August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


Back to Browse Entries

Run, Panda, Run!

by Erkberg - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Run, Panda, Run! - Tense conditions" is a top-down shooter featuring a 10 second timeframe, upgrades and a mad, cat-slaying panda on the run. The game could use a lot more polishing, but I'm still very proud of it and I think it's pretty fun. Enjoy!

Tools used: Construct 2, Inkscape, Photoshop CS5, bfxr, iNudge, Audacity

Downloads and Links




Jayjay says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:45am

Great to see another Construct 2 game on here! =] There's a Ludum Dare thread on the Scirra forums you can throw this in as well if you haven't yet!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:51am

Solid foundation!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Solid entry all around! Nice job!

It was very easy to miss the cash items when cats are coming from left though, perhaps the cash could fly forward a bit?

Erkberg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Thanks for the feedback! That's a good idea, it should solve that problem.

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Man, those cat sound effects made this game so much better. I was irritated with how slowly the panda shot, but the upgrade system really helped out a lot. Really enjoyable game.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Excellent. 5 stars for Audio.

mpath says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:09pm


Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Good work!

fdevant says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:22pm

:( I like cats.

Paul Sinnett says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Nice. The shooting seemed remarkably accurate. The inertia on the panda made it difficult to control though.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:28pm

I made it to the last level but couldn't beat the boss with the maxed out panda. I was actually pretty disappointed. But good game, anyways.

tigerj says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:34pm

This game was really hard at first. I really wish I didn't spend all my bamboo on multi shot because I was hoping it would fire at an angle instead of 2 bullets in the same direction.

I had fun playing this please keep up the great work

Erkberg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Thanks for all your feedback! The meow-sound is my voice recorded and I thought it would really annoy people. ^^
And I like cats too, but it's really about time someone stops their dominance.
I will probably get rid of the inertia in a future version, it really is pretty unnecessary.
The boss is supposed to be hard as hell, but beating it only gives you the title of "Pandaren Brewmaster", which might be just as disappointing to some as not beating it at all.
Multishot does fire multiple projectiles at an angle from level 3 on.

RoyBatty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:12am

More than 60 pounds of droppings within 24 hours. I keep playing for the fun facts.

-thatwhichis, team RoyBatty

domrein says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:49am

You have convinced me that games ARE art.

tigerj says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:41pm

I'm kinda addicted to this game.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Sweet game. I can see you really put some effort in it with the shop mechanic etc. Also loved the panda facts! :)

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Ridiculous... but I enjoyed it quite a bit. It had me hooked for a lot longer than I would have guessed. The game could definitely use polish, but you have a really nice, enjoyable prototype here. Very nice job.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Oh no. The poor kitties! I played for a while, it's cool you had an upgrade system in there. Loved the random facts

Blue Steel says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:12pm

I can't play this i only have one arm .. can't use keyboard and mouse at the same time..

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Quite nice, I liked the random panda/cat facts

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Hah, nice fun game. Reminds me of Rogue legacy a bit. Though i had some confusion with hourglass, i thought its just an icon telling me that i run out of time, and not a pickup :)

tokw says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Great game very well done and top job on the upgrade system
idk if its just me though i couldn't get most of the bamboo on the left also took a while to realise that was the currency a symbol might help

lazyeels says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Good work, big cat fan though, so cringed every time I put a cap in one. I like the extra touches like the shop and check points, as well as the interesting facts sprinkled here and there. Awesome job for 48 hours!

Erkberg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Thanks again to everyone who played and commented. It really makes me happy to read about you enjoying the game.
I will make the bamboo fly out a little from a corpse in a future version, it should be easier to collect then. Also, the symbol is highly temporary.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:08pm

The basic foundation is fun. I like the upgrade system. Could do with some more polish in the presentation. I feel bad shooting cats though :(

onzephyr says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:08am

nicely made. played well and I kept tying just to see more random facts.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:45pm

good job

canvapps says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:24pm

hahahahaha pandas with guns! nice idea xD
I definitively love simple games that challenge the player, and this is one of those.
Nice work!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:13am

I'm a panda with a gun killing cats...everything is alright :D

Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:52am

That was cute and addicting xD ... Poor kitties though, they still MEOW~

xrm0 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:17pm

In the intro, you can move the panda and the body will move, but the arm holding the gun stays fixed in the initial position

AlexFili says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 5:45pm

The game looks quite simple but actually has a lot of complexity buried within. The different upgrades offer the player different ways of building up their character and the enemies are quite varied in terms of AI and attacks.

I love the random facts and the 'ow' noise that the enemies make when they are shot. Definitely one of my favourite Ludum Dare games. Brilliant job!

motty says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 6:12am

Much more fun than I was expecting after my first ten deaths. Nice one :)

Urfoex says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:40am

Poor cats...

You must sign in to comment.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]