August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cheese It!

by sebasRez - Jam Entry

Cheese it! You will pay the ultimate price!

A and D or <- -> to move left and right
W and S or ^ v to move Up and Down
E to grab
Space to Jump

You are a thief, it's what you're good at, but you messed with the wrong set of mice and they want their cheese back. If you don't provide with the cheese then your ten seconds are up.

Run through hellish kitchen scavenging for leftover pieces of cheese and bring it back to the evil masterminds.

Woo! First Ludum Dare! Game made by @Sebasrez and @_MyTmonkey with music by @rockman!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1906Coolness10%

Comments

TobiasW says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:18pm

I like the graphics! Especially the background graffiti and the speech balloons are nices touches.

The simple tutorial is cool. You only have 4 keys in total which could be easily explained with static text, but you guys decided to walk the extra mile :)

The gameplay is fun, but gets repetitive pretty fast - especially because you are just running the same way over and over again! Or am I missing something?

The ingame music is nice and fits the general mood quite well.

The game over screen music doesn't fit at all, but I like the quite visual depication of how much cheese I stole! :D

Is there any specific reason why you deactivated fullscreen? If I play a game, I want it to fill my screen, and that's usually so easy with Unity.

I think your main "screenshot" could benefit from a better picture - maybe a clipping of an ingame screenshot? Right now it doesn't live up to the ingame quality.

All in all a pretty nice game! Good job!

PS: I exploded right in their den! Joke's on them!

aschearer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Pretty solid entry. Kind of uninspired use of the theme, but that's OK in my book. The gameplay itself was lackluster however. It would have been better if I were forced to make some interesting trade offs when choosing paths. Perhaps adding the ability to carry more than one piece of cheese at once, have different size cheeses which affect movement speed, climbing ability, jumping, etc. would make for deeper more rewarding gameplay.

ddionisio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Lovely art and personality in this game, I had a good laugh at some parts and the gameover. I like the wall run, worked well. I have to agree, carrying the cheese one at a time got a little tedious. Maybe also have various drop-off areas? Overall, great work!

fgielow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:20am

I really enjoyed the animations and the music; the animations are really smooth. Even though simple, the dialog balloons also have a really good touch. I just do not like very much all the go-further-and-back cheese trips because things get repetitive that way, which are essential in the game, I'm afraid. Maybe if you had more dropzones in order to repeat less?

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:06am

:) I nice twist. I like the game concept a lot. Fun game.

mikegbrown says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:10am

I like they way you intro'd movement and the core loop. Enjoyable but I don't think the design was helped by the time limit implementation. Good work!

Joxno says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:24am

Haha, a really cute and awesome game, those graphics are really sweet as well,
The game-play was perhaps a bit repetitive, but I thoroughly enjoyed it!

scriptorum says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:43am

The graphics are fantastic, I love the rodent animations. It does get a little tedious after a while. The ability to throw cheese would be nice, or to carry multiple pieces, as a power up to find. Very nice presentation!

paulmcgg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:36pm

It would have been great to have more mice spread through the level. Liked the old school level design, reminded me of a lot of SNES platformers. (Also killed by a giant cat is the best way to die :3 )

Ariake81 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Good entry - love anything cheese themed!

Graphics are great and it felt very polished

Game play pretty straightforward

Would be good if you could carry multiple cheeses

Laelien says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Great entry ! Nice graphics, sweet sounds, lovely gameplay. Good job on this, really !

Almax27 says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Really nice game, well rounded on all fronts.

The 'Banksy' rat cover art doesn't do it much justice though I think.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]