August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

fastDefense

by little-automaton - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's very simple. Choose a ball and throw it before 10 seconds are over.

I forgot to add an exit button. You can just leave when you are dead.

The game becomes gradually faster. I thought it would be to difficult at the beginning.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#574Innovation2.93
#629Audio2.41
#666Fun2.79
#668Humor2.05
#814Overall2.79
#875Mood2.29
#955Graphics2.20
#1132Theme2.11

Comments

evilentity says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Wont exit without killing the process.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:04pm

I'm sorry. I forget to change this because I opened it in the editor where i could exit.
The Program doesn't react if the game is in progress. If you are dead you can close.

Rabbits... says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:43pm

I liked the drum beat cannon balls, a bit faster of pace would have been better.

tiffi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Its sooo cool, but so depressing, every second ball jumps back to you. very hard, but very cool

MrBlade says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Pretty nice. I am glad you added sounds, and the physics were a nice touch. Somethings I would like improved.

-Sling shotting the ball seems to be pretty unreliable and with some balls they would fly miles even with the slightest touch.
-The sounds were unrealistic, and annoying. (At least you add them. More than I can say for my games. Ha.) Consider adding background music.
-The only way to close the program is to kill the process (add a quit even. :c)

Nice work! Keep it up! 7/10 Might play again.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:04pm

need to be able to close and needs to be faster and less bounce back

ZYXer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:31am

Great idea to add bouncing physics to a cannon game. But the fun one has is highly dependant on the generated map. If there are many 45 degree slopes pointing towards the cannon, the balls will nearly always bounce back.

whiteravens says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:29pm

"9:" is an invalid integer.

Error window pops out when I press enter to start the game.

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:44pm

The physics is really funny!
I like the different types of balls but I was really disappointed by the holemaker ball than did nothing (and no hole!) :(

Also I wish the enemies were moving faster and there were more of them because they are very hard to hit when they are at the other side of the map. By the way, nice level generator.

Good job.

berkano says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Really fun to play! Sounds are hilarious. Reminds me of the good old days of Scorched Earth (yes, before Angry Birds) </hipster> Nice job!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Fun game. I like the sounds, it was fun experience.

imef says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Nice concept! Maybe a bit too slow paced in the first levels.

Marcellus says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:53pm

very fun game, I really enjoyed playing it. Didn't understand why enemies came endlessly tho.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:30pm

"Didn't understand why enemies came endlessly tho."
The idea was that you should not wait until the enemies stand befor you and you can shot them easily. If you shot an enemie he starts again behind the map. To reach the next level you have to kill the enemies when they enter the map.

Snail_Man says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Nice game! I actually played this for quite a while. If I had one complaint, it would probably be the very slow moving enemies, which didn't get much better over time. Still, the game itself was very fun, so good job on that :) I also liked the sound effects.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Seems like a neat concept, but it definitely needs some polish. An obvious part of that would be to speed up the enemies a lot, since the game is mind-numbingly slow right now.
But some cool bomb ideas and nice throwing mechanic.

X-0r says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Big remote ball is the best. The enemies can never reach my castle! The automatic level increment is good to keep players on their toes, especially, if the enemies spawn close to "your home". Still, there's not really much to do, nor an actual goal... in any case, solid entry =)

Binary Gambit says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:17pm

"9:" is an invalid integer.
I am sad as this game looked to be awesome!

Sh1rogane says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Fun game, love when the ball just bounce around everywhere. Gets a bit easy with "big remote control"

Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Not a bad game, I wasn't very good at it though :P

jwolf says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 12:00am

Pretty entertaining entry that you have here. Bouncing shots around is fun. As I'm sure you're aware, the game could be faster / more difficult. Also, I'd prefer if the default shot was always enabled, so you don't have to click on it every time, but that's a minor thing.

RawBits says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Various bugs in this one.
Like enemies are coming in from the bottom and get teleported up on the hills after they are fully visible.
You don't redrow the upper row of pixels so junk stays when ball goes out of the screen.
...things like these.
I would let the gamer abandon the current ball and choose another instead. Also it's very oring at first as enemies are slow.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]