August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dimming

by Kep - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Dimming, an isolation, darkness, horror, escape, maze... thing.

Get out of an underground system of dark halls and rooms with a flashlight that only lasts for ten seconds on a charge.


Unfinished, but good proof of concept.

WASD: Move, Mouse: Look, Space: Jump, R: Respawn

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#80Mood3.60
#115Theme3.73
#347Overall3.27
#363Graphics3.22
#404Audio2.80
#597Innovation2.90
#655Fun2.80
#693Humor2.00
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

JellyMan64 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:17am

I found no game breaking, or game changing bugs and I also really liked the concept. It wasn't a scare like Slender Man but it did scare me when my flashlight went out and my heartbeat went up. Overall it's a good 48 hour game.

Verrazano says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:20am

That was a really fun game I must say. I though the entire time something was actually going to pop out and scare me, but thankfully you aren't a mean person. I love that you have just enough time to get to the next recharge spot if you do it right. btw platforming when you can't see is hard. Loved the ending to... it's just a cliff. lol. Good job.

Spelchan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:59am

Great concept and use of theme.

Komradus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:28am

Always love it when a horror game is made for the dare. Terrific work, even though it's unintentional, when there are "tears" between texture or meshes in the darkness, it kind of looks like a set of eyes watching you, added to the tension.

AmyDee says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:47am

Great concept that's definitely worthy of further development.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:22am

Nice mood! I really like the concept. I wish you cold finish it to show us the whole thing. Gratz!

MattySVN says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Very good game, very scary when the light goes out and your heartbeat goes up! very impressive! Good Job :D

IHackedDeath says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:23pm

it is an amazing idea and would have love to seen what you implemented into it with everything else

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Good concept!

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:33pm

What a horrible flashlight! Interesting game, and definitely a really nice and unique twist on the theme.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Very good concept and mood. Reminds me of slender

Programmer16 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:06pm

I agree, very good concept; the heart beat really stood out. Would be really cool with some spacing changing effects - i.e. you walk to a platform and when you turn around the corridor you walked down is closed off or some such.

Schulles says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Amazing concept and theme! :O

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:12pm

The first time my character screamed, it made me jump XD I love the idea of a flash light that only lasts 10 seconds, though sometimes when my light ran out, I was able to get to a recharge spot by looking at one of those green/red light checkpoints if you will. The only thing that really bothered me was that my mouse pointer was on the screen, off to the left. I just wish that could be invisible. Other than that, great concept!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Super Awesome! It takes up a lot of memory, and is kind of hard for my computer to run, but the concept is awesome.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Beautiful shaders and concept :)

tamirespp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Didn`t like it that much, I think the whole recharging thing kills the game

RobotParking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:50pm

I really love this style of game.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Hello! I am making a sort of compilation of all the games I can. Your game is featured in this video! http://youtu.be/jImRVKjejj4

anjack says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:01am

That actually got my heart pumping!

Kep says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:10am

Thanks for all the great feedback! (even you tamirespp)

The 1 minute demo of Dimming in that compilation is great! That is just the experience I was going for. Thanks Jupiter_Hadley!

I really was not looking forward to the theme "10 seconds", but it really worked out. There is much more I could do, but I'm going back to work on my main title that will be released later this year under the name Hellscape Games.

Thanks again everyone!

RoseNinja says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:08am

really spooky game, i keept falling, really good game

Tifu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Good atmosphere, nice use of theme!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Well done for 48 hours! The audio was pretty tense, except for the scream when you fell, which was a bit funnier (sorry). The game is pretty difficult though, it is easy to get stuck without light. Nice job!

Delca says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Even if you consider it as a prototype, it is very good. The heartbeat really help me immerse myself in the game, to the point I almost screamed out loud when I died for the first time (maybe your character's voice was the cause for that though).
I would love to see an extended version, with different mechanics in rooms perhaps ?

Epiphane says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:39am

I really liked how subtle the whole thing is... when you run out of light, all you've got is your footsteps and a slight increase in heart rate. Really good use of atmosphere and sound! Couldn't tell if the ending was the open sky or not, I'm assuming it was (?)

Kep says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Yes, as soon as you jump out of the last room and see the sky, the game is over (even though you just respawn again).
There is a short message written at the end of the last hall on the right, but you'll have to play to read it.

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Cool idea, very mysterious atmosphere, never got creepy but there's definitely potential for it to be.

zzForrest says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 7:34pm

The concept was great, but the camera speed was so fast that it became disorienting. Also I would have liked for the mouse to disappear, but that's nitpicking. I like the audio, although the falling was a bit prolonged. I also liked the maze idea, but the flashlight dimming really didn't do much as long as you hammered jump.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]