August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Second Dungeon

by Jimanzium - 48 Hour Compo Entry

TO RUN IN CHROME: https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/l%C3%B6veliness/mompnkcmpbopandjnddeecgeeojegohc?hl=en

To run in the Chrome browser the love2D chrome plugin is required. You should be able to just click on the link to open into Chrome, otherwise right-click then run with loveliness

Ten Second Dungeon: Instead of a life bar you have ten seconds. You must run around the dungeon killing mobs, looting and not satting around. Avoid the traps and hopefully conquer the final boss.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#536Theme3.20
#601Fun2.87
#686Mood2.56
#693Humor2.00
#738Overall2.88
#767Audio2.12
#769Graphics2.55
#796Innovation2.66

Comments

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:56am

I like it :). It seems like a rouge like with time limitation for me hehe

Supernours says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:26am

Nice idee !

Morgawr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:57am

Good game, terrible graphics. I'm sorry but I still feel my eyes burning with an afterimage of those scanlines

Kevlanche says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:05am

That was fun! One thing I miss though is my score on the screen after you beat the boss. It said I could go, but didn't tell me how well I did

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:10am

Very nice and challenging!
A bit weird that if you kill someone and go to the next room, the potion (I think) teleports there.

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:12am

Nifty game! Very dizzy at times!

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Nice idea and good execution. The graphics are a little jarring to, mostly due to the scanlines effect.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:32pm

quite fun.

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:02pm

This was fun and fast passed, as well as confusing!

Jools64 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09pm

This was a very neat little game.

I kinda wrote this off as being a little boring right at the start but as soon as I ran into the other enemies and game-play variations I really started enjoying it. Overall I'd say the game-play is very fun and addictive, making good use of the theme.

The graphics are not fantastic but they do service the game well enough. It looks like you put in a fair bit of effort with the effects so props for that.

The sound was a little lackluster with just beeps and bloops but I appreciate any sound implemented in the time limit.

Good job, I enjoyed playing it greatly!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Fun. When I go to a new room some of the things from the previous room is still there, like big red lasers items dropped from mobs.

Joxno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Really fast-paced, challenging, crawler, pretty sweet!
only thing that may be a bit annoying is that the camera 'hops' when you shoot.

stenol says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Little funny game.:)

Latcarf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Nice game! :)

It's a bit hard and too dependent on luck (if the first few rooms don't have anything in them, you're screwed), but fun.

leafo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Neat idea. I wasn't sure if I found any potions.

Szedouu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:32pm

wow fun and nice idea, very good entry!

CogComp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Liked the way how each room moved around the character

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Intense battles! I wish there were more weapons!

alts says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:37am

Given the fast-paced nature of the game, and the likely short attention span of ludum dare players, I think it might have been good to vary the enemies/rooms earlier in the game. Things pick up considerably one you get past the first 6 rooms or so, but I worry that most players won't ever find that. This is a cool game, there are just a couple suggestions I'd make. First, don't make the blue markers (the ones that extend time) fade away. There is often a cost to going after them anyway, since it takes time to even reach them. Second, I'd sometimes enter rooms that had a laser shooting down right past the entrance I'd come through, and I'd die. Having those really can kill the pacing of the game, since it forces me to cautiously enter rooms. Long comment. Sorry. Good work.

Larzan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:55am

Interesting choice for the visuals, but nice game.

recursor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:58am

Very retro.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Cool concept, but I guess I'm just too slow for it. :(

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Very cool! I had trouble finding items to keep me alive. But the visuals are GREAT. Some music and this would be much better.

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:15pm

JIMNASIEST

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Neat and simple. It looks like the screen takes a second or two to clear between "room" though. It would also help if the graphic style was a little more consistent; I like the scan lines vibrant colors, but they don't fit with the art style for the boxes and time potions.

panurge says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Took a little while for me to get into this but I really liked it when I did. A nicely tuned difficulty level kept me playing and the graphics, sound and gameplay meshed together really well.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:36pm

This is good fun! Quite intense!
It seemed like the enemy graphics are smaller than the hitbox, but I am not sure.
The giant lasers were terrific for the atmosphere and the adrenaline factor.
In shooter games, though, I always preferred to have auto-fire unless it's a shotgun or if it's only a starting weapon with promise of later powerups. I feel that constant aiming and firing distracts the player from the overall game, but that's just my opinion.
Great job on this one!

jprogman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Quite fun while it lasts. It's challenging to stay alive for more than 10 seconds.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Good use of the theme, fantastic graphics. Didn't get to the boss.

tchem says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:24pm

good work man,,, very fun and creative

namrog84 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:42pm

game was a little on the hardside? for sizing of enemy could be a little larger?

It was fun, and fast!

motty says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:01am

Cute. Hard. Nice cross between rogue-likes and robotron-likes. Wasn't expecting that.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:07am

Frenetic. Love it. :)

zlowrance says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:35am

Fun game. I love the retro feel.

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:50am

Good rythm, pleasent to play and surprisingly more fun than expected on the first playthrough, the retro feeling is nice. Still, I wasn't sure about most of the game mechanics (potions ? life points ?), you could use more feedbacks or a clearer GUI.

truiton says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:58am

Nice idea :)

MatrixBai says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Crashed on Mac :-(

jay griffin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:12pm

I liked this one quite a lot. Viciously hard though. Personally I liked the minimalist design and thought the effect worked well.

Starspell says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:08pm

A fun little game. I found it a little confusing to figure out what I needed to do. Also the addition of auto-fire if you hold down the mouse button would have been a great addition.

I actually like the aesthetics in the game. I didn't find the scalelines overwhelming. Not a bad game overall, but I've played plenty of 10 second maze games this LD already ^^;

urth says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Yes the Mac version crashed.
Application Specific Information:
dyld: launch, loading dependent libraries

Dyld Error Message:
Library not loaded: @executable_path/../Frameworks/mpg123.framework/mpg123
Referenced from: /Users/USER/Downloads/TSD.app/Contents/MacOS/love
Reason: no suitable image found. Did find:
/Users/XXXXX/Downloads/TSD.app/Contents/MacOS/../Frameworks/mpg123.framework/mpg123: file too short
/Users/XXXXX/Downloads/TSD.app/Contents/MacOS/../Frameworks/mpg123.framework/mpg123: file too short

Urfoex says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:13pm

495 points 8-)
Luck was on my side ^^

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:38pm

All right, wasn't sure if the Mac version would work

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:18am

Pretty fun, nice use of theme. Nice work!

Sink says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:47am

Enjoyed it! The graphical effects were really cool and well done also the laser was a cool obstacle.

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:40am

LOVE 2d!!! THAT ROCKS FACE! I see what you did there. I like the dungeon movement thing. Ima go ahead and keep this game. Good work.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:35am

Interesting game, the screen scrolling and shaking make me dizzy and was unnecessary. Really like that it has an ending.

FireZenk says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:18am

Simple but intense, and nice graphics and effects!! :D

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:04pm

It was fun, with a good pace and difficulty! But I thought the movement was a bit imprecise, I kept circling around the potions because I couldn't pick them up, which was pretty frustrating :P

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Good use of the theme, I think it's really hard !

Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Interesting game, very quick paced and hard!! I enjoyed it, and hope to see it update in the future! I featured it in a compilation video of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gVjNz61S5Vg

Moosefly says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:21am

Couldn't quite get into it, the jumpiness and the effects (even after turning the scanlines off) made me feel nauseous :(.

The enemies and you could've also been bigger, or maybe the bullets should've been smaller.

Bonus points for the resolution and fullscreen options in the menu!

mollymus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:13pm

I like it! I don't agree with Morgawr from your comments at all, the graphics were better than most games I've played so far.. I really enjoyed jumping around and killing enemies for quite some time, but unfortunately it got a bit old after 900+ kills and almost a minute of time:7 Anyway, good job!

BenWhi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Graphic style was great. Didn't make it very far through the dungeon, but it was fun exploring!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:36am

Like the Atari 2600 vibe to it. Didn't really get very far in the game.

infernet89 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:12am

I totally HATED the screen shake effect that you have when you are shooting.. Maybe it's a personal fact, but i ended dodging enemies and searching loots instead of killing them.

Pitzik4 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:50am

This game, for its simplicity, is very fun! The way the time limit works reminds me of that game... What's it called? 30-Second Hero, or something like that. I was surprised by the variety of rooms that could be entered, and the way the rooms seem to be constructed as you enter doors and you don't seem to leave the main area reminds me of... Actually, it reminds me of my own LD26 game. Also, this is the only game where I like the constant beeping when you're low on "health", because it's easy for me to forget about the time limit.

HeyChinaski says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Very stylish. Decent fast paced gameplay. Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]