love the graphics and the perspective.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:03am

Cute game, loved it so much! I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 compilation video series, if youd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/7EzKbFuvC2A

Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:05am

Looks great and I love the perspective too. The music and sound that accompanies it work really well. Love the little touches like footprints etc but I found it a bit too unclear as to what was happening.

pereubu says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:14pm

wow, really nice and polished job D:

Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:17pm

This is so ambitious and cool!

Awesome pseudo-3D, you had a fantastic goal and you went through with it! You rock! 5/5 innovation 5/5 fun!

blackotus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Oooh, I like this so much!
I love the atmosphere, and how you piece together the world and it's history by the scenery and talking to the other characters!

I really like the graphics, and how the sun is always looming above you - really let's you know just how important it is to these people.

This is a great game and I would love to see it grow beyond the LD.

Awesome work, congratulations!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:03pm

It magnific one! Summer is coming) Sun shine brightly) Golem die over and over time!

magicdweedoo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:11am

this is super cool

superfoonly says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:38pm

That was pretty cool

pabeleira says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Nice!

jujule says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:00am

Wow. Fantastic entry, both polished and fun. I like the vertical format.
I never played any of the games you give as inspirational for this work but the background story made me think of Philip K. Dick.

jomomomo says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Wow - fantastic. Really really good exploration game.

murilo says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:07am

Even though I wasn't sure of what I was doing, it was great! Keep it up, man! And make sure the goals are clear or something!

Ravetcofx says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:10am

Amazing game, very unique style and story, 8/10

Pierrec says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:40am

This is fantastic. It officially became my favorite entry!

BNeutral says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:35am

One of the best LD games I've played. Kind of surprised that what I consider the best ending required the least effort.

Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:05am

Fun idea!

bluberry says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:49am

Absolutely gorgeous, unique, and thoughtful. I really enjoyed the experience of playing and reflecting afterwards. There's much to say about it. I posted a review/gameplay video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xSG7qZN21uc

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Love graphics and pseudo-3D visual!
Climbing buildings and sculptuer is relly fun! :)
Awesome atmosphere too. :)
I discovered 2 endings.

paulmcgg says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Ah! I forgot to rate this. <3 Easily one of the best LD games I've ever played. Really unique voice (the perspective is great) and full of presence. Rocks.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Nice mood and good execution :)

michail says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Amazing game, really original! Although I couldn't get the 3rd ending.

Capro says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Nice little game. I like it! :)

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 9:02am

You really succeeded in creating an mysterious universe giving to each second of the game a unique mood, and that's wonderful. (I liked a lot the wind blowing the sand to tell us we are too far).
The perspective 3D is awesome, and regarding sounds, both SOL and NYX themes are adequate.

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 5:39pm

beautiful game! i didn't think it was confusing at all; your instructions made the objective pretty clear and the rest is exploration and interaction. good use of dialogue and gameplay to tell the background and story.

BadgerPriest says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:09am

The graphics are amazing, and the gameplay is interesting. Well done!

euske says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:14am

I really liked the pseudo-3D control. Great job.

Exergy says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Really good entry!

Sestren says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 1:46pm

I love the look and feel of this game. The music changing when you're in shadow and the setting really add a lot. I had to play through it a second time before I understood what was going on, but even that, the goal is fairly easy to pick up. Great entry!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Excelent application of the theme, for something done in 48 hours it has a very solid universe and a very engaging narrative. The fact that it has multiple endings adds so much to the experience, top-notch.

Mekuri says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 3:23pm

This game is awesome. There's really a nice mood in this game. It would have been nice with a bit more instruction though, but apart from that, this game is very beautiful and the mood is brilliant!

imef says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Great game! The graphics turned out really well!

kannas says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 7:00pm

nice plot, good use of npc, right music for the job and the art is impressive. gotta love this game :D

piper82 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 7:52pm

pure brilliance. i hope you make full game out of this and that makes you not worry about money for the rest of the life so you have time to make more awesome games :)

Katamori says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 9:02pm

I can't see the theme. Outstanding in every other aspects, though.

piper82 says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 6:57am

Every object except purified orb can only last 10 seconds in the sun.

panurge says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Beautiful. The graphics, sound and gameplay are all simple but elegant and they combine to create a mood which is more than the sum of its parts. I loved every moment of playing this - one of my favourites, for sure.

FireZenk says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Well... nice graphics, but I don't find the theme

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:54pm

How did I miss this game at the beginning? Just saw someone mention it in a "top games" list - so awesome!

X-0r says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Loved the different endings (btw, aren't there 4 of them?...)
The camera should be able to "zoom out", it was hard to see sometimes, if you were "behind" a building.
Btw, I didn't really find any "excess" pearls. Also, it's funny that the black ones (and the shadows) only exist to give the game a bad ending. :D

Didn't really "get" your theme reference, until I checked the description and actively searched for it while rating ^_^ I think it's great that you handled it that way!

Your synth reminded me a bit of Faster Than Light, but that might be just me somehow connecting that. Speaking of which, would you mind telling me the name of your DAW / instruments?

Jiggawatt says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:22pm

I love the style in this, stands out.

ravine says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Fun game, I really enjoyed the art style.

manuq says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Ohhh! I love it! Exploration is a big concept to consider in games. Thanks to zillix to post it, otherwise I wouldn't have noticed it. Glad to vote it now, just three hours left.

Keith Evans says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:06pm

very nice world building for a 48 hr project. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]