August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Just 10 Seconds

by ellipticaldoor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Instructions:

0. The color of your character changes randomly every second.
1. Stay in the square of the same color as your character.
2. (Optional) Catch the lock!
3. A robot must protect its own existence as long as such protection does not conflict with the First or Second Law.

https://twitter.com/ellipticaldoor

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#249Graphics3.45
#260Theme3.48
#337Innovation3.28
#527Audio2.60
#573Humor2.20
#620Mood2.64
#718Overall2.91
#890Fun2.50

Comments

netguy204 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:42am

Very amusing stuff and good use of the theme! At first I thought I was taking a some kind of behavior test... like I was Pavlov's dog... then I read the instructions.

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:26pm

At first I didnt manage a thing , until I took the lock,
Pretty ironic that taking the lock and staying in a square is better than running around like a freak...

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Interesting... Sometimes I got :D and sometimes I got |):

timtipgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:42pm

I was about to write what I had difficulties with but I wont,because the most interesting part of the game for me was to find out how it works. nice game :)

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Note to self... Read the instructions before doing THAT again.

Ismelo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:17pm

merece

stephan_h says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:22pm

I like the presentation. But the gameplay was too confusing / fast for me.

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Worked game, i like it!

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Lot of stuff in the screen, that what makes this game so fun!

headchant says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:31pm

simple but fun little game!

leafo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Cool visuals

Conry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:21pm

I'm afraid that links are broken

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Fixed links! Sorry for the inconvenience D:

ShitAndSon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:42pm

The graphics are really great and the gameplay is pretty good.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:01pm

It catches my eye, I like colorful games. Smooth and fun!

CogComp says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Really liked the gameplay! Nicely done!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Wow, so simple and I actually enjoyed it :D Very well adapted to the theme, easy to catch and entertaining. Great job :)

voltorben says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:01pm

neat game! I love the colors and the feel of the graphics. nicely done. Could have been cool with maybe a small soundstrack.
Not much lasting appeal, but fun to try out :)
Nice entry!

TobiasW says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:47pm

I like the presentation - very good choice of colors and quite artistic. The gameplay fell a bit flat though, and there doesn't seem to be any record of how good you did - the smiley in the end is just where you've been at the end, right? It was still fun trying to stay in the right quadrant though.

The sound is pretty minimalistic, but works well. A bit of music wouldn't have hurt! Generators like http://abundant-music.com make it pretty easy and fast even for musically-challenged people like me, haha.

Congratulations on finishing your first LD entry!

PS: That's not what "picking a lock" means! :P

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:01pm

@TobiasW thanks for the advice!

PS: Corrected! ;)

pighead10 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Pretty game, but not much gameplay.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:56am

Fun game with a really pretty, clean style to it. I enjoyed this one.

alts says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:16am

The flat visual style is quite nice. I do wish that there was a bit more feedback into how I was doing. The face at the end really only seems to reflect where I end up at the end of ten seconds, ignoring all that preceded it.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:12am

The concept was confusing at first, and the character is pretty hard to control. I like the simple, minimalistic graphics though.

Mironix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:06pm

I just adore blinking games :) thanks for the submission

Mironix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Interesting concept, very good mechanics introductions, player learns while failing and does not get flustrated :) i would play this like crazy if i could pickup multiple items and leave them in multiple spaces :)

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:00pm

I.. what? Nice :)

FireZenk says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:20am

Interesting idea, good execution and funny made simple. I like it

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Really like the graphics and the mechanics, but if ound the controls a bit too sensitive.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:38pm

I would be great if you add notes about gameplay right in the game. Well done though!

porglezomp says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:55am

A bit confusing at first, but quite interesting! I agree the first comment, I thought it was a behavior experiment.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Nice little game!

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:46pm

It was cool, the graphics are nice and the audio despite being simple fits the game perfectly. There is one thing I think that could have been done better: It is kinda fun going from a rectangle to another but that is pointless as in the end what matters is not the time you spent in the right color but if you are in the right rectangle by the last second which means that the best thing to do is wait in the center and at the last second go to the right color or try to catch the lock. What I think that would make things more intresting is awarding score for the time you spend in the right color, more areas with different colors and the lock could be just temporary because after you get it there is no point to the game, it's already won.

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Fun and stylish but the gameplay could have been a little more varied. I was expecting more levels with a greater choice of boxes and colours. This has potential, though, and could be expanded into something really nice. It certainly has a lovely atmosphere.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Nice little challenge! Max points for innovation!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:18pm

@panurge @Lokarunith thanks for the good advices!

zillix says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:43pm

loved the presentation. the visuals and sound were pretty absorbing. great work!

rincewind_cz says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Nice, it's little confusing even after reading the instructions first, but after I took the lock I got it.

PaulSB says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:06pm

It looks great and nice sounds too, just feel the game is a bit too slight. There's not much challenge and it's all over very quickly. But the presentation is top notch.

Drabiter says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 6:51am

Nice game. The control is too sensitive but that's okay.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]