August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Richard Was Afraid Of The Dark

by Atmospherium - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey,
Thanks for the feedback so far guys. This is my first time attempting to create a game, so I'm glad that the response has been this positive so far.

A few notes:

1) Concerning glitches - It sounds as though a few people are falling through the floors on a couple of the levels with larger drops. I've added the ability to reset a level (simply press the R key). This should minimize the impact of the bug while not altering gameplay in any significant way.

2) Concerning the theme (10 Seconds) - I ran out of time during development and was unable to integrate the parts of gameplay that tied into the theme. I'm as disappointed as you guys that I relegated the theme to just a passing reference in the text. I'll do better next time, I promise. ;)

3) Postmortem - I posted a postmortem blog on the game, and I'd genuinely like to hear people's perspective on what worked and what didn't. You can check it out here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/27/richard-was-afraid-of-the-dark-postmortem/

Thanks for the feedback so far. I'm liking most of the other games so far and I'm hoping to give feedback on as many games as possible over the next couple weeks.

-John

Controls:
WASD or Arrows to move;
R to reset level (in case of emergency)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#72Mood3.65
#140Audio3.34
#495Graphics2.98
#596Overall3.02
#617Fun2.85
#660Humor2.06
#940Innovation2.41
#1188Theme1.39

Comments

Vectorious says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:26pm

I loved the music, and also Richards animation was nice. :) Gameplay was a little clunky, I'm not sure if that was intentional or not. And I think it didn't very much fit the theme. Other than that, I enjoyed it! :)

truiton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:35pm

It's fun, good idea, the controls can be fine tuned though :)

vani77a says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:14pm

A bit floaty, but that was fun :)
i also liked the visual effect

plancien says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Loved the music, constructed loop after loop

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Great little story driven game! The theme was kinda forced into it though, wasn't it? :)

Schwiggy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:50pm

The normal mapping was a smart use of Unity on the graphics side. When I got to the room that says it's the last one I fell and everything went dark, is that supposed to happen?

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:51pm

i really enjoyed this, reminded me of bastion with the live-narration, although the narration system is kinda funny now. The atmosphere is nice and the music really adds to the suspense. But i don't know how it relates to the 10 sec theme really :)

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Nice game, the narration reminded me a bit of Thomas Was Alone. The controls were a bit too floaty for me however, and the graphics felt a bit strange. Your normal map might be inside out? It would look more like stone flipped around.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Fun game, if a bit short...but that was okay. I liked the graphics, even though it looked nothing like a cave. :)
Sound was cool, building up tension, so I expected something awful to happen in the end. Well, everything went better than expected! ;)

kristof says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:01pm

The progression of the music is a cool idea. The jumping and the movement felt a bit stiff and delayed. But other than that a cool little game.

kayupla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:08pm

great ambiance. I really like the graphics and the story telling. exellent!

BerdiNerdi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Got all the way to the end :) I really like the atmosphere of the game, great job on the audio. The visuals were also very nice, and a fun little sketchy animation for Richard :)

The text coming down was a nice touch too, actually excited me/worried me when something bad was written (such as being scared of something ahead or knowing it was the last room).

anjack says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:36am

I really liked the combination of two different graphics styles (the level versus the character). The music really helped set the mood.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:32am

Nice looking platformer... the controlls are a little bit to sensitive... and there are no enemies ;) Enjoyed it.

D-e-X says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:40am

It was alright, the mood was fantastic, but the lit sprite ruined it, too clunky lookin, luckily minimal time was spent in lit areas.

Entity2D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Controls were a little slippery, but overall, the game was not at all bad, I especially liked the sounds.

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:54pm

The story and game feel are pretty dissatisfying since there was very little tension and not much in the way of mechanics. However, it goes without saying that the mood and sound were pretty great.

meszka says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:24pm

I liked the slowly progressing music :) Doesn't really fit the theme though.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:41pm

I really like the background as well as the game design, but I found the gravity to be a bit weird, as well as there really nothing to do with the theme. However, I did feature it in my comilation video of Ludum Dare 27 Games, if you wanna check it out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y1UJ96l2scE

Cryovat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:41pm

I see you have a thing for normal maps. ;-)

The art style and music worked very well for the narrative. I agree that the controls were a bit floaty. It was only a problem in the open spaces though. In the narrow passages it felt fine. Music fit like a glove.

I was honestly expecting an ending where Cthulhu would eat Richard, so was good to see a happy ending. Or was it? ;)

For being your first game, this is a strong showing. Great job! :-)

Kragnir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Nice graphic and mood. Although Richard does not seem to be very afraid of the dark.

Jason says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:24pm

I thought this was a pretty solid entry. Like you said, its too bad you didn't have time to incorporate the theme.

I found the jumping a bit too floaty. And it would have been nice to have a sprint or something for the longer passage ways.

Anachron says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:11am

Fun little platformer that could definitely be the start of something great!

atgaubatz says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:43am

Other than the theme fit, this is great! I loved the way you used lighting/bump-mapping and (unless I imagined it) the escalation in the music.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:55am

I loved the smart narrative in this! Plus the music building upon itself was a neat idea.
Great job on the game. I enjoyed it. :)

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:37am

The music was a little repetitive initially, but I liked how it the other instruments came in slowly. That was pretty sweet. Also liked that you could go backwards and the previous text would appear!

antonijn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Very nice game, liked the look of it a lot. The story was quite good as well, it's just a shame that you couldn't integrate the theme, it should be your no. 1 priority really...

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Very nice experience. Wish you had time to make the fire harm the player - also some work on the controls/jump would have been nice.

Otherwise, enjoyed playing it through, it was a relaxing experience. Thanks, and keep it coming!

Wertle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Nice use of normals and dynamic lighting. The contextual narration text added a lot. Good job!

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:50am

I feel as though the theme wasn't strongly conveyed. But I really like the lighting affects and the background music was good, too.

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:14am

that had a really nice vibe to it.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:46am

Music was really moody and went a long with the fun lighting. I also liked the narration!

zzForrest says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Interesting game. I liked the music, and the sort of fish eye effect around Richard. Also the text was a cool effect. I wish that the controls were just a bit tighter.

dcolgan says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Very nice storytelling and very moody. You might consider increasing the friction a bit on the character but nicely done for 48 hours!

xrm0 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Nice music. Didn't like how the character moves slides a bit after you stop pressing keys, though

tigerj says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:00pm

I really like the visuals going on, I couldn't read much of the text that was coming down though. maybe it was me.

Antidote says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:50am

Good job :) Simple concise game, too bad you didn't have time to tie it to the theme xD

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:13am

Love music and the strange animation of Richard. :)
The metallic cave looks weird, but give the game an interesting visual effect.
I really appreciated live narrative.
Richard needs better controls.

Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:30am

Love the buildup in the music over time! Also very nice atmosphere. A lot of times Richard didn't seem to move very fast though. I hold Right and he's barely walking, but I hit jump and he starts zooming along like it seems like he should. Input issue?

Mironix says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Thanks for showing me it - it was an experience! something limbo or cosure ;)

Joror says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Nice platforming / exploratory gam! A bit short on challenge maybe. Good mood, and use of lighting effects to get a special 'look'. Jumping was a bit fidgety at times. Narration was nicely done and placed, but could use some more content, by talking about the things which cannot be seen, or somesuch.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 3:36am

Very nice atmosphere

cardboard says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:23am

I really like the game's atmosphere. The controls felt a bit laggy at times, but not too laggy to where I couldn't finish the game. The story was very cute, and how the text was displayed was unique. The music fits the mood well, and the jumping sound effect fits the music well. Great work! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]