August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dirty Rotten Seconds

by siat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You show up to your duel and it turns out the other guy brought 10 seconds with him. Beat all 11 of 'em to win.

Click on circles of the same color to win. Make sure you get to them before the enemy gun has a chance to!

If there are no moves left, you lose.

Should work on Chrome, Firefox, and Safari. It works on mobile browsers, too, but you'll probably need a stylus to play. I haven't tried it on IE.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#237Audio3.12
#272Graphics3.38
#397Innovation3.18
#417Mood2.90
#458Humor2.41
#516Fun2.97
#548Overall3.06
#700Theme3.00

Comments

bugninja says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:35am

I like where it's headed. I'm pretty sure I got 6 in a row, and they were all selected, but I didn't win - so maybe a little bug there. I like the cross between puzzler and action game!

Infernal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:37am

sat at loading forever...:(

raincole says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:40am

The 4x4 level is as hard as hell... harder than the final one

gameXcore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Sweet little game, although some variation would have been nice, I liked it!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:20pm

It doesn't start on Firefox, you might want to note this :)
I got it to start in Chrome and I must admit it was fun! I like the graphics as well, simple but effective, they totally give a mood to the game. Just one thing bothered me: the AI started playing before I was done reading the rules, so I missed a few levels because I wanted to get what I had to do before starting.
Still a cute little game!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Really fun and original, good and simple desing.

siat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Sorry about Firefox, guys! I updated the description above and I'll check it out tonight. Anyone know if the "allowed to port things after the deadline" rule applies to browsers? I'd assume so...

reostra says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:20am

Never finished loading for me: Firefox 21.0.1, Windows 7

siat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Okay, should work on Firefox now. (I needed to change my .htaccess to serve the proper mime types for audio.) If you tried before and it's still not loading, please try clearing your cache and refreshing. Thanks for your patience, everyone!

@GSM Productions: sorry, that's a bug. I'd fix it, but...

dlowe says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:43am

I think there are some bugs with resetting the game between rounds -- definitely seemed like I lost instantly a few times.

Really impressed with the music, and the overall polished feel. And fun!

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Will post video review when ready.

Ithildin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Simple yet challenging (the smaller dots felt real small ^^U), fun and polished. Great job!

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:10am

Video review at: http://www.twitch.tv/n0_named_guy/c/2835491

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:55am

Fun game, liked the take on seconds. Felt pretty polished. Only annoying thing was that one time my match started and the other guy already had shot three of the circles

Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:55am

Love the Artwork & the Music :)

Integershift says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Okay game, the last guy was very challenging

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:43am

The last level was really fun.
I had a lot of trouble with the level of the small man since we almost always took the same color.
I liked the way you use the theme also, 10 seconds ^^

ethankennerly says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:36am

Aiming and clicking faster than the opponent alerted me. If you continue to develop this, have you considered clarifying when I had shot a circle first?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]