August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ad Hoc Novel

by SamuelDivinium - Jam Entry

Welcome to my very first Ludum Dare competition!

I was excited about this topic and I really wanted to do something twisted, something different than the exact meaning of "10 seconds".

In my game you are a newbie book writer in a world where everyone is so busy they don't have time to read books longer than 10 seconds. With the game's interface you are able to write your own books using your keyboard.

The game doesn't have any "purpose", the score system is just a flavour text, it is in endless mode so the whole point of playing the game is just to have fun :) I'm really curious about your best 10 second novels so feel free to share them by taking a screenshot and using the #AdHocNovel tag at Twitter or copy the raw text and paste it here.

****UPDATE: v1.0.6****
I put 5 music tracks in the game which corresponds with the selected themes. I don't know whether it is allowed to use royalty free 3rd party musics or not. I put the owner's name in the game's credits.
********************

Feel free to ask/report bugs/tell your opinions about the game :) And more importantly: Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#181Humor(Jam)2.85
#191Innovation(Jam)3.21
#274Audio(Jam)2.89
#343Mood(Jam)2.76
#469Graphics(Jam)2.63
#478Overall(Jam)2.68
#481Fun(Jam)2.42
#545Theme(Jam)2.38

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:27am

Great idea!

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:21pm

This game makes me very nostalgic. Brings back the countless hours I spent doing MadLibs in my youth :)

raincole says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:47am

We should give you Music of LD27 award.

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:24am

Nice idea. It crashed my chrome, though ;P PC/Windows XP (work station, it sucks so it might be the problem with ahrdware).

ddionisio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:25pm

I love the idea of this game, I had fun. I hope that send button doesn't actually post the story online!

Music is definitely top-notch and humor comes from how you play the game :P

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:56am

Thanks guys but keep in mind, the music is from a website called Incompetech (as you can see in my entry post and the credits) where you can get royalty free musics. I just added them for the mood, but you shouldn't rate that part because we had no work with them sadly :(

@Kaldrick: I've never heard of any crashes before, and it was made in Unity so maybe it is indeed a hardware problem

truiton says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:30am

fun little game :)

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:54am

My story was about a guy named Poop and a girl named Pee.

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:58am

Very funny! My only gripe is that I had to scroll down. And my mind has been locked into rushing through these short games. ... shoot.. I should've copied an pasted my novel as a comment. Real good idea.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Great idea! Good job. :)

Delca says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:00pm

A great take on the theme, I enjoyed making those shorts stories. Good job!

local minimum says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Nice little thing, though the game element of the game kind of passed me by. The created story, maybe should somehow be evaluated by other players and its fame be the mechanics / game element? Just a thought.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]