August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Boulder Runner

by tinfoilboy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The objective of the game is simple, you must complete 5 levels within 10 seconds while also not being crushed by a boulder. You may also collect Doogle Coins as score. Share your score with friends, but most of you guys will get the high score really quickly.

About the main character, the reason he walks really weird is because of him getting squished by a boulder along with his arms which needed amputating. (or it could be the choppy method of modeling I did).

Controls:
A and D: Move Left And Right.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#582Humor2.19
#760Audio2.14
#766Fun2.68
#822Graphics2.45
#966Overall2.59
#968Mood2.11
#1021Innovation2.24
#1042Theme2.48
#1528Coolness33%

Comments

Snurf says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Fun! Liked it. Cute Character :)

tinfoilboy says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 5:58pm

thanks!

Tork says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Nice and easy, like it!

tinfoilboy says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Thanks!

Conflei says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Haha, nice. I used the same tools except Blender.

tinfoilboy says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Thanks, and lol yeah those are my everyday tools.

dcolgan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:40am

This is a funny little game. I like it. I feel like if you polish this some more you will have a fun little twitchy game on your hands. It just seems very fun to me. Super job for 48 hours!

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:25pm

i enjoyed it, would love to see it more polished and dying should let you restart the current level!

great work though

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Cool! :D But I'm not a fan of the Default blue background :P

ddionisio says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Pretty fun runner game, it's more relaxed than stressful. I don't know why, but the character freaks me out :P Minor issue: no way to back out of the about page :P

pereubu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:27pm

cute :3

tinfoilboy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Yeah, the about page I forgot the button and didn't realize until I put it up. And thanks for all the feedback, guys!

tinfoilboy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:54pm

b.t.w. would the absence of a button on the about page count as a typo error?

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:47pm

I wouldn't worry about the lack of button on the about page. I bet the amount of people that will actually click on the about button won't very high and they'll figure it out.

I liked the graphics a lot. I like the game but one thing that really bugged me and ruined the experience was I felt I was constantly clicking the continue button. When you are using the keyboard to play a game constantly having to switch to the mouse is a pain. Anyway can't you just assume the player wants to continue when they finish a level?

The font with timer on was pretty small. As ten seconds was the theme you could have made it more prominent.

tinfoilboy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:55pm

I'm glad you liked it! Yeah the continue button was just for saying "Oh, if you want to not continue you don't have to". Granted I could have put the continue button mapped to a button. The font is just Arial because I don't know if I can use a site like 1001freefonts also I don't know how to make a .ttf. But I'm glad you liked it!

RoseNinja says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:45pm

nice game, enjoyed playing it good work

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Probably the best run on any character I've ever seen, ever ;) Fun game, but I wish the camera was placed a little higher and then angled down a bit. As it is now, it can be very difficult to see the path past the characters exceptionally large head :)

tinfoilboy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:13pm

lol, yeah. the camera was a bitch and a half seeing as how i had to make it follow the player and i'ed never attempted that before.

Zap says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:04am

The character creeps me out a bit :/
The idea is solid enough, but it's hard to feel in control because most of the time you can't see. It seemed like chance that I made it to the end of each level.
Maybe this could be improved by making the camera higher and the controls less slippery?

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:44pm

I love the sound he makes when he collects coins

Codexus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Nice little game, I couldn't really see where I was going but it wasn't too hard anyway.

Jacob123 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Nice little game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]