August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds to Earth

by EmptyFlash - Jam Entry

***Requires Java***
Double the .jar file to launch

Defend the earth in this fast paced top down shooter and get power ups as go.

Press W, and S to move toward the mouse
Press A, and d to strafe
The arrow keys also do the same functions
Click the mouse to shoot

POWER UPS
*Standard Gun
*Machine Gun
*Flamethrower
*Lightning Gun

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#88Fun(Jam)3.48
#255Audio(Jam)2.95
#269Overall(Jam)3.16
#298Mood(Jam)2.89
#299Graphics(Jam)3.23
#484Theme(Jam)2.64
#527Innovation(Jam)2.32
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

LionelJitro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:53am

Nice take on the genre.

Cool use of the theme, quite an addicting game.

borden says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:52am

Pretty fun!
Nice graphics.

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:12am

Loved the upgrades!
The "next wave in ten" however seems really unimportant, but whatever: nice graphics!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:35am

Hey cool space game. Need a little bit of polish on the controller but overall, nice game with cute graphic !

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:35am

Fun game, I didn't really move from earth the whole time. Loved the flame thrower

ghostmaple says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:17am

Before I started up the game, I thought that control scheme was going to be awful. After playing it...neat. Took a little getting used to, but I like it. Got that flamethrower/plasma gun upgrade just in time!

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:25am

Maybe need a mechanic to encourage moving away from the Earth sometimes? Seemed like the controls went weird and seemed to stick, sending me off in one direction and hard to get back?

MrRoboman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:25am

Good job. Loved my flame thrower!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Great game! cool glowy coloring effect, and simple but polished gameplay. My score: 69600.

I friggin loved the flamethrower lol.

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:08am

Mac version doesn't seem to run. I open the jar, and the frame of the game flashes up a couple times (pure white) and then nothing.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Nice take on the theme! The game is fun and looks really nice. However, there needs to be an incentive or something to move away from the Earth otherwise I see no point to move away from it.

Makio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:16am

Good SF atmosphere. But my score is quite low ... because of mac version?

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:27am

Non traditional controls are a little hard to get used too. I thought the earth healthbar was part of the level. Should have had that off to side/hud somewhere else

It was fun and good!
keep it up!

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:11pm

This damn lightning! I was doing so well with the flamethrower...

motty says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 1:53am

Great little game. Bit hard for me. Died a lot. Fun though. Will play again. Nice one. Thanks for this.

manuq says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Nice space shooter :) Everything was OK. I couldn't advance many floats, but I will definetely come back to this.

jwolf says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 12:54am

Pretty solid shooter, with decent power-ups. I didn't see any good reason to move away from the Earth though (probably need drops of some kind?)

Sep 16, 2013 @ 2:59pm

This game is really addicting! I like it loads. I featured this game in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tvnhwc_j5Mo

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]