August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Fireworks

by Schulles - 48 Hour Compo Entry

ATTENTION!
IF the game doesn't show up immideatly, please wait a second or consider using the second link! Thanks!

This is my submission for the Ludum Dare 27, August 2013.
Theme: 10 Seconds

'Fireworks' is a fast-paced unique, innovative game in that you will try to prepare as many fireworks as possible in only 10 seconds!

The game uses true 8-bit sounds and music to support the different moods and create that nice retro-feeling.

Every year the same happens: You forget to setup the fireworks in your garden and have to do it in the last 10 seconds before New Year. However, your garden is full of obstacles, angry dogs and jealous neighbours, that try to steal your fireworks!

Customize your very own unique player and make him look like yourself!

Between every level you get the chance to equip yourself with new handy things, like sportshoes, a shotgun, or even buy professional fireworks.

I hope you enjoy this game as much as I did creating it! ;)

It's all about tactics and speed!
Over 20 levels and a secret!

Thanks for playing! I appreciate any feedback and rating!

I enjoyed Ludum Dare a lot, thanks to the creators and hosts!

Have fun!

P.S.: I OWN this game. Don't steal it; Source-code up there! ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#85Graphics3.93
#91Audio3.49
#120Overall3.61
#157Humor3.18
#175Theme3.62
#207Fun3.39
#220Mood3.24
#265Innovation3.39

Comments

Aug 25, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Says I don't have permission to play? Will try again later

Schulles says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Should work now! Sorry, forgot a tiny thing! ;)

gamepopper says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:27am

I love your work man, I have to avoid playing it too much or I might break my keyboard from mashing the X button to much. XD

Love the graphics, the music, the gameplay, everything! =D

KristinnEs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Cool game. I liked the graphical style.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:30pm

I don't see the game! Only your post.

Flai says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:31pm

It was pretty good game, a bit boring though. But pretty nice overall!

maxking1234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Great game, I loved the concept!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:33pm

"fast-paced unique, innovative"

I'll be the judge of that.

Okay, it's got nice graphics & a well-executed concept. Great work with character customization. I'd probably make the "type display" text in the shop screen faster/skippable & also allow the player to buy something right off the bat.

Good job for 48 hours.

dmastergames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Extremely Good game. Good Job :)

HELLO23 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Very cool game. The art and music are awesome. The shop is nice. Very good. 5/5

JQCoding says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Fun concept, but stuff cost too much.

Diventurer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Nice job dude. I failed in year 2005 or something because there were no fireworks, although I already set up like 3? O'well, it was a nice game. God damn it how much I've missed games like this, where you have to buy stuff for points earned ingame. Too bad there were not so much I could buy, but nice game regardless.

TheDreik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Wow, so fun and addictive!

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:38pm

This is by far the bes game I have found thus far, very pollished, adictive, and all around a very great game, I'm giving everything 5 stars

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:38pm

I really like the graphics and the music fits well with the game. It's cool how you can make your own character at the beginning.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Great idea, very fun to play.

gravyhands says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Wow, this is ridiculously polished and has great graphics. You made all this in 48 hours by yourself? Ridiculous!

choqaae says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Cool game, I liked the graphics! The sound when the text was showing up was a little annoying though.

kidanger says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Awesome game!
Items costs too much money, but otherwise the game is balanced.

tony.pe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Hitting the neighbors felt a little unresponsive to me, it was hard to predict how close they needed to be to knock them away from the fireworks.

Regardless, that was pretty neat! I enjoyed it.

llamaguy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Wow, I LOVE THIS GAME MAN!!! hahaha

intripoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Cool game!

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Excellent for a game developed in just 48 hours! Incredible

Khopa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Really well polished game, congratulations :)

Tetha says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Very nice. It becomes a bit repetetive and my x-mashing-finger starts to hurt, but overall, very well done.

TheHobbit9797 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Best LD game ever!
jk
But it´s actually awesome!

urth says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Items are very expensive compared what u get paid for the fireworks.
I played through 2013 and got the ending "boss" but died I was returned to the beginning which was a bummer.

BerdiNerdi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Extremely great game! All I can say is job well done, I am well impressed! Had great fun

Spelchan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Liked the concept but mashing on x to set up fireworks was a bit weak of a play mechanic.

Schulles says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:00pm

ATTENTION!!!

Thanks for all the nice words! If the game doesn't show up immidiately, please wait a second! THANK YOU! If you like to, also rate on Newgrounds, THANKS A LOT!

truiton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Wow.
One of the best games I've tested today (and in this LD(and as it's my first time participating, one of the best game at all))
Very fun, nice music, simple, addictive, great work man.

jordans says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Fun! Great graphics and audio, put together really well. The difficulty curve is kind of all over the place though.

link2x101 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Insanely fun, though it's slow to start at first (then quickly ramps up the pace significantly.)

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Very solid game. I think the rate that you earn cash may be a little unforgiving, but I had a lot of fun playing this anyways :)

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Nice grafix and sounds, solid game, works great.
Nice touch with counting the years :)
Like it a lot!

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:36pm

This is very, very neat. With the quality of the sounds and graphics, I'm surprised this was finished in time. Very quality game.

guardiancs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:50pm

What a fun game ! my favorite so far , nice work !!!!

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Fun game, and slightly addictive. One issue I had though, was when starting a round standing close to fireworks, you will start out with trying to place it, since you had to hit x to start the level. Apart from that, a very good game!

xhunterko says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Very well done! Great art and sound!

bombjack says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Very addictive !

coreym1988 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Personally, I'm not a fan of rapid tapping like this so I think holding the button to set the fireworks would be better. Otherwise, everything was great! Fun game.

Latency says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Hard as fuck, but an awesome game. I found myself wanting to aim the fireworks at the neighbors and their stupid dogs, if only I could

Volute says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Very charming game

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:39pm

This game has got amazing graphics and direction, but the core mechanic is revolved around tapping to set fireworks which is kind of weird, otherwise lots of fun.

Draktharr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Fun game and I love the shop!

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:57pm

The dogs are a really nice addition to the game I thought it would be a walk in the park till they came out

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:29am

Pretty fun game. Some of the items seemed pretty overpowered though, since after I got the dogfood and gift basket, I had no more enemies to worry about. Also, I was totally not prepared for that ending.

mtrc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:33am

Wonderful! Very clever, responsive controls, unusual setting, great audio and advancement system. I think if anything the LD theme held you back, the 10 seconds stopped you from developing the mechanics as much as you wanted, but even then you still threw in stuff like the dogs. Great work!

kevinAlbs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:49am

Nice graphics and audio. I'm very impressed by how polished this is. Good job!

FanFan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:11am

Really? $150 for dog food!?
Game itself's pretty fun though

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:56am

I played till about 2005 or so, then stopped. Nice art and music. Was frustrating that the store didn't list the prices at once and you had to wait for the text to finish printing? Great effort for 48hrs though. A lot here to work on and polish.

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:29am

The graphics and the music were adorable! And I thought having each level be a new year was really neat. Great job!

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:33am

very cool :)

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:32am

SO MUCH FUN! Seriously one of my favorite entries, the art is amazing, the music is beautiful, and the gameplay is so entertaining. Great Job!

madk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:56am

D'aww, such adorable little ferocious goddamn fucking bastard canine pieces of shit.

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:43am

Good job - the game is really hard! I like the audio and video aspect of the game. Gameplay - not so much, could use a little more variation ;)

codifeye says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:10am

Great job, really well done. Cool graphics and sound. Nice one!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:22am

Liked the graphics, and the game was really interesting!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:22am

Great job!!

RetroEpic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:48am

Haha that was funny man! good job! 1 aspect I think that could be improved is unifying the color pallet, but I do like how the yellow signs contrast the darker value of the stage.
good job :)

infernet89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:38am

It was very easy... until dogs showed up -_-

Really innovative entry, nice work!

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:34am

On of my favorite games so far! Thank you!

Gremlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:51am

The shop-text display speed is a little slow. It gets really hard in the later levels. Good use of the theme.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Nice little button smashing game. The key mapping could be a bit better. It feels awkward to use X, C, Space, Left, Right, Up, and Down, for such a few tasks. Otherwise it offered some nice variety gameplay-wise :)

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Genius. And a lot going on, with the shop and everything. Great job!

proc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:07pm

I like it. I agree with the shop text speed being a bit slow. The dogs livened it up nicely. Seeing how far others got I think I'm not so great at this one.

Meep says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Very fun game with nice graphics on top of that. :) Nice little upgrade game. Great work!

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Really enjoyed it,
quite the challenge and pretty fun, and who doesn't love fireworks, even if you have to furiously mash the 'X' key, hehe

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:48pm

very polished game. nice gfx and sound. cool Idea. enjoyed it a lot!

blay09 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Nice little game, kinda addictive because of the things you can buy, but you don't get enough money from completing levels, even if you always get all fireworks ready. Nice music too.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:02am

Nice game but the upgrades to me are actually downgrades as they make a fun game very boring, if there are no dogs to avoid or greedy neighbours to slap what's the challenge?

Nevrtheless it has indeed a cool concept and is still fun to play, athough I don't feel rewarded to recieve money from the fireworks as it's meaningless to use it since it will just make the game plain and dull.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:20am

Cool concept, great execution. Loved everything about this game!

recursor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:54am

I don't think I would have ever come up with the idea to make a game about placing fireworks. It is quite well done and the pixel art is good. It has the style and feel of an old gameboy game. I wanted more stuff to do, but overall I'd say nice job.

GFM says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Nice game. :)

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:15am

loved the feel to it! great job on the gameplay and aesthetic

leafo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Cool game, really reminds me of mine. Alternating shopping and gameplay modes. Music is good, only complaint is that the game starts out slow.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:42pm

I love the pixel art, really nice little game. :)

bitserum says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:37am

I like the idea and it was fun, it got me playing for quite a while. However the money progression was a bit too slow / or stuff costs too much.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Love the visuals and the gameplay is really frantic - though I'll admit I got a shotgun as fast as I could, so suddenly no more dogs or humans. Great work for 48 hours!

tigerj says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:21pm

really nice job, especially for 48 hours. good work.

the ramping was a little tough for me but I hope you develop this further I'd buy it on a mobile platform.

DuFF says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Well done. It's a good concept, but I think it would have been a lot more fun if it wasn't so easy in the beginning and if items didn't cost so much. More fireworks please!

xrm0 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:33pm

"innovative game" :p

Nice graphics and concepto but the tutorial is boring

LTyrosine says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Hahaha amazing game. Looks my dad circa end of year.

MrBlade says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 2:58am

Awesome work! Great sounds, awesome and polished graphics! I really like have the ability to skip stuff. That was nice. Keep it up! 8/10.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]