August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Step Out

by bitserum - Jam Entry

Step Out is a puzzle platformer with a variety of puzzles spread out over two levels. The main mechanic revolves around stepping out of your physical body for 10 seconds.

We had a blast creating this game though the theme was somewhat of a persistent annoyance since the first round of voting started.

Controls and how to play is all explained in the game (as well as on the menu screen).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#8Overall(Jam)4.12
#11Mood(Jam)4.14
#36Theme(Jam)3.77
#38Innovation(Jam)3.79
#39Graphics(Jam)4.38
#53Fun(Jam)3.61
#74Audio(Jam)3.59
#404Humor(Jam)1.95

Comments

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:45pm

The environments and puzzles are very nice, and the assets make the atmosphere relaxing. The puzzles are pretty clever too and they fit the game mechanic nicely I think.

Surrealix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:35am

Although the controls felt sluggish at times the graphics and audio really made a wonderful atmosphere. The puzzles were varied and built in complexity using only simple mechanics. Very well made game overall.

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:30am

I love the game, the mood is just perfect, a bit misty and the graphics and sounds just enrich that feeling.
The controls are explained in really good way.
Good job!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:34am

I failed at the 2nd puzzle :/

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:42am

This was very nice. I liked the atmosphere of the game. I could wish for more music that could enhance the atmosphere even more. Nice graphics too!

oajfh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:25am

Very nice atmosphere, and interesting mecahnics. I agree with what was said above.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:31am

That was a nice peace of experience! Will be there some updates of this one? Can't wait to play more of this!

juaxix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:36am

I really like this. Models are beautiful. Very artistic, congrats

RennFarnell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:57am

great work! love the visuals and the core mechanics! in tandem with the chilled audio and frustrating puzzles / returning to character JUST as your about to reach where you needed to be, i give it 5 stars :D

FireZenk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Nice plataformer game, love the "shadow" idea

panurge says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Some lovely puzzles with a satisfying mix of mechanics and a nicely pitched learning curve. Really good atmosphere too. Very enjoyable.

Spiderhund says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:24pm

I do like the idea and the game is just so polished it's incredible!

Beautiful, it's simply beautiful.

vanderZwan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:39pm

The atmosphere is fantastic, pace feels a bit sluggish (even when taking into account that this is a "slow" relaxed game) but otherwise the gameplay is fun, and the mechanic is cool too, although it would be fun if I could possess more things (like the trees of the scenery, just to make the leaves rustle a bit for example).

onzephyr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:42pm

love the mood and the visuals. very well executed.

Zammy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Beautiful game atmosphere!

torvik88 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Gave me a feeling of Braid. Nice game and atmosphere mate.

Beavl says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Clever design. We enjoyed playing through it!

darkshadow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Lovely graphics, good atmosphere, with a relaxed pace but still fitting to the 10 second theme.

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Loved the graphics and the audio, puzzles were also well designed... Felt like the theme was "just there" but that it could have been engrained more into the puzzles...

One of the better entries I've seen so far though, kudos and good luck!

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:09am

Really liked the art direction, and the gameplay of throwing out my soul and possessing rocks.
During one of the major rock puzzles I ran into some issues, as I rolled one of the rocks down to a platform (and felt I shouldn't have) but it wouldn't respawn on its original platform with the switch, but the one below it. Also, when I was trying to possess a few rocks to move them out of the way, I was just a tad bit too close to a warping point, and would teleport there instead. Would like a glow around whichever object I'm 'closest' to, so I know when to hit C!
Anyway, I had a good time playing it, and I enjoyed the atmosphere!

blackotus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:28am

Really love the atmosphere! Nice job, all around impressive :)

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:36am

Great game, very solid mechanics. One of the best games I've played so far!

wine says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:54am

Environments and game mechanics a very impressive. Good job!

Laguna says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:20am

Really nice Entry with nice graphics. I really enjoyed playing it!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:23am

Loved it's art and atmosphere, really fun and enjoyable puzzle platformer!

Xgor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:13am

Amazing work on this one, can see this being worked further on and becoming a commercial game.

TeamFlare says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:19am

Very stylish graphics and cool gameplay :)

Larzan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:25am

Beautiful art and atmosphere, would have loved playing it longer, but i couldn't get the door to open? I collected the two pieces necessary, and the door is lit up, but what then? Couldn't enter with normal body and neither with the ephemeral...
Great game nontheless, one of the best i have seen so far, Top!
Aaaaah, now it works, clicking the door? Not really self explanatory after playing with the keyboard the whole time :)
Beautiful puzzles and level design.

Capro says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:38am

The game is very well made and the puzzles are brilliant. Good job. :)

kbm0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:45am

Great idea, nice puzzles and perfectly timed tutorial-texts. I like it alot! :-)

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:52am

Great graphics and mood. game mechanic is also cool.

spitfire87 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:14am

Nice atmosphere. The theme fits well into this mechanics and puzzles. Very enjoyable.

Tifu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Awesome game, would be nice if there had been more things you could possess/control, but given the time limit, what you have is incredible D
I did find in the second area that I would sometimes control the wrong rock (it seemed to be controlling the rock I controlled previously) but it was a minor issue, and didn't break the game at all (I just tried again and it worked)

Dew says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Awesome game! You really made something here. The mechanics are great and the Astral fits the theme perfectly!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Nice graphics man : ). The posession is fun and good and I laughed at that "you should not be here" message, heh.
I also liked the clear way of doing instructions at the start and the teleport spirals remind me of the dreamcast logo hahah. That being said I think the pacing for the double rock puzzle was a bit slow X_X. Nice!

graytest says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Movement feels a bit sluggish, but the game looks great! Good atmosphere also!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Good entry. Atmospheric and smart =)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Awesome gameplay idea!

flamecow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:19pm

What an interesting idea! Very awesome graphics style and nice controls.

wintermute says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Best entry I have played so far. Nothing else to say.
Good job.

rylgh says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Great job! neat puzzles, nice models and environment. The double jump should shouldn't start the second jump until i let go of the key and re-press it, though, i'd say.

bytegrove says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:03am

It's a very nice idea and interpretation of the theme. Very pretty art style(reminds me a little of Lost Winds). It's a very atmospheric game. The puzzles are built too much around repetition and having to travel back and forth a lot. That in itself wouldn't be so bad if it wasn't for the sluggish movement. And for some reason I always kept pushing the wrong keys, making me have to re-travel in astral mode several times. So I might just be your most annoying use case scenario, but I think it's worth mentioning. :P
Nice work, beautiful game!

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:47am

Awesome job, loved the visuals and the puzzles were interesting, though after a while the puzzles seemed to get too long considering the movement speed. Overall I felt like it was a great game that does everything pretty well.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:31am

Beautiful game. Audio, visual, mechanic. Well done!

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:29am

this is ridiculously good.

Tiago says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:51am

Really good mechanic, puzzles and environments! The sound is very soothing and makes the experience a lot more relaxing, great job!

paraple-geek says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:33am

Great game, nice graphics and gameplay! Really peacefull and relaxing, good job!

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:10am

I really like puzzles! :) Graphics and atmosphere are ok.
I didn't solve yet the second puzzle. :(
The game is well-crafted and deserve a good rating! :)

lazyeels says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:38am

Really enjoyed playing this, you should definitely spend time developing in to a final version for release to the masses! :-D

So glad to play a Unity game that actually runs on Linux too.

IHateATMFees says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Great job, favorite one that I've played so far.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:54pm

One of the best in this LD!
I'm humbled by the level design and puzzles, this was AWESOME!!!!!!
The mechanic was super-interesting, a fantastic take on the theme, and mood/graphics are incredible.

Top marks for everything and I hope you place at the top!

Also, thank you SO much for the All hail the queen trophy, it made my day, and I choked myself laughing when I saw it!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:02pm

good job

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Graphics are really nice. :)

carlsommer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:25am

Great all around!

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:05am

This is beautiful! Well done :D

Mironix says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:27pm

This game defines it's own style, very happy that i've had the ability to play it.

Impmaster says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:33am

I loved the atmosphere. I felt that the theme somewhat destroyed the puzzles, because of the sheer amount of going through your tracks.

timtipgames says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Loved everything about it. I mixed up the keys sometimes, maybe they could be changed to be more distant from each other to better reflect their different semantics.

Sestren says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:48pm

I really like this entry. The graphical style is excellent and the puzzles are clever and fun to play through.

Livsk says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Very good game. Nice graphics and gameplay innovative. Good Job.

Neil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:25pm

The game has a great setting, fantastic art and nice sound!

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:47am

I love the 3D/2D art, it gives so much life to the graphics. Colors are really creating special moods. The mechanic of stepping the body is well though and the puzzles you created around it are clever. Finally, a game with a TARDIS could only be good.

caranha says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:04pm

That was a very smart game. The pacing was a bit slow, but the puzzles were quite smart. I didn't get very far in my video review, but I hope you like it:

http://youtu.be/tTguuVvOXVY

Antidote says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Really great game :) Just played it while streaming, love the mechanics, quite innovative. The graphics are great, the colors are working really well together ^^ Gratz!

bitserum says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:26pm

@caranha thank you very much for the review, it was helpful and mean so much to us

Purplescape says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Gorgeous graphics, audio is perfect, the puzzles are fun, and all of it together creates a mysterious atmosphere. Fantastic!

DreamTeam says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Awesome idea and great implementation of the theme! Playing this with a gamepad was really satisfying once I remapped jump to a button instead of 'up'. I thought it was over then BAM another set of puzzles and an all new world. Deceptively deep and a great challenge with perfect progressing/learning curve. Great audio, great visuals, and solid controls. You should be proud!

urth says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:29pm

One of the best games this LD!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:07pm

This is one of those. I can't believe they did this in 3 days games. the art is beautiful. This game looks like its already on shelf for sale.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:16am

very well done -- awesome!

KaaPex says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 5:32am

Good work!

Hypnohustla says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:43am

Nice polished game with some well designed puzzles. :) I like it.

lesterpig says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:53am

Amazing game, idea, and graphics ;)
Nice utilization of unity resources !
Good work.

Sebastian says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Quite beautiful and an interesting mechanic. Overall a very enjoyable and relaxed game. I thought the controls handled nicely considering the pace of the game, although I would have changed x to spacebar perhaps, since I pressed x instead of c once or twice which can be a bit annoying.

TimKaidem says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 6:26am

One of the coolest visual so far, verrrrry nice

porglezomp says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 11:09am

Wonderful game! Beautiful art! Great puzzles!

recursor says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:16pm

I really enjoyed this game. Graphics and sound are great and the gameplay is really fun. Keep working on it!

Atmospherium says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Awesome game. Great concept and really strong puzzle design. I wish that the player movement was a tad faster or that some of the puzzles were a bit smaller, but that's just a minor complaint. Really great work.

Jason says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Wow, you've got a contender for best overall game here! Great use of the theme guys. Audio and mood are spot on. The only thing I found a bit off was the jumping, but otherwise really well done. Nice puzzles too!

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Very cool Game! I like the mechanic and the controls. also the Graphics and the sound. The first level is really great. The second level is a little bit tiring since you have to do so many things to succeed. I would have split the puzzles somehow, so the player has a success when a part of the puzzle was done correctly. This would motivate me more than a really big puzzle which takes me very long.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:13pm

I like very much the idea of the astral projction, I think it could have been used to do many other cool stuf than just teleporting or moving rocks.

Overall it was a great entry but it misses a retry button, I got stuck at the 2nd level after screwing up when moving the rocks but maybe there was a way out and I just didn't see it.

TheBlueRage says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:48pm

A lot of fun, and very well done.

Morusque says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Beautiful

Pixzule says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 10:01pm

I wasn't able to get far in this game, but I did record it for my show on youtube, I know that most wont care about it but just putting it out there to put it out there. Maybe the devs might care?

http://youtu.be/WwKVwoOOVR4

Sascha says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Superb entry! Graphics, music, puzzles, game mechanics, everything!

TobiasW says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Thanks a lot for the comment on Lost in the Darkness! And you say it's short - so you actually saved your friends? :)
Either way, time to return the favor and I've played your game.

First positive thing I saw: "Controls and how to play is all explained in the game." Well, that's a good start! The main character looks a bit dull, but the environment graphics are beautiful, especially the scene seen in the title screen. They create a great atmosphere together with the music, although the latter one could've been a bit more dense - the music is great, but it's so faint that it nearly vanishes. While the puzzles are good, they are a bit on the easy side.

I think the game would've been easier to control for me if there would be only one button: One press switch to astral mode, one press interact, and two fast presses go back to the body. I regularely mixed up which button did which. That's a bit annoying if you're really far away from your body.

All in all, great game - thanks for making it!

PS: I could still switch to Astral mode after the outro, haha.

imef says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:14am

Amazing concept and graphics!

Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Mind-blowingly innovative...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]