August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hungry Dragon

by skyr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have a pet dragon.
Your dragon follows you everywhere and nudges you.
But your dragon is very hungry.
You must feed him every 10 seconds.
If you don't he will leave you.

I used Construct 2 for the game, Gimp for the graphics and bfxr for the audio.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#478Innovation3.06
#572Fun2.91
#600Humor2.17
#639Theme3.09
#807Audio2.00
#850Overall2.75
#875Mood2.29
#894Graphics2.31

Comments

Burhuc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Fun little game!

blan4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Very nice and minimalistic game)

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Good!

Bjeaurn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Had some fun with this game! I rode a dragon today!

HELLO23 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:31pm

I really liked the idea. I liked that you can stand on the dragon's head. Is there a way to restart the game, besides refreshing to page ?

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Simple and fun while it lasts. Good game.

Xotraz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:32pm

It's a little but fun game.

skyr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:44pm

@HELLO23 No, you have to refresh the page to restart the game.

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Little but fun game, i like the fact that you can ride the dragons head to the top :P

RoseNinja says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:13pm

nice game love dragon awesome

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Yay, HTML5. Yesterdays power already the day after tomorrow.

Nice little game, not particularly challenging though. Would be interesting if you had something else to take care of.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:16pm

I really like the concept, it's one of the stronger concepts I've seen in the competition to be honest :)

drkrunk says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:13pm

mychairhasalooin is has a nice little twist on the theme.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Nice little casual game. good for 48 hour jam. extra point for using dragons.

Amber says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:57am

I like this a lot! It's a neat idea, and I was very amused by watching the dragon get all tangled up in himself and also riding his head up to the top of the screen. My only complaints are that the jump noise is a bit annoying and it'd be nice to have a restart option after you lose, but other than that, great job!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:23am

The dragon nudging was awesome xD
Had a hard time feeding the dragon though, it flew away ;_;

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Simple, but nice game.

Mekuri says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 5:17pm

This game was surprising good. Very simple mechanics, but it was very fun. I really liked when I found out that you could stand on the dragon, very nice touch. I managed to play until no food spawned anymore, and liked every second of it. Good job.

Marcellus says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Nice game, very intresting mechanic. Well done !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]