August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Super Puzzle Run

by Blecta - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello everybody, it's my first Ludum Dare and here is my entry : I called it Super Puzzle Run.

In fact, the goal of every single level of the game is to reach the arrival (symbolised by the red panel) within 10 seconds !

Several bonuses/maluses, keys and doors are on your path and a few tutorial levels are here to explain you how they work.

There is only one little 8-Bit music I composed with Famitracker and a few sound effects generated with sfxr. I hope you'll like them !

I developed the game on Windows so if Linux and Mac users can tell me if dedicated version of the game works, it would be cool. Thank you in advance !

Controls :
- Use arrow keys to move.
- Use Space bar to choose an option.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#188Theme3.59
#290Fun3.27
#436Audio2.75
#518Overall3.09
#686Mood2.56
#769Graphics2.55
#778Innovation2.68
#1500Coolness35%

Comments

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Good puzzle game! But I'm not a fan of the graphics, maybe they are too flashy...

Meep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Cute little speed-maze game. :) The graphics were kind of awkward in that the walls appeared 3D while the objects didn't. Nice work, though.~

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:21pm

This is fun although the puzzles leave little room for error although I guess thats the point. If you added a reset current puzzle button it would makes things easier i found myself planning but then having to wait for the timer to restart so i could try my plan.

ddionisio says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Hard game in terms of needing to be precised in moving because of the time limit. I like the way the game introduces the mechanics per level. I can't for the life of me complete level 8...

Choupom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:27pm

I really enjoyed your game! However, something a bit frustrating is that the timer starts as soon as you respawn, even if you're not ready.

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Fun stuff. Liked how all of the puzzles are really build around the 'time' theme... adding, subtracting time, etc.

Recid says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Good and simple!
When I finished your game and the window has instantly closed down before I can view my final score.

Blecta says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Thank you for your comments and ratings ! I can add a control to restart a level before time's out, but is it allowed ?

@Recid : Did you play on the Windows version of the game or another ? I can't test the Linux and OSX one.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Interesting premise. It would have been nice if the timer didn't start until you began moving though. I always ended up losing time at the beginning for no reason.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:55pm

I liked it!

chrisamaphone says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:40pm

Cute, well-polished and fun.

jprogman says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 6:56pm

The timer should be paused at the start of each level. This is so I have free time to observe the field without having to jump the gun at the start. Some levels have no room for error, so I had to be very careful of my controls. Some levels are frustrating, but the challenge is manageable after several tries. I like the NES-like atmosphere.

motty says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Cute but oh my is level 8 hard.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]