August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Extreme Zombie Blood Withdrawals

by brobutter - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In the game, you somehow became addicted to zombie blood as a child so when you grew up you became a scientist and created a zombie apocolypse just to satisfy you thirst for zombie blood. Then you realized that it's messed up to unleash zombie apocolypses on innocent people so you decided to save your town from the danger you created.

The goal is to save the people with arrows above their head by touching them.

But at the same time, because you're so addicted to zombie blood, you can only go ten seconds without zombie blood before you start to die. So you have to also make sure and slaughter a bunch of zombies so you can drink their blood.



It's not as finished as I wanted it to be but oh well!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#82Fun3.63
#147Overall3.56
#187Graphics3.58
#336Humor2.66
#362Audio2.89
#467Theme3.27
#544Mood2.74
#694Innovation2.78

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:17am

Ha, this is fun. Nice work! Music fits quite well :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Hell yeah this rocks! Instant mayhem and zombies ftw!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Good job! Nice gameplay and also good timekiller)

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:08pm

This is fun, graphics are good, and the music is hella swank.

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Awesome! Screen shake was a little much, but other than that great job!

Mesene says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Nice! wish P was closer to wasd

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:08pm

this game lack of innovation (just for me :D), but it's very well made! Good job!

BrothersT says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Extremely fun! Usually games made this quickly that have upgrades are really not very well considered but you didn't focus on the weapon upgrades but rather the difficulty of getting all the civilians in time. Nice work!

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Wow, this looks surprisingly very polished, I liked it. Not very original but everything is so smooth and fun that I forgot about that. I also like that after the 10 seconds countdown you don't die immediately, you still have time to deal some damage and maybe gain some seconds. Nice job.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Nice gample and good presentation :D

Static 64 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:56pm

This had a good implementation of the theme and was fun to play, but the repetitive audio got annoying.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:48am

What a cool game! Great job! I never saw any weapons to pick up though...

The music is a bit too much for me. Especially since there are no sound effects at all.

I also found the screen shake when you shoot distracting.

Other than those minor complaints this is great stuff.

blay09 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:09am

Nice entry, polished and fun. Beautiful graphics and effects.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:23am

This is bloody awesome one of my favourite games played so far. Very highly rated. :)

domrein says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:37am

One of the best games I've played. Very well done.

shard123 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Really well polished with great graphics and fun gameplay!

proc says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Main menu was a bit static, needed more life to it. Sweet little game and that was before I remembered there was a shop. Like the graphics, music suits, all very satisfying. Probably did shake too much, think it did my eyes in a little. Otherwise a great game with polish.

vikingpotato says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:02pm

I liked the little town! the thrill to maintain the timer was fulfilling! i twice got saved on a near zero mark :D

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Pretty fun. I liked this camera effects when shooting and the music fit pretty well. Found it a little bit easy and didn't need to buy any guns other than shotgun to get through the game without any issues. Still, it was fun and satisfying to play. Good work for the 48!

wally2069 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:51pm

The shaky cam screen was a little too much

Misfit says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Fun! Art is great, audio is great and gameplay is great! All works!

doonay21 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Nice piece of work! I love your game!!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Excellent entry. Really good, frantic fun.

ratalaika says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Nice work! I enjoyed playing it.

MrBlade says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Nice work. Polished graphics, good sounds. Zombies are bit overdone though. Some of the zombies look like creepers how they walk without arms and their feet just march on. Very cute. 4/10.

MrBlade says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:41pm

8/10, sorry. (4/5, but I put 4/10 DOH!)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]