August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Survival

by Moochoomon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a quick game I threw together called 10 Second Survival.
The goal of the game is to survive 30 days, each day being only 10 SECONDS, limiting time for resource gathering and eating / finding food.
NOTE: This game is not very good, does not contain a title screen, and is buggy.I could not do any of these, as I don't have enough time.

EDIT: I forgot to include that the fishing net takes 20 sticks and 20 leaves. Everything has a 3 second timer, so if you don't want to kill your fingers clicking furiously, just wait a few seconds in between clicks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1845Coolness14%

Comments

Moochoomon says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 4:40pm

I am aware of a bug that the game will not launch when launched with the .jar, I have not yet found the cause of this problem.

Moochoomon says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Bug should be fixed! It was an error with Files and not suing Input Streams.

Markavian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:51am

How much sticks/leaves do you need to make nets? I managed to make one, I think, and catch two fish... lots of clicking.

Urfoex says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:55pm

I got rich waters around. Every 4 seconds 2 fish. Every fish giving 1 day. *Yeah* Easy living :D

Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:02am

Nice little game, I'm not too sure if I'm doing the right way, but I like the concept !

Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:04am

Nice little game, I like the concept, too bad it would not record for my LD27 compilation video series

MrBlade says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 11:45pm

I saw that you gave me a trophy. Thank you so much. I was going through a really rough day, I really really needed that today.
I really loved this game. The sounds and music were very nicely done, The art was pretty nice, and the idea was very well done! I would have liked a sound for when the player caught a fish, got sticks, etc. The first time I died, I had caught two fish, I just didn't have time to eat them. (Because I saw that I had caught it last second.) The buttons were just a little bit too small, gut otherwise; I LOVE the GUI. Getting a fishing net was actually kind of hard, but once you get it and get a few fish it is pretty easy. However, if you make it to Day: 20, then you pretty much have beaten the game, because you lose (1h/s Hunger per second.) And ten days in game is just 100 seconds. (Or, 100 hunger I.E how much hunger you have.) I think that if you are standing still and you have a fishing net, that number should be higher. Two or Three hunger per second perhaps. This would make the player move around while fishing a little bit more and also make sure once you get to 20 days you cannot just stand still.

Anyway, very nice work. I really enjoyed it. (And it was all in Java! Whoa!) 9/10.

~Blade

jomomomo says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Aw man I couldn't catch any fish!

Aske says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Linux won't let me run the .jar, because it's not marked as executable. :(

01rafael says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Uh. I was confused by gameplay. too hard though

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]