August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Grav Nav

by lparker - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Grav Nav (Or Gravitational Navigation)

Work your way through 10 Levels in this LD Edition of the Grav Nav game.

You are given 3 Grav Caps (Gravity Capsules) per level and you need to guide the yellow orb to the finish...

Press 'R' to reset the current level.

All I say is good luck...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#359Innovation3.24
#706Audio2.25
#738Overall2.88
#806Graphics2.48
#902Theme2.74
#908Fun2.48
#993Mood2.05
#1359Coolness42%

Comments

Baburo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:31am

Cool concept. I felt it a tad too hard though. :P

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:36am

Really confusing. Concept was cool though :)

raver says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:48am

Nice game idea, well done, but physics is a little bugged.

ananasblau says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:55am

good idea but the interface to place things is far from perfect.
right click is a bit stupid on a macbook, instead placing it, showing the whole circle of arrows to select one would be better. also drag'n'drop for the gravity fields is missing. and for the start/finish, a coloured area would be better than just text.

Nonetheless a good idea.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:57am

Took a while to get the hang of, but it was actually kinda fun once I did. The controls are somewhat unpolished though.

Couldn't get past level 7; there seems to be some kind of invisible barrier.

nexust says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:03am

Really good idea, with a little extra time, this could have been something of a masterpiece.

motty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:22am

Ah, Unity. Runs everywhere except Linux :(

lparker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:30am

@BlackBulletIV if you look at the centre of the level itself there should be a clear spot. You'll also notice that there is a red tint on where the invisible walls are. I think I put the alpha a bit to low as to look like there's no wall there at all.

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:33am

Lots of trial and error haha! Nice challenge.

lparker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:44am

@Sebastian That's more or less what I was aiming for, as with the gravity factor you only have a rough idea on where the ball is going... Testing the final level though was pretty difficult to do.

Tegu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:58am

Whoa, an interesting idea. Would need some kind of quick start button so that you wouldn't have to wait the 10 seconds every time you try a new route. I'm not too fond of the invisible walls though.. Yet they weren't that bad after all although they seemed terrible at first.
Also the Bonus level 2? What is this? Is it even possible or are there some weird invisible stuff again? I can only get to the first teleport with the given three caps. Maybe I just suck. :D
The graphics are okay, especially the nice tele animation, but the sounds consist only of a repeating quiet clash so that's not as good.
While I agree with ananasblau that a circle of arrows would be better than right clicking in this game, IMHO in general right clicking itself is completely allowed thing to use even though it has to be done in a weird way in some machines.
Overall a pretty nice entry. :)

Tegu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:45am

Uhh, forget about what I said about the Bonus 2. :D I didn't realize I can just use the arrow keys to change gravity. *facepalm* Then what's the point of gravity caps at all on that level?

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:11am

Neat game mechanic but I think it would of been better without the time limit for placing the gravity capsules

Mekuri says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Very innovative. A bit hard to master, but that's not a bad thing in my opinion. Good job!

d__adee says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Nice game idea!
I completed it by the way

;)

jwolf says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 12:39am

Interesting puzzle game. The physics seem fairly well done, too. Could use more variety in audio, though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]