August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Big City Goat Adventure

by Sebby - Jam Entry

Instuctions:
Arrow Keys/WSAD to move
Space key to interact with things
'C' is used later on

If you are stuck there is a guide included in the download.

Also, I swear this used to be related to the 10 seconds theme, but at some point the idea had evolved so much that it wasn't all that relevant any more. Or maybe it just sounded more relevant in my head, I dunno XD

Either way, I am quite proud of this game despite it not fitting the theme. I enjoyed making it, and while I didn't get in everything that I wanted to I am quite happy with the result, kind of as a prototype I guess. I'd like to make similar games in the future :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#174Humor(Jam)2.87
#183Innovation(Jam)3.22
#197Fun(Jam)3.15
#312Overall(Jam)3.07
#346Mood(Jam)2.75
#387Graphics(Jam)2.89
#598Theme(Jam)1.61
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

klianc09 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:05pm

At first it was really weired that up wasn't up-right like expected but up-left instead. But after getting used to the controls, I was able to enjoy your game. Really nice adventure-puzzler you got there. Maybe some sound effects would be nice?

Also: I think it's funny, that when you search for "goat", only your and my game appear in the results. :D

magicdweedoo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:05am

one of my favourites !! but I got stuck when i had the green/red staff, i couldnt lift the green platform and then red because switching made the green platform fall back down..

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:06am

nice game - it took a while to get going and it would have been good if something a bit better happened at the ending, but overall great job :)

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:07am

Go back to goat town! Goatbird!
:D

mklee says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:10am

I really enjoyed this game! It's a little strange initially and the Qbert/isometric setup makes it a little hard to navigate, but once you get into it the puzzles are actually quite interesting! I really would love to see this developed further.

HippyJonYo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:14am

Even though it doesn't have much to do with 10 seconds like you said above, I still enjoyed it. That last puzzle took me a couple minutes to figure out! :D

aeveis says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:20am

I liked it! The smart character art was cute, and the puzzles were pretty good. liked slightly surreal mood as well.

Darien says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:53am

Solstice-y. The controls are a bit odd, but the concept is nice and the graphics are surprisingly effective.

Reyn says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:20am

Loved the idea. Isometric works nice, took me a while to get use to how to move. I got stuck in the hills where I cannot get a green platform to go up, I see other people have the same issue, I thought it might be part of the puzzle...

XaiZil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:01pm

I quite liked it but then once I could move the red block I got a bit confused

Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:16pm

The theme really isn't apparent in the game any more, but nevertheless it's a great game! The beginning could use a little bit of explanation. The look is nice and fits the game mechanic, movement feels good and the last puzzle felt rewarding. This is one game that would be nice to see extended and refined after the jam.

kibertoad says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:21pm

a fun little exploration game. not exactly the most original, but relaxing and kinda cool. would be nice to see more stuff in it.

udo says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:17pm

10 seconds or no, this was enjoyable and fun! :)

Almax27 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Took me some time to adapt to the control scheme, but after getting use to, it was quite enjoyable game :)

noddy2006 says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 7:52am

I enjoyed your game! The puzzles started off super easy, but the staff mechanic certainly "switched" things up a bit (pun totally intended). I think I managed to cheat on the last puzzle, though (just south of the room with the last pickup)! Good stuff regardless!

Sep 9, 2013 @ 8:15am

Isometric view! If there was an "extra points for iso view" option I'd tick it. :D

savethejets1 says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 5:37am

Controls were a bit odd at first. I dig the way the rooms link together, that was really neat.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:07am

puzzly and interesting use of concept. visuals remind me of pet in tv

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]