August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

GIMP the Tapedeck-Operated Robot

by Zuige - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Platforms: Flash, Windows, OS X

-----

Instructions:
MOUSE to operate buttons
SPACE to quick stop tape
ENTER to self destruct
P or ESC to pause game

-----

GIMP the Tapedeck-Operated Robot

This game is an experiment with mouse UI controls for a typical 2D top-down puzzle game.

There are 15 levels. Shouldn't take you more than 10 minutes to complete the entire game. Checkpoints are every 5 levels!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#84Innovation3.79
#174Overall3.51
#188Audio3.22
#282Fun3.28
#302Theme3.44
#411Mood2.91
#436Humor2.45
#438Graphics3.08

Comments

dmastergames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:17am

Very Good Game :) I wish there was shortcuts for the buttons but that doesn't matter that much because the game is really good

Zccc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:36am

Amazing idea, awesome entry :)

Adjotur says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:59am

Bit awkward to control but overall, a great game.

lcass says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:17am

odd controls very fun though, good work!

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:31am

Super! I had fun!

gigitrix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:31am

Only real complaint is the lives system: I feel that a full game reset is too harsh a penalty for a game like that...

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:36am

gigitrix: checkpoints are every 5 levels. :)

Erigitic says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:51am

Great game and very cool way of controlling the player.

nexust says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:54am

Great idea and really well made!

Armix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:01am

A really good game, with (I'm guessing) intentionally awkward controls for the player. My brother and I laughed quite a bit over the difficulty, thanks. :) Keep it up, awesome stuff.

Zelun says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:29am

The music is superb. I just think that you should put to stop when you double click in any button.

rephus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:34am

Nice game, and more difficult that it seems. The quick stop tape button is essential. Good work.

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:37am

Zelun: That's not how tape recorders work. :)

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:58am

Cool concept! The was a retro game about controlling the robot (i don't remember the name) and you reminded me of it.

netguy204 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Glad to see you're getting a lot of positive feedback. I personally found the controls to be so maddening I wasn't willing to continue past my first reset (at level 4). Neat idea and I'd say you executed it very well... I just get angry when there's that much indirection between me and what I'm trying to manipulate. I wouldn't do well in politics.

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Nice!

Getting sent back levels is annoying though. I already managed to beat the level, what's the point of doing it again because I couldn't beat a *later* level?

Cool idea though. Simple but nice graphics. Sound/music pretty good also. Overall quite good!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Very cool idea. I do agree though that a full reset is a bit harsh - I think just restarting the level would be fine. Love the art and sound though, and it's a great concept :D

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:16pm

This is totally awesome! I have never seen such controls.. :D
I think it's a really good game..

Zelosfan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Nice game! Good job :D

Latency says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Great game, loved the music, had a bit of trouble controlling the character and wish there were shortcuts for the buttons, but overall was fun.

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:07pm

Pretty nice :)

Elrobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:26pm

The only thing I didn't like was the lives/forced backtrack on failure.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:41pm

I like it! Annoying... but fun ;)

Kwrky says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Something totally new and fun =D

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Awesome game, at times I was panicked and crashed sideways into walls :D

Loved every second of it

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Good concept, good execution, and pretty unique to boot! Nicely done, congrats!

Afal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:15pm

pretty cool :)

Blooperly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Interesting idea, and I like how the robot handles.

coreym1988 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:00pm

If the controls were mapped to keyboard buttons, it would feel more like controlling an actual tapedeck, which would be a lot of fun.

elementz123 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:53pm

There is a nice amount of polish in this game!

vanderZwan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:36am

Rage inducing frustratingly challenging controls. But losing is fun, so it's a quality in itself. :)

It works really well with a touchpad too.

Great polish all around. The soundtrack is especially nice!

Sanguine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:13am

The controls were very interesting and the game was fun, but it would have been nice to have more checkpoints.

olafurw says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Good idea, controls could use some work, for example pressing a button again = pressing stop.

Zuige says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:56pm

olafurw: that's not how an 80's tapedeck works :)

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Great idea and a fun game! Not too easy, not too hard.

GigaBass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Fun mechanic, I really like the idea. The game itself sort of goes boring the longer it stretches though, that's my only gripe. :)

Capro says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Pretty clever idea.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Very cool idea - I agree with coreym1988 about mapping controls to buttons, though. Would feel more like a tape deck because it would allow for multiple finger use. Great entry!

kidanger says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Nice game!
Quite hard to master the rotation, but that's one of the mecanism :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:39pm

good job

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:53pm

This game is awesome, its a bit hard but I love the mechanics! Its great! I featured it in my comilation video of Ludum Dare 27 Games, if you wanna check it out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y1UJ96l2scE

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Will post video review when ready.

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Very cool game idea. It really gives a unique challenge to player movement, with the ideas for movement being simple but the execution being difficult. The art and graphics fit the game perfectly as well.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:03pm

I love original games with simple concepts and as this is one of those games, I love this!

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:51am

Video review: http://www.twitch.tv/n0_named_guy/c/2835409

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Cool concept, the controls were easy to understand and worked well. The theme seemed a little tacked on but it works. I do with there was shortcuts for the other controls rather than just stop though. other than that it looks nice, sounds nice and plays nice.

Jacob123 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:58pm

This was an enjoyable game. I liked the ide behind it. Although I think the tiles are just a little bland. Maybe add a new texture to them? Something science-like!

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Awesome gameplay mechanic.

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Very nice idea of gameplay, it's very challenging. I would have liked to be able to press space to start going straight after stopping though. But it's quite nice, music fits the robotic theme of your game. Did you compose it? Nice job!

Latcarf says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Nice game, but the controls are very awkward.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:18pm

The title screen made me laugh :D

(Additional) Keyboard shortcuts really couldn't have hurt for that - it was a little bit awkward to control with the mouse. Apart from that it was fun though - and I liked the graphics and the music a lot!

BNeutral says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:16am

Very nice use of the theme. Not a fan of the lives system.

bitowl says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 8:24am

really love the idea that you have a tape of ten seconds and not a general time limit. gives more time to think and makes everything feel better :)

Sep 12, 2013 @ 12:26am

I love the idea, it was unique :D ... It was really fun.

xhunterko says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 8:32am

Very interesting and well put together concept! Although I was a tad confused at first at how the buttons worked, I eventually got it. Nice job!

xrm0 says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Nice idea. When rotating the robot, it would be better (at least for me) if it would do it in 90° steps.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Really nice game, too hard and not addictive enough to finish for me though. Got to level 13 before giving up.
Complete keyboard controls would make this game even better.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]