August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Necromancer

by sam1373 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my entry for LD27. This is a semi-strategic game about resurrecting the dead and destroying buildings. You will see "how to play" when you launch the game.

Note: I did not have time to implement pathfinding, so if you want to attack one unit with a crowd, you'll need to use your micro-management skills.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#492Innovation3.05
#587Fun2.89
#617Humor2.14
#701Audio2.26
#718Overall2.91
#759Mood2.47
#789Graphics2.50
#1009Theme2.56

Comments

elementz123 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:20am

I get a "msvcp100d.dll is missing" error when I try to run your game.

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:46am

I love the atari style graphics! Couldnt figure out what I'm supposed to do though. :/ My mouse got really slow and laggy inside the window for some reason as well.

Jhelle says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:51am

Missing msvcp100d.dll so can't try out your game :(

RandomM00 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:52am

Failed to start: missing MSVCP100D.dll
It sounds like you compiled with debug on, according to the internet. I presume I need to install VS to get the debug dll, which I don't have time for. Sorry.

sam1373 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:54am

I think I fixed the thing you all are talking about

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:29am

Haha like this genere, pretty sweet for 48 hours and using C++ and opengl makes it even sweeter :)
Good job!

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:50am

Very nice game mechanic :)

manabreak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:50am

I'm getting the same MSVCP100D.dll error. Sorry. :/

sam1373 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:55am

I'm going just going to add MSVCP100D.dll to the zip...

sam1373 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:56am

Done.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Damn, this game is fun! I really enjoyed it - I will definitely be playing it again. I like how you decide how powerful your skeletons/zombies are, based on how long you do the ritual.
This is definitely one of the better games.

Clavus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Nice game. Controls could be a bit better, especially the camera was a bit annoying. The 10 second revive thing got kinda tedious after a while, maybe you should made it an area effect instead of 10 seconds per body.

KristinnEs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Interesting concept. My mouse cursor disappeared when the game ran and I couldnt figure out what to do, even with the "how-to-play" at the start.

sam1373 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:14pm

FYI, the mouse cursor in the game looks like a dark grey square.

cafeine says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Missing MSVCR100D.dll this time (adding it to the zip should work IIRC). Will check back later, this looks interesting!

sam1373 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:29pm

I added MSVCR100D.dll to the zip, but in case it still doesn't work, the quickest soulution would be to just install visual studio redistributable package.

sam1373 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Which can be found here: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/confirmation.aspx?id=5555

cafeine says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:35pm

It works, and it's very good! Nice tension between taking the time to raise strong zombies and avoiding the order's attention.

A suggestion: using WASD to pan the map is a bit unwieldy. Maybe add an option to use middle mouse click + mouse movement to pan the map?

elementz123 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:54pm

It works now for me. Overall pretty fun. It took a little bit for me to figure out what was going on at first, but once I did it started to become fun.

Kwrky says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:34pm

I like the control and ideas, felt the summon of 10s was a too long (I know its the theme though...).

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Fun game! I liked the graphical style a lot.

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Fun little graphics, I didn't really understand it...

sam1373 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Just read the tutorial text that appears when you run the game...

DY says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:31pm

It takes me a while to figure out what (and how) to do something.

TheBlueRage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:05pm

This was a fun attempt at an RTS. I know RTS's are hard in this short amount of time, so I'm actually really impressed. I gave this high ratings because I can see where you were going with it, and given more time, I think this could be sweet! Nice job :)

markengley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Love that you did an RTS in the time you had. Think the map was a bit spread out - would have worked just as well with the whole thing on one screen and everything moving slower. Also I really wanted a "select all army" button. The (non) pathfinding style was fine I thought - didn't cause any problems. Really nice little entry overall.

moonmagic says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:10pm

I love my skeleton army so much. I LOVE this game when my skeletons are all surrounding something and just punching it until it falls down. Whenever I have to move my necromancer I am annoyed, since he refuses to move onto bodies. Maneuvering him next to a bunch of stacked up bodies is very much a bother. I would also have liked to see something like push scrolling with the mouse; generally simpler controls. Juggling everything with the order around leads to lots of piles of bones. :(

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:54am

"File Belongs to Non-Validated Account.
The resource you are trying access belongs to an account that has not yet been validated

Still have questions, or think we've made a mistake? Please contact support for further assistance."
Cant download it :/

sam1373 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:34am

Just verified it

Laelien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:16am

Excellent ! I mean it !

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Pretty interesting idea behind it,
although the massive spread on the unit can be a bit annoying at times, but pretty neat overall

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Really like the game idea and the gameplay.
Graphic style is simple but effective.

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Ambitious idea for a jam! Cool ideas, could have used more polish on controls, camera, etc.

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:22am

good job

Pebsie says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:28pm

A fairly nice idea and well made.
Has little to do with the theme, however.

udo says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:00pm

I installed the C++ runtime, but the game still won't start. There's just an empty window...

shard123 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:39am

Loved the idea, moving around the view was a bit slow but I really enjoyed the game!

SmudgedCat says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 4:03pm

I couldn't really get into this. Moving units and the camera around seemed quite awkward.

jwolf says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 12:24am

Pretty fun! Interesting trade-off between quantity and quality, given the time constraints.

01rafael says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:56pm

interesting setting, nothing about 10sec though
gameplay is playable, graphics are great

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]